The rules have been updated, read them now: Rules!

Ninja Ripper

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
SickAlice
advanced
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:02 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by SickAlice » Sun Apr 12, 2020 4:27 pm

Sorry if this was the wrong place for it, kind of a vague subject and hard to choose one. Anyways what's anyone's knowhow here when it comes to ripping from Android emulators, like Bluestacks and such? Years ago Ninja Ripper worked well for this, likewise 3D DX could capture just about anything granted many flaws that would have to fixed. Now and I am assuming it has to do with the emulators frequent updates as well in 3D DX's case not being updated for over a decade it seems to be an impossible task. NR doesn't seem to capture anything modern for that matter anymore at least on current Win systems. This is again from my own station so asking as maybe someone has had better luck. I like direct conversion better myself however especially in the case of many Android games they use very rare file types that can't be cracked. TMNT Legends is my specific one right now. Someone ripped it previously using NR and Bluestacks however they were different old versions then. The same ripper before seemingly bowing out had noted on their page problems with newer then now obsolete versions of BS to the point of being unable to rip anymore. Of course the solution would be to use an old version of the emulator but this emulator auto checks for it's own updates instead so it doesn't work like that. Anyways I'm trying to meet a request here so any help is appreciated.

User avatar
Curtain
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:13 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by Curtain » Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:00 am

SickAlice wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 4:27 pm
Sorry if this was the wrong place for it, kind of a vague subject and hard to choose one. Anyways what's anyone's knowhow here when it comes to ripping from Android emulators, like Bluestacks and such? Years ago Ninja Ripper worked well for this, likewise 3D DX could capture just about anything granted many flaws that would have to fixed. Now and I am assuming it has to do with the emulators frequent updates as well in 3D DX's case not being updated for over a decade it seems to be an impossible task. NR doesn't seem to capture anything modern for that matter anymore at least on current Win systems. This is again from my own station so asking as maybe someone has had better luck. I like direct conversion better myself however especially in the case of many Android games they use very rare file types that can't be cracked. TMNT Legends is my specific one right now. Someone ripped it previously using NR and Bluestacks however they were different old versions then. The same ripper before seemingly bowing out had noted on their page problems with newer then now obsolete versions of BS to the point of being unable to rip anymore. Of course the solution would be to use an old version of the emulator but this emulator auto checks for it's own updates instead so it doesn't work like that. Anyways I'm trying to meet a request here so any help is appreciated.
I wish I had an answer for you.

I don't have any experience with ripping from mobile games, but if Ninja Ripper isn't working with those emulators, I wonder if software like RenderDoc or apitrace can do it? I haven't experimented with those 2 programs yet.

Any luck with the folks from ZenHax forums?

I'm sure someone will eventually post here with some type of solution.

FreakazoidRobot
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:45 am

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by FreakazoidRobot » Tue May 26, 2020 6:10 am

I'm really struggling to get everything working properly. First of all, if I use any of the scripts to import a Trials of Mana ripped mesh directly into Blender, I get a long line instead of the model. Noesis displays the mesh properly, although I'm not sure why they are a gold color, which I assume is from the normal map. I can then export the mesh, normal map, and diffuse map individually from there to Blender without any problems. The mesh shows up fine in the object view, but the UV Map Layout in the UV Map Editor is just a straight line (yes, with the entire model selected). I can unwrap the model into a new layout if I want, but then it won't fit the diffuse map. Also, I'm completely new at this, but the normal map seems to use right handed coordinates and I think Blender uses left handed. Do I need to invert the channels of the image to get it to work? Also, I wanted to mention a problem that I did discover the solution for, which is that all the normals for the meshes were pointed inward and needed to be pointed outward before they can be painted on.

ddadd
advanced
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by ddadd » Sat May 30, 2020 9:25 pm

Hello is it possible you could make a Ninja ripper for mame? Mame writes data to the cpu and the cpu processes it. is their a way to get the model data from the cpu with ninja ripper? please if not make a new version. Thanks

FreakazoidRobot
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:45 am

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by FreakazoidRobot » Sat Jun 13, 2020 4:06 am

OK, since this seems like the most active Ninja Ripper forum, I'm going to use this as a space to post problems I've had with Ninja Ripper and how I fixed them. (I'm exclusively using Blender at the moment)

1) The Blender script to import RIP files produces a long straight line instead of the appropriate meshes. Solution: give up on the scripts and use Noesis to export the meshes to a format Blender understands instead.

2) The UV Layout is screwed up. It might be a long thin line or a random jumble of lines that don't even fit on the UV grid. The Ninja Ripper guide suggests that you use "forced mode" in Ninja Ripper to get more duplicates of the mesh you want until one of them has the correct layout. This has not worked for me. All of the meshes have the exact same UV. Solution: you'll have to unwrap it yourself, sucker! Good luck lining up all the islands to your texture.

3) Cannot paint on the meshes. Solution: the normals are screwed up. You'll have to flip them, set them to point outside, and/or set them to faces using "mesh->normals->?" in edit mode. Also, if you're a n00b like me, it's helpful to know that normals and normal maps have nothing to do with each other.

4) Mesh is the right general shape, but surfaces aren't smooth like they're suppose to be. Solution: See #2. Setting normals to faces seems to solve this problem.

5) In the UV editor, I notice that I have a lot of random faces as their own islands, not connected to anything else. Solution: Ninja Ripper seems to detach vertices along the seams of meshes. This is why they'll unwrap into islands that more or less conform to the textures you got with it, even though there are no seams. Unfortunately, Ninja Ripper screws this up and creates random unattached faces in the process. To fix this problem, first use the current unwrap you have to choose seams for the mesh in UV Edit mode. Then, still in edit mode, select all, and use "vertices->merge->merge by distance" to connect all the overlapping vertices with each other. Then, you can unwrap the model again using the seams you just created and the unconnected faces will be gone.

6) Trying to loop select is a pain in the butt. Solution: Ninja Ripper loves using lots of triangles. Try going to edit mode, selecting all, and using Face->Tris to Quads to make more loops.

7) What are these gold textures that look so similar to the diffuse textures that go with the meshes? Solution: they are normal maps. The reason they are gold instead of the blue you normally see in Blender is because they are "right" instead of "left." I'm honestly not sure what affect that has on using them in Blender, because I'm still trying to decide if it's even worth using these textures. Considering problems #2 and #5, it may be easier to just make my own textures than use those created by Nina Ripper.

Migs1190
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:58 pm

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by Migs1190 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:06 pm

FreakazoidRobot wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 4:06 am
1) The Blender script to import RIP files produces a long straight line instead of the appropriate meshes. Solution: give up on the scripts and use Noesis to export the meshes to a format Blender understands instead.
That didn't work for me
do you know if that's a ninjaripper problem or if it is from the game itself?

kuro0
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:51 am

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by kuro0 » Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:46 am

Hello i have problem in ninjaripper when open the app as administrator there's error message showing "only run from ripper" even when open it normally could anyone help me with this ^^

Evil Ash
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:21 am

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by Evil Ash » Sun Jan 10, 2021 1:23 pm

Hi i want to rip a scene made with gmod, how can i do that without T-Pose ? Thx

MarKreationsStudios
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2020 10:47 pm

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by MarKreationsStudios » Sun Jan 10, 2021 11:31 pm

Hey guys sorry for reviving an old thread, but I need help. I don't know if this has been resolved on here already, but has anybody figured out a way to properly rip models from PCSX2? I have the latest versions of both programs, so can anybody help out?

ricmetal
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:50 pm
Has thanked: 11 times

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by ricmetal » Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:26 pm

anyone else getting these weird rips?
these are models ripped from a game that previously i had ripped successfully before..
using NR 1.7.1 for first time rip, and this time, and game is cracked, so no auto-updates to the game, which again, worked well before with NR
https://i.imgur.com/9SlULmb.png
https://i.imgur.com/8j2JBWW.png
https://i.imgur.com/UqwmJMS.png

any idea what i can do to get the rips working again?

User avatar
Andrakann
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 761 times
Been thanked: 190 times
Contact:

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by Andrakann » Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:23 am

ricmetal wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:26 pm
worked well before with NR
It's a half of the story - threre are a number of .rip importers, you sure you're using the same one?
Game name would help too.

ricmetal
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:50 pm
Has thanked: 11 times

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by ricmetal » Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:47 am

yeah, im using the same .rip importers. i've got a 2.79b blender folder for that belnder's rip plugin, i made a while back, which used to show the meshes correctly. same goes to noesis and 3ds max. all these are old installs. all these ways to see/edit the ripped meshes shows them screwed up in the same way (images above).

the game(s) is dead island definite edition and dying light. i used to be able to rip dying light correctly, dead island im not so sure i tried previsouly, but both get the same gargled results, as shown in the images above. and dying light i def used to rip meshes, with the same setup i have now.

id venture a guess that dying light got update through steam to break NR's functionality (if at all possible) but dead island isent connected to any update service, and they both get the same types of screwed up meshes.

hatehatehate
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:15 am

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by hatehatehate » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:50 am

Has anyone ripped from Tales of Vesperia: Definitive Edition? None of the wrappers work aside from DX11, which only works when forced to rip. When forced, it'll manage to rip a handful of random (tiny/useless) models before crashing. Hoping someone might have a fix or workaround for this.

alon
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:38 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by alon » Wed Feb 10, 2021 5:07 am

Does Ninjaripper work with 3d.nicovidio?
I'm using Chrome.

xorterenshe
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:04 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Ninja Ripper

Post by xorterenshe » Fri Feb 19, 2021 1:21 am

Probably for a few months now, I can't get Ninja Ripper to work with Star Trek Online anymore. Could anyone suggest a way to fix this? I'm using the Steam version of STO. Haven't checked it with the standalone version yet, though I'm probably going to try that once I get the chance to install it. [EDIT] I've now also checked it with the standalone version. No difference.[END OF EDIT]

The way I used to be able to do it was as follows:
1)Point NR to ***>steamapps>common>Star Trek Online>Star Trek Online.exe
2)Run it as D3D11 wrapper.
3)Once launcher opens, close it down again.
4)Go into ***>steamapps>common>Star Trek Online folder and move the created D3D11.dll from there into the following folder:
***>steamapps>common>Star Trek Online>Star Trek Online>Live>x64
5)Close and relaunch NR, then run in Intruder mode

That's how it worked in the past, up until a few months ago. At least, I'm 99% positive I am remembering how I used to do it correctly.

Now, when I try to run with Intruder inject, it gives me an error:
"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000005). Click OK to close the application."


I've also tried with substituting the D3D11 wrapper with the D3D9 one. No difference.
I also cant get it to work with just using one of the D3D* wrapper modes. The game runs, but I cant extract anything. It just creates a log file in the extract location and that's it. It always used to need Intruder mode, but now none of them seem to work.

Any suggestions?

Post Reply