Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Need help translating games in other languages? Have your language problems solved here.
Post Reply
johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:53 am

I'm sorry, it looks like previous version of Langdb Editor have some bug, and it saves file with errors.

Here's a new version 1.1, i have tested it, works fine. http://multi-up.com/124838
ps: abc.txt file is used for transliteration.

neoen
n00b
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:34 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by neoen » Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:02 am

Great!

Will be editor expanded also to older TellTale games and not only latest MI?
Does editor handle with longer translated sentences than original ones?

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:07 am

No support for older Telltale Games.
It handles longer sentences, up to 255 symbols.
PS: Anyway, do backups often, who knows what can happen. :)

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:10 pm

Excellent Johntus! Is there somebody who can translate the interface from russian to english?... The program is easy to use, but I would like to understand what buttons say to have an idea of what they do.

EDIT: Game crashed with this new Langdb Editor again... I'm trying to use only shorter texts now to see what happens

EDIT 2: See what happened with shorter texts, and with texts with the same length :P

Image

Vash
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:39 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by Vash » Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:17 pm

russian is a 2 bytes language, they probably modify something else to make it work. You need a brand new editor or dumper/reinserter i think :P

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:27 pm

Tavot
Upload ur modified english2.langdb

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:42 pm

Here you are... first 15 lines translated.

EDIT: With this one the game worked fine and shows all texts... I don't understand... hold on... I'm gonna translate a few lines more

EDIT 2: Well, crashing issue solved... I was moving the english.langdb file for repacking without closing LangDB Editor. Closing LangDB Editor before moving the file for repacking solved it :P

Its working fine with longer lines too... It only remain one problem.... Game doesn't show some texts... Here you are the last translated langdb file
english.rar
EDIT 3: Never mind... i got it working now
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:26 pm

Hi there... I already have almost every text translated and now I'm attempting to insert them into the english.langdb with the Langdb Editor.

After serevarl tests, everything works fine (game runs, texts are visible and translated) until I get to line 75, 80 or 90 (aprox. each time was different), the game runs but texts start to dissapear. Any idea why? Is there something that I have todo do and I'm not doing it?

I wan't to be sure that everything works before going on... I don't want to get to the last lines with a non-working game :P

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:01 am

Here's the new version of Langdb Editor 2.0 http://multi-up.com/127793

User avatar
Luk
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:01 am

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by Luk » Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:17 am

shippuuden wrote:NEXT Problem :cry:

Its just a blemish but maybe someone had ne Idde

So,
I changed the free signs fields at the font .dds
With the capitals letters, no ptobleme

but the lower case version make some probleme with the size
there to much free place on the sides.

(Ingame its look like its a half space infront and after the letter)

Here a example:
Image

Now I search the file where the coordinates for this invisible border (in pic blue border) was saved.

I know, I can simple change the size of the letter but its look a bit weird Ingame

So I thought the coordinates where at the insulated header, but I doesn't found nothing thats look like coordinates for the letters.

Maybe someone of you guys find something


Yours sincerely
Shippuuden

Same problem here.

The coordinates are specified in the header but I can't find out how is the structure of the data so you can change the values properly. It seems to be 4bytes-8bytes-8bytes but this doesn't make sense to me... I was expecting something like x-y-width-height.

Apparently these guys figured out how to do it, maybe we could contact them to ask them how they do it but we'll need someone to translate our request to russian :P

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:09 pm

Luk
Well, i am one of these guys, and we also cant find coordinates of letters.
I just redrawed english letters to russian.

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:22 pm

Right, but our problem (Luk is working with me in the spanish translation) is that we need to add some symbols to the existent ones... spanish and english have the same alphabet, but we also need a few symbols more:

á é í ó ú ñ ¿ !

The question is how to add them to the charmap

Here is that topic translated to English:

http://translate.google.com.ar/translat ... s&ie=UTF-8

Den Em
advanced
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Russia
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by Den Em » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:29 pm

Luk
Hi.
I am one of this guys too. (:
"LangBD Editor for Tales of Monkey Island" is my work.

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:35 pm

@Den Em: I'm using it to translate the game, the program is just excellent! I will never thank you enough for it.

Have an idea of when it will be ready the "Import" feature?

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:51 pm

Tavot
We also needed more letters for russian alphabet, so we used some special symbols like њџўҐ
Here's original font:
http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/624/weatheredsf30.jpg
And here's russian font:
http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/9132/w ... dsf30a.jpg

Den Em
Hi there! :D

Post Reply