Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Spotlight: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
User avatar
itoikenza
advanced
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:24 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by itoikenza » Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:41 pm

MrAdults wrote:
itoikenza wrote:MrAdults by any chance is it possible to combine models inside of noesis? all i have is 3dmax 2010 otherwise. cause i'd love to give Seifer his gunblade. i ripped both separately... also please tell me the kinect interface still works...
You can write a .noesis file like this. Just upgrade to v3.78 before you try loading it, or the anims won't sync.

Code: Select all

NOESIS_SCENE_FILE
version 1
physicslib		""
defaultAxis		"0"
sharedAnims		"1"

object
{
	model		"d0c000.dat"
	offset		"(0 0 0)"
	rotate		"(0 0 0)"
}
object
{
	model		"d0w000.dat"
	offset		"(0 0 0)"
	rotate		"(0 0 0)"
}
This works for Squall, didn't test Seifer. Also, yes, Kinect support is currently working fine.
sorry MrAdults. it still looks screwy. here are the files i used...

(
links removed by me. copyright infringement worries.. i pm'd them to you MrAdults )

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 501 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:23 am

finale00 wrote:Never realized that would be an issue.

Well, as long as it works lol
I'd like to believe not too many games will use such large textures anyways?

Also when writing plugins, sometimes I can crash noesis by causing exceptions during the plugin checking stage.
Namely, if I do something common like

Code: Select all

idstring = noeStrFromBytes(bs.readBytes(5))
And it doesn't like those bytes.
Any way to prevent people like me from carelessly not putting that in try blocks?
It works fine for me. I can't produce a crash by reproducing an exception with this exact line of code. If you can get it to happen again, go ahead and submit the crash when it asks you to.

Unless...by crash, you mean it shows the Python exception dialog? If you write Python code that raises an exception, you're going to see the exception. It wouldn't be wise or desirable for me to change that behavior. As you already mentioned, as well, you can use a try/except if for some reason you really want to write code that you know might raise an exception.

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 501 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:22 am

I revisited FF8 in Noesis 3.79 to add support for the Zell and Kiros weapon models. While I was at it, I wrote a bunch of .noesis files to tie some of the character and weapon models together, they're attached in a zip. Extract them all to a folder containing battle models from the PC version of FF8 and you should be able to load them with no modification.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:37 pm

Unless...by crash, you mean it shows the Python exception dialog? If you write Python code that raises an exception, you're going to see the exception. It wouldn't be wise or desirable for me to change that behavior. As you already mentioned, as well, you can use a try/except if for some reason you really want to write code that you know might raise an exception.
Oh. Ya, that's what happens.
Python raises an exception.

So if I have two plugins and one of the plugins assumes the header is a valid ASCII string and the file I pass in for the other plugin I'm testing doesn't start with a valid ASCII string, the first plugin will complain and then I can't view anything until I realize I need to catch the exception.

Of course rather than hardcoding an ASCII string, I could always just compare bytes.

User avatar
hatyn
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by hatyn » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:45 pm

Image

oh noes...dead or alive :[

User avatar
itoikenza
advanced
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:24 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by itoikenza » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:24 pm

MrAdults could you tell me which one of the .mch is rinoa in tan mini skirt from seed party? and which format can i make it from biturn to show up in noesis?

User avatar
LUBDAR
veteran
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:14 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by LUBDAR » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:27 pm

itoikenza wrote:MrAdults could you tell me which one of the .mch is rinoa in tan mini skirt from seed party? and which format can i make it from biturn to show up in noesis?
There's no battle model of Rinoa in a tan mini skirt.

User avatar
itoikenza
advanced
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:24 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by itoikenza » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:49 pm

LUBDAR wrote:
itoikenza wrote:MrAdults could you tell me which one of the .mch is rinoa in tan mini skirt from seed party? and which format can i make it from biturn to show up in noesis?
There's no battle model of Rinoa in a tan mini skirt.
i know. i think it's a field model. from when rinoa first met squall. just before the fmv dance...

User avatar
LUBDAR
veteran
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:14 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by LUBDAR » Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:22 am

I think noesis works for battle models only

finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:48 pm

viewtopic.php?p=65012#p65012

Are there any functions I can use when it comes to PS2 formats? Seems like there's some common stuff amongst PS2 formats.

Also,

You know how in fighter games they have 1P and 2P character colors?
Is there a way to imitate that in noesis when loading a model so that I can just scroll through the models and view different colors?

Also what if the model has different clothes. Is there a way to load the meshes so that I can do some sort of "mix-and-match" in preview mode? :D

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 501 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:44 am

There are PS2 texture functions for untwiddling. Internally there is a VIFcode parser/emulator, but it's fairly primitive and I don't feel it's final enough to expose to the API yet. It's only used for Bujingai and The Bouncer right now if I recall correctly. There's also a R5900 CPU emulator in Noesis, but again it's also fairly incomplete and doesn't emulate the full instruction set, and is only being used for emulating some decompression routines right now.

For your other questions, use multiple models. You can share or duplicate materials between models and do whatever you want in terms of using different meshes/materials/textures/etc., and cycle between models in Noesis with the cycle models button/shortcut key. If you want to cycle clothing items, you can use multiple models to represent different configurations, or you can just put them all in one model and toggle each mesh's visibility in the data viewer.

finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 » Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:32 am

Code: Select all

...
  return noesis.mat44FromBytes(otherBytes, bigEnd)
TypeError: an integer is required

Code: Select all

matrix = NoeMat44().fromBytes(transform)
transform holds 64 bytes that are a bunch of floats.
Integer is required?

And here's a model of a card

Image

I get this a lot, but I'm not sure why it happens, or why people would store the data this way. If I were to describe the issue it would be "mirrored"

Do I flip the UV? Or do I flip the model?

User avatar
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 501 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults » Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:54 am

You're calling it wrong, you want NoeMat44.fromBytes(transform) because it isn't an instantiated object method and rather returns the new object.

Couldn't say just from the screenshot if it's image, UV's, or model coordinates, but it's most likely the model coordinates. Which would mean you need to flip them on one axis to see them as intended, because the engine in question is probably using a left-handed MVP matrix.

That assumption may be less likely if you don't have the skeleton and weights working, though. Lots of games will end up using negative bone root scales to flip their geometry back around, so it only looks backwards pre-transform. I've also seen games that only flip the geometry back around with the actual animation data, where the root skeleton is still flipped along with the geometry.

User avatar
hatyn
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by hatyn » Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:36 pm

Mr Adults, have you ever seen anything like these files before? Your input will be greately appreciated in my quest.

PokaPoka FLVER (with import script to blender -> viewtopic.php?p=56482#p56482 )
http://xis9.com/pokapoka.flver

Armored Core: For Answer FLVER
http://xis9.com/armored.flver

Dark Souls FLVER
http://xis9.com/ds.flv

http://xis9.com/ds2.flver

thanks for reading!

RacingFreak
veteran
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Bulgaria
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by RacingFreak » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:57 pm

Awesome tool MrAdults!

Seeing it does support universal formats for Dreamcast, but however, it cannot open models from Metropolis Street Racer, great game for the Dreamcast with a lot of car models. The format seems to be a pak, however Noesis couldn't open it :(

Here's example for the Alfa Romeo 159 files:
Image

It will be awesome if Noesis could support it !

Post Reply