READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerless)

Get help on any and all audio formats, or chip in and help others!
Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerless)

Post by Pepper » Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:15 pm

here's what i know:
in the darkness 2, some is raw wave data, some is placeholder, a like the cue file system unreal uses, (comes out when imported raw as a quick sequence of tones) and some is compressed in some manner. most probably adpcm or other audio compression, and imports as garbled static. none of these files have any headers i can see.
in warframe, everything is compressed or data cues. this makes getting any audio from it currently impossible.
in star trek, i'm told its the same as warframe, if you need samples from any game pm me. warframe is also free 2 play, so anyone on the internet can get it. I'm still not sure about the legality of uploading its unpacked files, so pm me for any samples.

hoodlum47
beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:01 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by hoodlum47 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:35 am

How did this thread get buried?

I too am curious about this unplayable audio (specifically from Darkness 2). Can't anyone help me and Pepper?

I can also upload samples if need be through PM.

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by Pepper » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:38 pm

quick update regarding warframe and startrek, some audio now works, if you use the newer extractor specifically for warframe. but still, certain audio is compressed and headerless. in warframe all the reloading sfx are messed up while most of the shooting ones come out fine as big/little endian raw 16bit.

There are still these files that refuse to decode as raw data, which makes me think they are some kind of adpcm.

User avatar
MiLØ
veteran
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:00 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by MiLØ » Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:15 pm

Just bumping this to say I'm also interested. Particularly in Warframe now that the full game has been released.
...damn headerless WAVs, which are not really WAVs.

User avatar
GMMan
veteran
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:14 pm
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by GMMan » Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:45 pm

Here's a string from Warframe:
SC_PCM, SC_WMA2, SC_WMA3, SC_XMA2, SC_ATRAC3, SC_ADPCM, SC_ATRAC9
Audio probably has to be in one of those formats. Top contenders are PCM, ADPCM, and WMA2/3. Supposedly ADPCM could be IMA, or a custom implementation, or maybe MSADPCM without the adaptation table (since it's the same for all MSADPCM files).
Currently researching: Alpha Prime scripting (AI and mods)
Queued: EE .cache repacking, CustomPak repacking, Gameloft Scrambled Zip multitool, GRAF Extractor Skeleton repacking, Gun Metal filenames CRC

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by Pepper » Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:28 am

GMMan wrote:Here's a string from Warframe:
SC_PCM, SC_WMA2, SC_WMA3, SC_XMA2, SC_ATRAC3, SC_ADPCM, SC_ATRAC9
Audio probably has to be in one of those formats. Top contenders are PCM, ADPCM, and WMA2/3. Supposedly ADPCM could be IMA, or a custom implementation, or maybe MSADPCM without the adaptation table (since it's the same for all MSADPCM files).
Looks like they plan xbox one/ps4 ports. atrac and xma are console brand specific (and they've been doing a big push for free2play in next gen), pcm is the type we can just import as raw data, i bet it's adpcm for these non decoders. I just couldn't get it sound proper with a generic header.

Devilot
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:12 am
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by Devilot » Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:21 am

any idea how to extract the Star Trek audio from pc?

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by Pepper » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:49 pm

Devilot wrote:any idea how to extract the Star Trek audio from pc?
reinstalling it atm. going to take a second crack at it now that there's a good extractor for warframe.

some work, as raw 44100 khz little end wavs, alot don't and are staticy mess.

hoodlum47
beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:01 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by hoodlum47 » Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:57 pm

Wow, this is proving to be a tough nut to crack for everyone involved.

I particularly am working on the voice clips from Darkness 2. Going off of GMMan's notes in his "Evolution Engine Cache Extractor" thread, the "H" variant files of misc_en.cache (which is where the voices are kept) don't look like headers at all, they look to me like a list of the localisations available for each individual voice clip. To me (even though I'm no expert) it looks like there's definitely a coalition between the "Binary" variant files and the "File" variant files, It's probably a different story for the different data types throughout the caches I'm sure.

User avatar
geevious
advanced
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:51 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by geevious » Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:10 pm

Any progress made on Darkness II? Have done what most already discovered on the little end, but the remaining are yet to be decoded properly.

spider91
advanced
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 8:09 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by spider91 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 1:12 pm

In darkness 2 files are adpcm. I can restore headers for some files and play them, but not for all.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1922
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 1471 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by daemon1 » Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:13 am

I did some research on Darkness II.

There are total of 12830 files:

496 raw PCM (mostly music)
3715 MS ADPCM (mostly sound fx)
8619 WMA2 (mostly dialogue voices)

All three formats are well known and must be easily extracted. You just need to combine the info from H files with the body from F files.

Where can I find that tool for warframe? Maybe they already did it?

User avatar
geevious
advanced
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:51 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by geevious » Sat Oct 03, 2015 6:03 pm

Only one I know of is from blog/?p=1081

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1922
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 1471 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by daemon1 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:00 pm

I'm starting with the tool for this engine now. There are 3 folders with data, and the only way to do this it seems to select all 3 folders, and make something like a batch convert for all files available.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1922
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 1471 times

Re: Darkness 2/Warframe/Star Trek Compressed audio (headerle

Post by daemon1 » Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:36 pm

I've found all the flags and properties to build headers for all 3 kind of files. Now only need to write a tool. Expect it to be soon.

Post Reply