Modding Results

The Off-Topic Forum - Anything goes! As long as it's legal(ish). Things that made you scream "Holy Cow!"
Post Reply
User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Modding Results

Post by Mr.Mouse » Sat May 08, 2004 3:27 pm

Code: Select all


This thread was formerly known as "PAINKiller - 1st experiences



Let me be the first to post some small modding experience here then.

Game: Painkiller

- Using the DDS plugin for Adobe Photoshop
(available here: ttp://developer.nvidia.com/object/nv_texture_tools.html )
- Using Painfull
(extractor/importer for Painkiller PAK files availabe here : viewtopic.php?p=3626#3626 )

I was able to alter some sounds for creatures (took some from C&C Generals) in sounds.pak, and textures in textures.pak. See below 8)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mr.Mouse on Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:54 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Post by Mr.Mouse » Fri May 21, 2004 10:01 am

You can toggle different view modes from within the editor (simply select another and return to the game):
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Wizzy
beginner
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by Wizzy » Fri May 21, 2004 12:26 pm

Ok really, no teasing here - how are you doing that ?
The only way I have been able to get the box outlines to show is in the no clip mode, but they are only displayed while clipping is turned off.
Cmon dude, share the beans. 8D

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Post by Mr.Mouse » Fri May 21, 2004 12:33 pm

(get the new version of Painfull first)
-Start Painfull
-Start the game (start a level)
-Press escape to view options menu, then switch to Windows and Painfull
-In Painfull, select Game->View PainEditor
-From within Pain Editor (the mouse is invisible, but you just have to do some target practice) select the view mode (see screenshot from Killerpain)
-Return to the game (don't worry, Pain Editor will stay visible) and resume the level, voila

Look for this in Pain Editor:
You can select different views at one, here Wireframe is highlighted. I have to work on a way to get the mouse visible.

Image

Wizzy
beginner
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by Wizzy » Fri May 21, 2004 2:34 pm

Alright, this is where ya lost me :
-In Painfull, select Game->View PainEditor
What do you mean " select game" ?
I'm using v 1.1, and I dont see anything for "select Game "

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Post by Mr.Mouse » Fri May 21, 2004 3:01 pm

Mr.Mouse wrote:(get the new version of Painfull first)-Start Painfull
-Start the game (start a level)
-Press escape to view options menu, then switch to Windows and Painfull
-In Painfull, select Game->View PainEditor
-From within Pain Editor (the mouse is invisible, but you just have to do some target practice) select the view mode (see screenshot from Killerpain)
-Return to the game (don't worry, Pain Editor will stay visible) and resume the level, voila
So, get the new version already ! (1.3)
viewtopic.php?t=732

Wizzy
beginner
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by Wizzy » Fri May 21, 2004 4:25 pm

OK, got it.

And thank you, this rocks !![/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Wizzy on Fri May 21, 2004 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Post by Mr.Mouse » Fri May 21, 2004 4:58 pm

Hehe, yeah, i'd seen that mode too ;)
Still need to figure out a way to make that damn mouse come back in the Editor window, they turned it off, but Killerpain made a screenshot and HIS mouse was visible. I'm just too stupid to know how to get it back, apparently. :oops:

Wizzy
beginner
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by Wizzy » Fri May 21, 2004 5:02 pm

Use the force, luke.

Ha ha ha ha.

Cursors ? we dont need no stinking cursors !!!

Actually, yeah - a cursor would be great.
But since I haven't a clue where you went to get all this working, I wouldn't know where to start looking for the instructions for capturing the mouse.

Wizzy
beginner
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by Wizzy » Fri May 21, 2004 7:18 pm

Wait - here's a thought...
Have you tried exporting the cursors as .res files out of paingame.exe and into painfull.exe ?
Since it is Painfull.exe that enables the viewing of the editor, perhaps it will use the cursors if you put them in there ?
Or, place all of the .cur files in a new .pak file named cursors.pak and have loader.lua load it ?
Just a thought.

EDIT :
Well crap, I created cursors.pak and nothing.
but since loader.lua loads scripts and not .pak files, this isn't much of a surprise.

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Post by Mr.Mouse » Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:52 pm

I just thought this would make a subject for the Holy Cow! forum. There's a lot of questions asked about this or that file type, people figuring out archive formats and the like. The general idea behind this all is of course modding a favourite game.

But what happens after the analyses are complete?

Are people effectively changing the way a game looks, plays or sounds?

Personally, I'd like to hear about it, because then we know why we do it .

So, if you have any mods to share - even though small, like changing a model or even texture - then share it here!

You might just make us shed a tear from happiness. It would bring so much joy to our grey and hexeditor-bound lives!

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Re: Modding Results

Post by Mr.Mouse » Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:46 am

As you can see, no-one shares the final results of their modding efforts. :x :(

User avatar
Dinoguy1000
Site Admin
Posts: 710
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:55 am
Location: The wiki.
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 125 times

Re: Modding Results

Post by Dinoguy1000 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 5:08 pm

That kind of sucks... But then, no one responded to my thread on the new Wiki BBCode, and I posted that as a global announcement two months ago... :cry:
Welcome to Xentax!

Rules | Requests | Wiki

If you run across a post that breaks the rules, please PM Craptain, Mr.Mouse, or myself - we will handle it from there.

User avatar
xrevenge
veteran
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:46 pm
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Modding Results

Post by xrevenge » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:26 pm

I once changed the intro of a Yu-Gi-Oh! game for the PS2 to an episode of Yu-Gi-Oh! The Abridged Series
d4mn fun I say...btw if you're wondering what that has to do with the topic...well you asked for modding results right?...

User avatar
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 413 times
Been thanked: 548 times
Contact:

Re: Modding Results

Post by Mr.Mouse » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:05 am

:D Yes, I did. Perhaps we should have a MOD your favourite game contest, no big professional stuff, but the stuff ordinary people could do using the right tools...:)

Post Reply