Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Frostbite .xml levels to UE4 .T3D?

Get your graphics formats figures out here! Got details for others? Post here!
Post Reply
TrumpetPro
advanced
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:51 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Frostbite .xml levels to UE4 .T3D?

Post by TrumpetPro » Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:08 am

Anyone think they could take a look at these two map formats?
The .t3d file is easy enough to understand, and is essentially "copy/paste data" for UE4. This information is stored in the clipboard when you hit copy, and modifying it allows you to paste in different information. 1uu (Unreal Unit) is equivalent to 1cm.

The .xml file is from Battlefront 2, and is slightly more complex. It also stores the locations/rotations/scales of different meshes and their model paths, but rotations seem to be stored in radians rather than degrees.

Everything is in human-readable ASCII - I'd make a converter myself and will probably attempt it later, but I've never really done this sort of thing before. If someone thinks they could figure it out, please give it a shot - it would be a very valuable resource to the machinima community if we could port these levels into UE4.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

EPYCSPYDER
beginner
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:48 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Frostbite .xml levels to UE4 .T3D?

Post by EPYCSPYDER » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:02 pm

What game is the .t3d from?

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 3138
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 835 times
Been thanked: 1702 times

Re: Frostbite .xml levels to UE4 .T3D?

Post by shakotay2 » Thu May 07, 2020 9:04 pm

TrumpetPro wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:08 am
If someone thinks they could figure it out, please give it a shot
Seems you know about coordinates, rotation and so on, so what is your specific question?

Just a wild guess, I don't have/mod this game so
Area01 contains a list of 119 objects. They have reference guids which refer to the Blueprints (which have master/creator guids, whatever) in the lower part of the xml.
With "00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000037" [Ebx] Objects/Architecture/_GalacticEmpire/Deathstar_Debris/DeathStar_Debris_L_02 is referenced.
From the transform vector

Code: Select all

<trans>
                <Vec3>
                    <x>-1115.701</x>
                    <y>596.9235</y>
                    <z>-344.3748</z>
                </Vec3>
you know where to find the object on the map.

In a first step I'd try to replace an object in the t3d map by one in the Area01 map. So you need to know the format of the objects.

From my experience the main problem could be the mesh formats. Dunno, whether they are similar?
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

TrumpetPro
advanced
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:51 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite .xml levels to UE4 .T3D?

Post by TrumpetPro » Fri May 08, 2020 1:28 am

shakotay2 wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 9:04 pm
what is your specific question?
To put it simply, while I understand the differences between the two formats I don't know where to start with actually making a converter. To rephrase, would someone be willing to either create this tool or point me in the direction of some resources on learning how to do so?
EPYCSPYDER wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:02 pm
What game is the .t3d from?
.T3D is a generic UE4 format with no specific game, I made it myself by pressing Ctrl+C in the editor.

Post Reply