Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

How can I use 3D Ripper DX with Train Simulator 2020?

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
Post Reply
Reverend Speed
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:41 am

How can I use 3D Ripper DX with Train Simulator 2020?

Post by Reverend Speed » Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:47 am

I'm working on some GameDev projects involving trains and I bought Train Sim 2020 (and some DLC) for research.

My project will be made from scratch in Unity, but I wanted to extract some models from TS2020 just to get a better feel for the scale and proportions of modern trains (no extracted resources will be used in my own project).

I'm running Windows 10, but TS2020 uses DirectX9, and so should work with 3DRipperDX.

I can launch TS2020 (32 bit) with 3DRipperDx in full-screen and have built a 'route' scene with my target trains. enter image description here
Image
While in TS2020, I can toggle the 3DRipperDX 'wireframe' and 'textureless' modes, but I can't seem to get it to trigger the geometry capture. When I press the currently assigned 'Capture Key', absolutely nothing happens.

I've rebound capture to the F keys available (one by one, restarting TS2020 each time), and no dice. Interestingly, F11 and F10 seem to retain their original functions (Wireframe / No Texture modes) despite being rebound, and through subsequent reboots.

Can anybody tell me how to make 3DRipperDX behave normally (and dump the onscreen geo), or can anybody tell me how I can extract reference models from the TS2020 assets? Note that the Blender 'Briage' import addon will not import the current TS2020 file format.

Any advice appreciated - many thanks in advance!

User avatar
ikskoks
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:06 pm
Location: Poland, Łódź
Has thanked: 404 times
Been thanked: 124 times
Contact:

Re: How can I use 3D Ripper DX with Train Simulator 2020?

Post by ikskoks » Mon Jul 13, 2020 4:24 pm

Wrong subforum. Please ask this question in the right place.

Reverend Speed
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:41 am

Re: How can I use 3D Ripper DX with Train Simulator 2020?

Post by Reverend Speed » Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:00 pm

Augh, my apologies @iksoks . Is there a specific forum you'd like me to ask this in? I figured that as I had a specific tool in mind that I was having trouble with, this would have been the correct subforum.

Should I repost in '3D/2D models'?

User avatar
ikskoks
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:06 pm
Location: Poland, Łódź
Has thanked: 404 times
Been thanked: 124 times
Contact:

Re: How can I use 3D Ripper DX with Train Simulator 2020?

Post by ikskoks » Mon Jul 13, 2020 7:04 pm

Reverend Speed wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:00 pm
Should I repost in '3D/2D models'?
Yes, please. :)
Thanks.

Reverend Speed
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:41 am

Re: How can I use 3D Ripper DX with Train Simulator 2020?

Post by Reverend Speed » Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:48 am

Done. I don't immediately see a way to delete this thread, so I guess I'll leave it in your hands. Thanks and best of luck, ikskoks.

Post Reply