Offtopic: Into Commodore 64 (6502) coding, pixeling or music?
Xentax is looking for new members for the C64 activities!
Just drop us a message at forum@xentax.com and join the Scene Team!

Forum rules: Click here

The Witcher 2 Models

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Szkaradek123
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Poland Głogów
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 592 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Szkaradek123 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:53 pm

Try Blender version 249 not 25.
All my scripts are for 249 version and use Python version 2.6 (not 3.0).

hismastersvoice
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by hismastersvoice » Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:20 pm

Thanks, that worked like a charm.

Edit: I assume the script does not support exporting back to w2ent format at this point?

RobeN
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by RobeN » Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:52 pm

Hmmm... I am a noob...
I can import model etc, but I am unable to cover it with textures.

When I click LOAD for textures nothing happens.

Szkaradek123
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Poland Głogów
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 592 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Szkaradek123 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:46 am

Check your unpacked game dir, (I use chrrox bms script for unpacking pack0.dzip)
and load *.w2ent model.

RobeN
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by RobeN » Fri Jun 03, 2011 9:31 am

I have unpacked pack0.dzip with Gibbed's RED Tool (http://www.witchernexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=52)
And all seem to be fine until textures.

1. All folders are correctly set
2. I can import *.w2ent (head, body, etc)
3. I can see the model in 3D
4. I can see textures on Left and I can load textures on the most right panel (Default layout)
5. But I cannot make Blender to cover model with texture (when I click LOAD for Textures - LOAD and EXIT buttons are available - nothing happens)

jcarl904
n00b
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:08 pm
Has thanked: 5 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by jcarl904 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:59 pm

Thank you Szkaradek123 and chrrox for the awesome scripts.
@ RobeN, load textures manually, to find them...
Go to the character folder
Click the search button
Click on all files and folders
Type ".dds" without quotes in the first typing field
Click search
All the .dds textures you ever loaded in blender should pop up, now find the ones that correspond to the character you loaded.

Correct me if I'm wrong Szkaradek123.

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:22 pm

If textures doesn't apply auto then you must apply them from the UV Image/Editor.

megakoresh
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:14 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by megakoresh » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:38 pm

Right. I am getting a script error, LOL.

Says to check the the console and the console says that there is no module named "Blender (without quotation marks), error at line 4.

Also I fixed the error with print word: LOL apparently 2.5 versions need to have print = instead of print [Whatever you wanna print].

Please note that I am an absolute noob to Blender (just installed it for the first time today XD), so please tell what to do in detail if you can.

jaden
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 209
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:41 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by jaden » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:55 pm

great stuff

hismastersvoice
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by hismastersvoice » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:59 pm

megakoresh wrote:Right. I am getting a script error, LOL.

Says to check the the console and the console says that there is no module named "Blender (without quotation marks), error at line 4.

Also I fixed the error with print word: LOL apparently 2.5 versions need to have print = instead of print [Whatever you wanna print].

Please note that I am an absolute noob to Blender (just installed it for the first time today XD), so please tell what to do in detail if you can.
I haven't encountered that particular problem but, as Szkaradek pointed out, you need to use Blender 2.49 and NOT Blender 2.5. Make sure you're using Python 2.6 too.

megakoresh
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:14 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by megakoresh » Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:56 pm

you need to use Blender 2.49 and NOT Blender 2.5. Make sure you're using Python 2.6 too.
Doing so and still getting the same error.

Kamillho
veteran
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:19 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Kamillho » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:37 pm

why that model has no face?

Czemu model Triss jest bez twarzy xd ?

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:35 am

Faces are stocked here \templates\characters\appearances\main npc

Szkaradek123
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Poland Głogów
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 592 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Szkaradek123 » Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:41 am

Update for Blender249 importer:
- materials
- bones (no joints)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:40 pm

Thanks, almost complete, only you need to parent them manual but that ain't hard.

About the material support, something is weird, if you assign the hair texture, it covers the body also, and vice versa, bug or just I'm doing something wrong? :D From UV/Image Editor doesn't take effect only from the panel.

Post Reply