Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
Post Reply
fatduck
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by fatduck » Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:43 pm

Drawing wrote:ok:

here same samples http://www15.zippyshare.com/v/11278219/file.html

i use 3d studio max 8.

I don't know if this error is linked with the unskinned model...

p.s: I've .ms file and the folder in Scripts
Image

I don't have any error at all!(In Max9 / 2009)

Did you put the files in the right folder?

FatImporter.ms should be in your 3dsmax8/scripts/ folder
and all the other files should be in 3dsmax8/scripts/FatImporter/ folder
No more Fatduck, no more FatImporter, Byebye everyone!

Drawing
veteran
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by Drawing » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:03 pm

EDIT:

It works perfectly with 3d studio max 9 but it doesn't work with 3d studio max 8

REfan
advanced
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:42 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by REfan » Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:05 pm

Thanks for your awsome job fatduck.
I saw on a forum that you've also worked on Capcom's MT framework and made a MT famework script for max with an image of chris and sheva. If I'm right, what happened to it? did you finish it?? when are you going to release it???

fatduck
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by fatduck » Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:28 am

REfan wrote:Thanks for your awsome job fatduck.
I saw on a forum that you've also worked on Capcom's MT framework and made a MT famework script for max with an image of chris and sheva. If I'm right, what happened to it? did you finish it?? when are you going to release it???
Well, I lost everything a year ago.(Before start on FatImporter)
And I am not going to restart the old things again especially for the games already have tools to support them!
i'll go for something without any support first! So more games covered!
No more Fatduck, no more FatImporter, Byebye everyone!

BlackEternity
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:08 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by BlackEternity » Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:55 am

What is the latest version of 3ds Max this has been tested on? I am using 2013 and I am having trouble with the envelopes of the skin.

TRDaz
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by TRDaz » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:47 pm

I imported a DOA Paradise model.... but im confused with the textures... they dont load or anything, but how would you get the textures out? D:

fatduck
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by fatduck » Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:52 am

BlackEternity wrote:What is the latest version of 3ds Max this has been tested on? I am using 2013 and I am having trouble with the envelopes of the skin.
What is the problem? Show me!?
TRDaz wrote:I imported a DOA Paradise model.... but im confused with the textures... they dont load or anything, but how would you get the textures out? D:
Textures are standard GIM inside every tpr! I am too lazy to include the decoder in FatImporter! so convert it yourself!
Here is a temp script while I am developing the importer. You might use this script to rip the GIM out of PAR(You still have to rip this part manually form tpr)

Code: Select all

# Game: DOA Paradise [PSP]
# Export GIM image out of PAR
# by Fatduck    Apr2010
# script for QuickBMS http://aluigi.org/papers.htm#quickbms

idstring "PAR\0"
get VER long
get NRES long
if NRES != 2
  cleanexit
endif
goto 0x14
get OFSPTA long
goto OFSPTA
get HEADER long
get VERSION long
get NUMGIM long
get DUMMY long
savepos OFSGIM
set TMP NUMGIM
math TMP *= 4
math TMP += OFSGIM
goto TMP
padding 16
savepos OFSNAME
for i = 0 < NUMGIM
  goto OFSNAME
  getdstring GIMNAME 0x20
  savepos OFSNAME
  goto OFSGIM
  get OFS long
  math OFS += OFSPTA
  savepos OFSGIM
  goto OFS
  getdstring DUMMY 20   #quick hack to get the gim size
  get GIMSIZE long
  math GIMSIZE += 16
  log GIMNAME OFS GIMSIZE
next i
No more Fatduck, no more FatImporter, Byebye everyone!

Darko
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by Darko » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:32 am

Lol I posted the same script in the doa thread, also I gave him a link of some suggested programs to convert the gim format.

See ya
Image

User avatar
zaykho
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by zaykho » Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:37 pm

Thank's a lot Fatduck for your work !

I have just one question, do you know how to export/convert Helpers dummy from 3ds max to bones in another program ?

Simply I just want to get some bones for my DOAX models in Blender/Milkshape 3D, and I completely lost about animation in 3ds max.

Darko
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by Darko » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:50 pm

zaykho wrote:Thank's a lot Fatduck for your work !

I have just one question, do you know how to export/convert Helpers dummy from 3ds max to bones in another program ?

Simply I just want to get some bones for my DOAX models in Blender/Milkshape 3D, and I completely lost about animation in 3ds max.
Export it as SMD, it's the easiest way.
Image

User avatar
zaykho
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by zaykho » Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:07 am

Export it as SMD, it's the easiest way.
Oh Yes you're right !

I totally forgot this format, (i'm using md2/md3 for animation exchange in Milkshape/blender).

Thanks a lot.

RunaWhite
veteran
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by RunaWhite » Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:06 am

Is there a way to import textures for Magna Carta Phantom of the Avalanche models? Because when I load them, they have no maps. Do they need to be unpacked or something before? If yes, how? :)

fatduck
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by fatduck » Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:38 pm

RunaWhite wrote:Is there a way to import textures for Magna Carta Phantom of the Avalanche models? Because when I load them, they have no maps. Do they need to be unpacked or something before? If yes, how? :)
If you keep the original path of models(3DOBS) and textures(TXRS). When you import a model, texture will auto convert and load!
No more Fatduck, no more FatImporter, Byebye everyone!

RunaWhite
veteran
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by RunaWhite » Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:38 pm

fatduck wrote:If you keep the original path of models(3DOBS) and textures(TXRS). When you import a model, texture will auto convert and load!
Uhm... I didn't touch anything. Both folders are there, but when I select a model from the 3DOBS game folder there is no texture :?: model appears white.

EDIT: Textures work only if I copy the folders on my desktop, but then the models are all messed up. Keeping everything in place, the models load normally but without maps D: so I don't really know how to fix this problem. Is there a way to unpack a .txr file in order to apply the textures manually?

Drawing
veteran
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 3d Models, animation importer - FatImporter

Post by Drawing » Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:39 pm

any news about the future update? future games supported?

Post Reply