READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Spotlight: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:45 am

The doubled-up Maken-X models have never animated. The animations are only for a subset of the skeleton, which Noesis doesn't try to support globally for NJCM because it would be wrong most of the time. The non-doubled-up Maken-X models are still animating fine.

Darkfox
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Darkfox » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:33 am

Doubled up? You mean the ones where there are two models overlapping each other, each having its own skeleton? I've been able to get them to animate by splitting the NJCM files and loading the NMDM separately, though it'll work on the first model anyways without that.

Unless you mean something else in which I'm sorry if I am misunderstanding. The HEROIN model only has one layer from what I see.

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:51 am

Works for me.
Image

Maken-X files have padding between chunks that Noesis will not parse though, whatever you're using to dump the pac's is probably not stripping padding correctly. I've got an old script to dump them around here somewhere.

Edit: http://code.google.com/p/noesis-plugins ... c_split.py
To use, right-click .pac/.pak and use the "Split Maken-X PAC" menu item. Set DUMP_AS_IMAGES to True at the top if you want to dump the image archives instead of the model ones. It splits models up by NJTL chunks by default.

Darkfox
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Darkfox » Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:15 am

Sorry about that, but thank you for this. Yeah, I suppose my copy and pasting method is a bit hit or miss. This is far more efficient! Thank you!

Oh yeah, there is a SMD parsing problem that causes a model not to load if whitespace is read in the file. This includes animation SMDs. Crowbar, a new and more accurate MDL decompiler produces SMD files formatted in this fashion. Thought I'd let you know about that!

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:50 am

If whitespace is read in the file? Lots of whitespace is in SMD files, so I'm not sure what you mean. Feel free to throw one up. I recently made changes to the SMD parser at shadowmoy's request, dunno if that might've broken whatever you're running into.

Darkfox
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Darkfox » Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:10 am

Sent you some examples in PM. Hope you can see what I mean better than I can say it because I'm terrible at explaining things. :lol:

Goldensly
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:40 am

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Goldensly » Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:23 pm

First off, Big fan of the software. Worked so good the first time I used it, it was definitely worth the donation to figure out why I'm having issues this time around.

I'm currently running Win 7 x64 and when i try to preview .MLD models (Skies of Arcadia), I keep getting a pop up with "File Could Not Be Previewed". I've tried to just export the models as well and I get "The File Type Could Not Be Determined". So far I've tried: turning off my anti-virus and unpacking a fresh copy of Noesis, Running it as admin, running it compatibility mode, confirming that everything from the zip file is intact after unpacking, running the update,and getting a fresh copy of the .mld files that I'm trying to convert.

I've been slowing making my way through this board but there are alot of pages and what I've trekked through hasn't led to any possible hints of what I might be missing. Any suggestion would be very welcome.

PS: Noesis v. 409731. I've also tried other versions of Noesis with the same results.

I've also ripped the files from both the DC and GC versions with the same results.

Goldensly
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:40 am

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Goldensly » Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:40 pm

-.- apparently when I was cleaning up my iso's from last time I accidentally kept the the ECH version not the uncompressed....I got it working...love the updates to the software!

gregkwaste
advanced
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:17 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by gregkwaste » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:38 am

First of all thanks a lot for this magnificent piece of software,
I am playing around with some xpr2 (Xbox360 Files) and i found out that the textures need untiling in order to show them properly and i found out that noesis supports these files and also converts the textures. So is there any source code of the tool so that i can see the function that does this kind of job? The one i am looking for is rapi.imageUntile360Raw.

If that is not possible, can i somehow get that rapi package and use it externally? Because i am also writing in Python and that comes in handy :D

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Mon May 12, 2014 9:32 am

I finally put a Noesis release up with those SMD fixes.

Also, Doom map support. I know everyone was eagerly awaiting that one.

User avatar
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1269 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by chrrox » Mon May 12, 2014 11:11 am

Hell yes doom map support :).
One of the best games ever made.

Darko
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Darko » Mon May 12, 2014 3:32 pm

MrAdults wrote:I finally put a Noesis release up with those SMD fixes.

Also, Doom map support. I know everyone was eagerly awaiting that one.
Lol A momth awaited update.
Image

Markemp
veteran
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:42 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Markemp » Wed May 14, 2014 7:27 pm

I'm just going to put another ping for an updated Cryengine plug-in update. The current one by revelation is (I think) for CE2, and the new format which uses xml material files just seems to be having some minor (but significant) issues with CE3 games, like Star Citizen and MechWarrior Online.

Still can't thank you enough for Noesis though; single-handedly kept me involved in modding work!

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Sun May 18, 2014 4:51 pm

Sorry, no idea about anything CryEngine-related, that's all been handled by third parties and I've never so much as opened a file in a hex editor. I'm not sure if revelation actually reads these forums or not anymore, last I talked to him he handed me a bunch of MGS specs that I've still been too lazy and/or busy to actually sift through for the purpose of making a plugin.

georwar
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:45 pm

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by georwar » Wed May 21, 2014 8:17 pm

I have windows 8 pro 64 Bits
and can. run your application. just one look
do not know why. no longer let me open your application
help
noesis v40975

Post Reply