Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
eddiehimself
beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:27 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by eddiehimself » Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:55 am

Szkaradek123 wrote:Hi
Here is blend file for import models from gmd files (Yakuza 5).
It requires to install Blender version 249b (32 bit) and Python 2.6.6.(32 bit).
Doubleclick file "Blender249.blend" and in Text Window press alt+p to run script.
Select file with *.gmd and press import.
Script import geometry, uv ,weights for vertex and bones.
Not all bones are joined.
Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou THANK YOU!!!!! :keke: :keke: :keke:

MisterNatal
advanced
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:53 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by MisterNatal » Sun May 01, 2016 10:45 am

Szkaradek123 wrote:Hi
Here is blend file for import models from gmd files (Yakuza 5).
It requires to install Blender version 249b (32 bit) and Python 2.6.6.(32 bit).
Doubleclick file "Blender249.blend" and in Text Window press alt+p to run script.
Select file with *.gmd and press import.
Script import geometry, uv ,weights for vertex and bones.
Not all bones are joined.
When I run the script I get an error :( can someone help me?

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 107 times
Contact:

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by Tosyk » Sun May 01, 2016 11:20 am

Szkaradek123, thanks for the script!
please look at this file. Blender loads armature and first (?) object but gives me an error on the rest.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/dro5j ... 020_cmn.7z

p.s.: it's a vehicle judging by the textures.

EDIT: here's a props models:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/se5hu ... reactor.7z

EDIT2: I noticed that some characters looses second uv channel which used for normal maps. is there a way to import them?
Last edited by Tosyk on Sun May 01, 2016 2:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

Naroax
beginner
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:44 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by Naroax » Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 am

Tosyk; I don't think the script is compatible with non-character models, it has been tried before.

artworkplay
veteran
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:40 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by artworkplay » Thu May 05, 2016 1:00 am

Szkaradek123 wrote:Hi
Here is blend file for import models from gmd files (Yakuza 5).
It requires to install Blender version 249b (32 bit) and Python 2.6.6.(32 bit).
Doubleclick file "Blender249.blend" and in Text Window press alt+p to run script.
Select file with *.gmd and press import.
Script import geometry, uv ,weights for vertex and bones.
Not all bones are joined.
Thank you for your great work with this model importer. Just wondering how to avoid this error when I tried to import a model
Image

Szkaradek123
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Poland Głogów
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 602 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by Szkaradek123 » Thu May 05, 2016 9:17 am

Please don't use portable software only installed. Or copy all files (replace old newGameLib with new) to folder with blender.exe .
But i prefer to install Blender version 32 bit and Python 2.6.6. 32 bit.

User avatar
eddiehimself
beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:27 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by eddiehimself » Fri May 06, 2016 9:57 pm

Tosyk wrote:Szkaradek123, thanks for the script!
please look at this file. Blender loads armature and first (?) object but gives me an error on the rest.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/dro5j ... 020_cmn.7z

p.s.: it's a vehicle judging by the textures.

EDIT: here's a props models:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/se5hu ... reactor.7z

EDIT2: I noticed that some characters looses second uv channel which used for normal maps. is there a way to import them?
1. sadly, non-character models are still not working properly with this script. The old noesis script can import the geometry for most non-character models, but there's no UV mapping and 3 sets of identical geometry baked down into a single mesh, which obviously means a hell of a lot of work if you want to get it into a decent looking model.

2. You definitely don't need a 2nd UV channel for the normal maps; they use the same UV coordinates as the diffuse, spec and AO maps. There are mini repeating bump/diffuse/spec maps used to give more detail to certain materials, but that's not the same thing.

MisterNatal
advanced
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:53 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by MisterNatal » Sat May 07, 2016 12:55 am

Szkaradek123 wrote:Please don't use portable software only installed. Or copy all files (replace old newGameLib with new) to folder with blender.exe .
But i prefer to install Blender version 32 bit and Python 2.6.6. 32 bit.
*EDIT* I FIGURED IT OUT! I didn't realize I had to copy that folder and python script to blender! xD I only copied the script I'm so dumb!
Last edited by MisterNatal on Sat May 07, 2016 3:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

artworkplay
veteran
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:40 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by artworkplay » Sat May 07, 2016 1:30 am

Szkaradek123 wrote:Please don't use portable software only installed. Or copy all files (replace old newGameLib with new) to folder with blender.exe .
But i prefer to install Blender version 32 bit and Python 2.6.6. 32 bit.
Thanks so much for the tip, it works for me now.

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2652
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 1362 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by shakotay2 » Sat May 07, 2016 10:55 am

eddiehimself wrote:The old noesis script can import the geometry for most non-character models, but there's no UV mapping
talking about gmd.py from exactly 4 years ago? Then that's not the whole truth. :D
There's UV mapping, but not for all meshes.

And adding the type 0xF4 to the script like such will show up more UV maps:

Code: Select all

		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0x44:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 8))
		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0xF4:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 12))
(You're required to replace some weird #QNAN0 strings (not a number) in the exported obj file by 0, though. Didn't dig deeper into this, but for a1020_6.gmd, SM 41, vertex count: 1865 there's about 4062 of those QNANs, two of them per vt line, for g 41 166x2.)
a1020_6-uvs_type_F4.jpg
and 3 sets of identical geometry baked down into a single mesh, which obviously means a hell of a lot of work if you want to get it into a decent looking model.
could you give more detailed infos about this, please? :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 107 times
Contact:

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by Tosyk » Sat May 07, 2016 11:54 am

eddiehimself wrote:2. The normal maps use the same UV coordinates as the diffuse, specular and AO maps, but some materials use mini repeating bump/diffuse/spec maps on top to give them more detail. It's just a case of scaling them down and adding them on top.
I realized that there's no second uv by myself a few days ago.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

User avatar
eddiehimself
beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:27 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by eddiehimself » Sun May 08, 2016 7:51 pm

shakotay2 wrote:
eddiehimself wrote:The old noesis script can import the geometry for most non-character models, but there's no UV mapping
talking about gmd.py from exactly 4 years ago? Then that's not the whole truth. :D
There's UV mapping, but not for all meshes.

And adding the type 0xF4 to the script like such will show up more UV maps:

Code: Select all

		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0x44:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 8))
		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0xF4:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 12))
(You're required to replace some weird #QNAN0 strings (not a number) in the exported obj file by 0, though. Didn't dig deeper into this, but for a1020_6.gmd, SM 41, vertex count: 1865 there's about 4062 of those QNANs, two of them per vt line, for g 41 166x2.)
a1020_6-uvs_type_F4.jpg
and 3 sets of identical geometry baked down into a single mesh, which obviously means a hell of a lot of work if you want to get it into a decent looking model.
could you give more detailed infos about this, please? :)
I meant there is no UV mapping in the models extracted using the old script, rather than that there is no UV mapping in the original .gmd model files themselves. Sorry if I was a bit confusing there. That looks like it could be useful so I might give that a try.

Well what I meant was that you had 3 identical sets of geometry, so 3 sets of vertices and polys, but they all get imported onto a single mesh object. So I'm really not sure if there is a quick way to remove the redundant geometry or anything.

User avatar
eddiehimself
beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:27 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by eddiehimself » Mon May 23, 2016 11:01 am

So now there is a bit of another problem. Basically, some of the characters have extra pieces of clothing not rigged to the original skeleton, and these are stored in these with the .cth extension so you can't extract them using the .gmd export script.

KenMasters
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:33 pm

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by KenMasters » Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:09 pm

does the script not work with the 64bit version?

User avatar
lionheartuk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 669
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Post by lionheartuk » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:59 am

This is a bit of a bump, well, one hell of a bump actually, but its the same script and game series so it'd be silly to make a new

But the noesis script doesn't appear to work with gmd files from Yakuza 0 on PS4.

Here are a few Yakuza 0 files

https://mega.nz/#F!cs9TUIbJ!VLacZDZYCpEoS_p4uUldVQ

A few open perfectly in this folder, whilst others even won't open at all, or they have connected vertices to other meshes (or to themselves).

The previous Yakuza game files also had this issue where some files worked, others 70% and others not at all.

These are all environment meshes however.

Is it possible for anyone to update this script, with a new Yakuza game out, I thought interest may return.
"Lemons are people nice hardworking & honest people too..."

Post Reply