Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
User avatar
evin
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Hungary
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by evin » Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:32 pm

Alan Wake Tool v0.5: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qinph0o9dr6yv ... ol.7z?dl=0 (.Net4 required!)

Change log since v0.0.1:
-faster exporting/importing
-3GB+ file support
-text repack
-tex2dds2tex converter, PC ONLY
-X360/PC file support
-American Nightmare file unpack/repack, TESTED (it seems works fine)
-other details in the info.rtf file!

v0.4c
-fixed a Russian text bug
-filter the unpacked/repacked files by extension
-3GB+ file writing bug fixed

v0.5
- AW's American Nightmare PC support

If you find bug, let me know. I'll try to fix it.
Last edited by evin on Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:47 pm, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
Herdell
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by Herdell » Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:21 am

Awesome tool and awesome guy.

Thank you!

miGma
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:34 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by miGma » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:46 am

Firstly, thanks for the tool.

Secondly, I can't import the text file I translated.. It says "Succesfully imported 0 file(s)." I even tried to import the original text file without any editing, but it said the same. What I do is:
I choose the bin file in game's data folder as the input direction, and choose the folder which contains the text file I edited as the output folder and click Import. "Convert text file" option is checked. Am I doing somethin wrong or?

User avatar
evin
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Hungary
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by evin » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:33 am

First, unpack the bin/rmdp file. Because you need the string_table.bin file from the bin/rmdp. You can delete the other unpacked files.

miGma
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:34 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by miGma » Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:28 am

evin wrote:First, unpack the bin/rmdp file. Because you need the string_table.bin file from the bin/rmdp. You can delete the other unpacked files.
What will I do with string_table.bin? I already have the .txt file (which you sent me) and when I unpack the bin/rmdp file and put the text file into locale\en folder, I try to import but it doesn't work. Do I need to delete the string_table.bin file which comes when I unpack the bin/rmdp file? Do I need to convert the text file I have to .bin format? What should I do exactly.. Can you tell me?

And If I need to edit the .bin file - can you tell me a program to view it?

User avatar
evin
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Hungary
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by evin » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:14 pm

miGma wrote:
evin wrote:First, unpack the bin/rmdp file. Because you need the string_table.bin file from the bin/rmdp. You can delete the other unpacked files.
What will I do with string_table.bin? I already have the .txt file (which you sent me) and when I unpack the bin/rmdp file and put the text file into locale\en folder, I try to import but it doesn't work. Do I need to delete the string_table.bin file which comes when I unpack the bin/rmdp file? Do I need to convert the text file I have to .bin format? What should I do exactly.. Can you tell me?

And If I need to edit the .bin file - can you tell me a program to view it?
Steps:
-Unpack everything from the bin/rmdp
-delete everything, what you won't edit or change, so in this case, leave only the string_table.bin and it's subfolder
-paste there the translated string_table.bin.txt
-run the tool if you closed, open the bin file, Import

User avatar
Aiser
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: Russian
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by Aiser » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:21 pm

How to add language to the game?

Code: Select all

.\data\config\locale_config.xml
Add:

Code: Select all

<!-- Begin Partial+ localizations -->
    <!-- XC_LANGUAGE_RUSSIAN -->                        <config xgetlanguage_id="12"    xgetlocale_id="0"   folder="ru"   subtitles_default="1"     bink_voiceover_channel="2"  use_only_one_font="0" />
<!-- End Partial+ localizations -->
Language is added, but no text.

Code: Select all

[MENU_WELCOME]
Does anyone know what to do?

User avatar
evin
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Hungary
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by evin » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:46 pm

Like this:
locale_config.xml

Code: Select all

<!-- XC_LANGUAGE_FAKELANG -->                        <config xgetlanguage_id="12"    xgetlocale_id="0"   folder="fake"   subtitles_default="1"     bink_voiceover_channel="2"  use_only_one_font="0" />
And need in the data folder these files:
ep999-000-fake.bin
ep999-000-fake.rmdp

fake = a language ID

But the game contain already the Russian language.

miGma
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:34 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by miGma » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:52 pm

Now it's been like this:

Image

Image

See the subtitles.

User avatar
Aiser
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: Russian
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by Aiser » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:15 pm

In Alan Wake American Nightmare is not Russian.
I have created:

Code: Select all

ep999-000-ru.bin
ep999-000-ru.rmdp
Add:

Code: Select all

<!-- Begin Partial+ localizations -->
    <!-- XC_LANGUAGE_RUSSIAN -->                        <config xgetlanguage_id="12"    xgetlocale_id="0"   folder="ru"   subtitles_default="1"     bink_voiceover_channel="2"  use_only_one_font="0" />
<!-- End Partial+ localizations -->
+ Replaced the font (customer_facing.binfnt, customer_facing_typewriter.binfnt) (from Alane Wake - Russian)
But still no text.
If replace text:

Code: Select all

ep999-000-en.bin
ep999-000-en.rmdp
It works.

LonelyDragon
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:36 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by LonelyDragon » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:38 am

I have problem with fonts in book:
http://puu.sh/iQNZ
I repacked japanese file (replaced fonts and text, even tried to change use_only_one_font from "1" to "0" in locale_config.xml)
In menu and in game everything ok, only in book i have that problem.
Please, help me :)

User avatar
evin
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Hungary
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by evin » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:56 am

"use_only_one_font" means: the use only the customer_facing.binfnt font file.
The customer_facing_typewriter.binfnt is smaller, and not contain special characters. And this font not contain those characters, you using. And you cannot add new characters!

LonelyDragon
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:36 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by LonelyDragon » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:14 pm

Well, which font uses Alan Wake for books? Or what files I need to add to the package?
As you can see buttons in right bottom displays normally. (And any other text too.)

User avatar
evin
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Hungary
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by evin » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:24 pm

The manuscript pages use customer_facing_typewriter.binfnt font, IF use_only_one_font = 0.
Write back the use_only_one_font to 1. That's all you can do.

LonelyDragon
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:36 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Alan Wake and AW's American Nightmare

Post by LonelyDragon » Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:39 pm

Thanks. It works for now...

Post Reply