Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Need help translating games in other languages? Have your language problems solved here.
shippuuden
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:54 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by shippuuden » Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:52 pm

I had some problems with Notepad++
and its not so easy/comfortable to edit the hex Code for the textlength

But its your choice ^^

Yours sincerely
shippuuden

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 645 times
Contact:

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by aluigi » Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:57 pm

editing binary data with a text editor is ever a bad idea.
luckily notepad++ handles enough well also the binary data (from 0x00 to 0xff) but obviuosly remains the problem of carriage return (0x0d) and line feed (0x0a) due to the usual window and unix mode.
so in any case a hex editor is not only suggested but even required.

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:15 pm

Yes, I see that using a Text Editor nothing works :P

Now, i've started using the Hex Editor, modified a few words, repacked ttarch and... game crashes... Do I have to change textlenght of every word I change? How do I know where the textlenght begins and ends for each line of text?

This will not be easy :P

shippuuden
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:54 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by shippuuden » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:21 pm

At Menu or Objekt text ever the 4byte in front of the main text.
You musst for each dialog or Menutext count the letter and write it back at a hexnumber

I post a example in few minutes......

Image
Last edited by shippuuden on Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:25 pm

The contents of this post was deleted because of possible forum rules violation.

shippuuden
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:54 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by shippuuden » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:44 pm

@johntus

Ohh, great work.

Then you are faster then I ^^

I worked the last days on a online php based editor for the langdb.
So that a few people can work together at the same file
It almost workable but you guy where faster ^^
Such the write funktion doesn't work correct.... YET^^.

Good work,
such a english inteface is missing ^^
But with a bit trying its good workable ^^


Yours sincerely
shippuuden

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:09 pm

@shippuden: Got it... Everything understood... But i've translated the main menu texts, corrected the textlenght control and now texts have dissapear. You gonna end hating me :D

@johntus: Excellent tool, unfortunately it doesn't work on mi computer, I execute it, shows error message and closes. Bad luck for me.

shippuuden
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:54 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by shippuuden » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:14 pm

@johntus

!!! IMPORTANT !!!
I found a small mistake at your editor

Three sentences wouldn't read in your programm


Thats the three sentences in front of the three ".anm/.wav" breaks

"....107684864.anm....107684864.wav000"


The three misssing sentences are probably used at the multiple choice interface

This are the three missing sentences:

{Confused}What was it I was supposed to be doing?
and twice this one
{Whiney}I haven't got a crew to take me to Lucre Island.

always in front of the ".anm/.wav" break

(yes, of course the sentences are twice existent at the file)
One for the speach (sub) and the other one for the multiple choice interface


EDIT:
And the long Menu text after the points "Periodic" and "Frequent" missing too

"Thanks for playing the Tales of Monkey Island demo! This is just the beginning - play the full series to join Guybrush on his exciting piratey quest!..You can also extend your pirate experience by joining Guybrush's Treasure Hunt..This additional mini-game is separate from the Tales of Monkey Island story"

So, than
"have fun to fix this"

I work meantime on my Online PHP based langdb editor ^^


@TavoT
No.... I dont hate you
hmmm but right now, I dont know what you make wrong on your side ?!?!

But now you have nen first editor from johntus
And without that tree dont editable sentences his tool work fine
His tool work at you file OR ?


Yours sincerely
shippuuden
Last edited by shippuuden on Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:41 pm

I now tried johntus program in other PC and worked.. I don't know what is wrong with mine... anyway my part of the job is repacking the file, i will not translate so that tool will be a great help.

Thank you all for your help!

EDIT: Fixed it... It Requires Microsoft .Net Framework 2 to work... I didn't have it installed, but donwloaded and installed it and everithing is working fine now

EDIT 2: How do I save changes with the Langdb Translator? I can view and edit texts but it's not saving any changes

EDIT 3 and final: Found the button to save changes... all set!

johntus
advanced
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by johntus » Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:30 am

@shippuuden
It's just beta version, so it will be updated.

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:44 pm

Guess what... using the Langdb translator I changed all menu texts, packed the ttarch and game has crashed... first thing I thinked is that the program does not correct the textlenght control, but I've checked the langdb file with the hex editor and all textlenght controls were corrected. Could it be the filesize of english.langdb? After the modifications its bigger than it was originally

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 645 times
Contact:

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by aluigi » Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:31 pm

@TavoT
for my curiosity, are you using Vista?
because in some cases this operating system has some problem scanning the directories with my code (used in rebuild mode).

remember that you can ever recheck the ttarch archive you have just rebuilt simply re-extracting its content in a new folder and comparing the files contained in them

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:26 pm

@Bugtest, no i'm using XP. Anyway it wasn't a problem of the rebuild. I already have done modifications and rebuilded several ttarch files that worked, and some others that crashed the game. I'm using the Langdb Editor johntus posted here and after translate the Main menu texts and rebuild the ttarch the game crashes... I tried to translate just a word with the same lenght and the game worked, that's why I think it could be a filesize problem

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 645 times
Contact:

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by aluigi » Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:35 pm

in these cases the only problem is when the string you want to add is longer than the existent one.
if it's shorter it's enough to put the bytes 0x00 or 0x20 (space) covering the remaining chars of the previous string

TavoT
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale and Gametap - extract to translate

Post by TavoT » Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:25 pm

I supossed that, because with shorter texts the game works fine... Langdb Editor automatically corrects the textlength control.

Now the question is how can I do to insert longer lines?

Post Reply