Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Get help on any and all audio formats, or chip in and help others!
Post Reply
OrangeC
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 864
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:58 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by OrangeC » Fri May 10, 2013 4:27 am

Its not going to convert X360 sounds because.

1. its EA XMA format.

2. Needs third party tools to be implemented into the script such as: "ea-Multi_xma to parse the XMA streams" "QuickBMS and XMA header Script to Add the Proper XMA header and Towav to convert the XMA files to wav.

It can be done but the process of adding it is beyond my skills. :)

User avatar
Vosvoy
veteran
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by Vosvoy » Fri May 10, 2013 4:35 pm

OrangeC wrote:Its not going to convert X360 sounds because.

1. its EA XMA format.

2. Needs third party tools to be implemented into the script such as: "ea-Multi_xma to parse the XMA streams" "QuickBMS and XMA header Script to Add the Proper XMA header and Towav to convert the XMA files to wav.
Oh yeah I completly forgot that it's XMA for Xbox360.
Vosvoy

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by Pepper » Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:50 am

Ok so, even though I got it to work before, now everytime I try to decode bf3 or warfighter, it tells me how ealayer3 needs a specified input filename.. Can anyone help? it happens as soon as it trys to decode an ealayer3 file, and then i cant do anything but close it. (which shutsdown the whole conversion of all files) I think somethings different, because it used to just pop up a seperate window for each one. but i've updated to the latest fb2 decoder pack and still nothing.

OrangeC
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 864
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:58 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by OrangeC » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:46 pm

when I get back home I can send you mine see if it works.

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by Pepper » Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:48 pm

No need, I used the earlier script without the ealayer3 integration and it works.

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by Pepper » Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:47 pm

good news: bf4 beta preload's cas/cat files appear unencrypted!

bad news: I still can't get this damn thing to work with ea layer 3 on it ;-;

User avatar
durandal217
veteran
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:52 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by durandal217 » Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:23 pm

Sound extraction doesn't work for BF4 Beta. Gotta wait and hope Frank updates his script.

Pepper
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:48 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by Pepper » Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:50 am

Ah, hadn't tested myself, guess they changed the filesystem somehow. I just looked in cas.cat and was suprised to see nyannyannyan since steam always encrypts all data on preloads. I guess origin is fine with giving everything out besides the executables.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2231
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 1838 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by daemon1 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:32 pm

I've just read the long and cool story about extracting sounds from BF3/BF4 with all those .ebx/.cat/.cas things.

Can anyone tell me, in the end, is it possible to properly extract BF4 sounds with names or not? Because it seems it has some very different format and .ebx were compressed with custom compression. Did Frankelstner finally had time to finish it or not?

Apollo
veteran
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by Apollo » Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:16 pm

He did but has been MIA for a year now and bfeditor.org appears to be down where his scripts were at. :/

Would need someone continue his work to update it.

OrangeC
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 864
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:58 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by OrangeC » Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:19 pm

I still have is scripts. I also included the bf script and the frostbite audio extractor as well.

Also works for Battlefield hardlines PC version.

https://mega.co.nz/#!UNUT3ZyL!esLEiI-NE ... fp_adBZ6JI

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2231
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 1838 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by daemon1 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:41 pm

Apollo wrote:He did but has been MIA for a year now and bfeditor.org appears to be down where his scripts were at. :/

Would need someone continue his work to update it.
What's need to be updated? As of now, I've changed his script a little to extract just the audio files. It doesn't take as much time and space as full extraction.

A week ago bfeditor was working... Who hosted the site? The same man?
Last edited by daemon1 on Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2231
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 1838 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by daemon1 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:47 pm

OrangeC wrote:I still have is scripts. I also included the bf script and the frostbite audio extractor as well.

Also works for Battlefield hardlines PC version.
Thank you. Can you give me a link to the forum thread where it was posted? Was there anything interesting? I will read it in google cache.

OrangeC
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 864
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:58 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by OrangeC » Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:25 pm


daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2231
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 1838 times

Re: Frostbite 2 sound extraction research

Post by daemon1 » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:55 pm

OrangeC wrote:Managed to scrounge up this.
Unfortunately, google somehow doesn't have this page saved :( Anyway, thank you for saving his latest version, i looked through it, he cleared up the code and now it looks really better.

This is what I was able to figure out for now:

- We have BF3 script, with ZLIB decompression code. I can't check this, but fortunately it worked for BF3, at least for most files.

- We have BF4 script, with custom LZ77 decompressor by Frankelstner as a separate dll (with no source code). It works for BF4 & BFH. I checked it on BFH beta, the script produced 4337 audio chunks, and successfully unpacked them into wavs. The data of ALL those 4337 chunks were used in unpacking, so I'm almost sure it really extracts ALL audio. Good work. The only problem i see is that XAS is really integer codec, not float. Of course you can extract it to floats, you can even make your cat float, but it doesn't mean it's a floating animal. This results in 2x times bigger files.

- When trying to apply this to Dragon Age Inquisition, I can't unpack anything, because of format changes. Files packed with ZLIB, but BF3 script doesn't work. BF4 doesn't work either, because it assumes it must be LZ77. The only thing people can do (and it is in video tutorial) is to remove all .cas and unpack only EN.VOC file which has about 3000 audio files. I was able to comment lines in BF4 script to extract only chunks, so now i have all 10587 audio files from the game. They are convertible, but have no proper names. DAI tools can find proper names, but can't extract audio (thus conversion errors). Also it is not suitable for mass extraction, but only as explorer.

Post Reply