Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Get your graphics formats figures out here! Got details for others? Post here!
kidling
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:34 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by kidling » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:35 am

Thank you Acewell, i will talk with him

akderebur
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:36 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by akderebur » Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:07 am

I was able to make my SAO tool load the meshes by making some slight changes.
Image

I will take a look at the skeleton when I have the time. Also the model seems to be really low poly, like ps2 stuff. I was expecting something better for the pc release, kinda disappointed.

kidling
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:34 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by kidling » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:54 pm

wow, that would be gamechanging if we got a tool to edit that models.

User avatar
lionheartuk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 670
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by lionheartuk » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:06 am

akderebur wrote:I was able to make my SAO tool load the meshes by making some slight changes.
Image

I will take a look at the skeleton when I have the time. Also the model seems to be really low poly, like ps2 stuff. I was expecting something better for the pc release, kinda disappointed.
Is it possible to edit the tool to load the environments in the game?
The characters aren't my forte, but retexturing those environments will be a loooot easier if we can view them outside of the game.
"Lemons are people nice hardworking & honest people too..."

akderebur
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:36 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by akderebur » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:43 am

lionheartuk wrote: Is it possible to edit the tool to load the environments in the game?
The characters aren't my forte, but retexturing those environments will be a loooot easier if we can view them outside of the game.
Can you send me some sample files? I will take a look and see if I can get them to work.

kidling
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:34 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by kidling » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:48 am

akderebur wrote:I was able to make my SAO tool load the meshes by making some slight changes.
Image

I will take a look at the skeleton when I have the time. Also the model seems to be really low poly, like ps2 stuff. I was expecting something better for the pc release, kinda disappointed.
just did a unpacker/packer with all texture formats: ARGB8, DXT5, BC5

now time to get the 3d model of phyre

akderebur please may you help me finding the offsets for 3d model? i Think we don´t need the squeleton/bones, only the 3d model for modding
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

akderebur
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:36 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by akderebur » Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:19 am

A tool that imports modified meshes would have some limitations. Like the new mesh needs to have same vertex and index count as the original mesh. Otherwise it would cause problems with the offsets inside the file.

So with those limitations I think only thing you can do is to move the vertices of the mesh. I mean it is still something, but it won't be proper modding.

kidling
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:34 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by kidling » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:19 pm

holy shit, I had not thought about that. So if we want to mod a 3d model we need to find a way to redo the phyre file from scratch?

That's sad :(

dclem
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:50 pm

Re: Final Fantasy XII ZA PC Phyre.dds Textures

Post by dclem » Mon May 06, 2019 12:05 am

kildaremc, what do you know so far about the 3d model format? I've since had progress on 3d models since here, but still ahve bugs (and not yet extracted bones from character models) I know you had an interest in it; please help me get model importing working.

Post Reply