READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Post Reply
User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:59 pm

mazor wrote: Does this theoretically imply that a new extractor can be written fairly easily?
For the most part Yes.
I've gotten most of the pointers to the important information pinned down now.
How to grab the model/mesh name and the texture information, model/mesh count, etc.
There's a few things to figure out yet but I should have that all sorted soon.

There will be no need to use the granny2.dll to extract the meshes with this format.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!

User avatar
Hairless Wookiee
beginner
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:05 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Hairless Wookiee » Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:28 am

Btw testing is now over. Early access starts late next week (15th), so the retail client should go live by Mon/Tue (12/13) next week I would think. From comments made by devs it would seem that little is likely to change content-wise, but I'm unsure how things will change on the file system/format side of things.

User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:05 pm

I'd think this late in the date format should be pretty much set for the 3D meshes anyway.
I'll start a python script for Noesis to work the meshes exporting today.
Most of the information is easy to grab and what I have not figured out yet should fall into place as I work on it.

Edit:
Seems the Normals and TexCoords are shuffled in some way?
Not compressed but encrypted some how.
The rest of the information is very easy to extract as far as where in the file it is.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!

User avatar
Hairless Wookiee
beginner
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:05 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Hairless Wookiee » Thu Dec 08, 2011 3:29 am

The retail client is now available for pre-load by those that have registered their pre-order code. They have also extended the early access period to 7 days (was previously 5) which now starts on Dec 13.

http://swtor.com/download

User avatar
Acewell
VIP member
VIP member
Posts: 1268
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 736 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Acewell » Thu Dec 08, 2011 6:14 am

If you participated in the last 2 Beta Weekends then you won't need to uninstall your Game Client.
If you participated in The Old Republic Game Testing Program, but did not participate in the November 25th-28th or December 2nd-4th Beta Weekends, first uninstall the Game Testing Client before moving on to the next step. If you did participate in either of these Beta Weekends, there is no need to uninstall your Game Client. Visit the FAQ for instructions on how to uninstall your Game Testing Client.
Source:
http://www.swtor.com/early-access

It looks like they're done tweaking their model format for now.

User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:05 am

The files are pretty easy to work except for the texcoords and what I think are the normals.
Those are encrypted somehow that I'm still trying to figure out.
It's not in the Granny2.dll (Which is a custom build for SWTOR)
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!

Jokkocze
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 5:48 pm

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Jokkocze » Sun Dec 11, 2011 4:06 pm

Great job so far guys! I'm really looking forward to a working solution so I can get my hands on the XS Freighter model and make me some 2D-blueprints off it.

nicoli_s
advanced
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:47 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by nicoli_s » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:20 am

@Privateer:im also looking into these files, have you looked to see if maybe the UVs are done as uint32s that are divided by a constant value? ive seen other games do that alot

User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:35 am

nicoli_s wrote:@Privateer:im also looking into these files, have you looked to see if maybe the UVs are done as uint32s that are divided by a constant value? ive seen other games do that alot
I've been running different things to try to find the 'magic' mixture but have not found it yet.
I have a few thoughts to try next but have been busy fixing a few systems for people.
And sometimes a few days away from a problem helps clear the mind.

I do know that the collision objects do not have the messed up 'normals' entries.
They have no 'normals' entries infact.
Those would be useless as the mesh is not rendered anyway.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!

nicoli_s
advanced
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:47 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by nicoli_s » Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:15 am

do you mind posting your structure so far? ive got the first geoset rendered(without uvs and nromals) but havent figured out the geoset count yet

User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:35 am

nicoli_s wrote:do you mind posting your structure so far? ive got the first geoset rendered(without uvs and nromals) but havent figured out the geoset count yet
I have not coded the structures yet so I can't 'show' you anything at this time.
The number of meshes in a given file is found at 1Ah
The files are a modified GR2 format. That I am sure of as I see many of the same pointers used in standard GR2 files.
I also compared earlier versions of the granny2.dll file to the last version I have and they are not changed.
That kind of tells me a few things after running stuff through IDA Pro.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!

nicoli_s
advanced
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:47 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by nicoli_s » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:09 am

it doesnt seem like that is the mesh count, as im finding meshes with a value of 0 there, that have values in the other spots you mentioned and i have imported the first mesh and its def valid

User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:44 am

I should have put a ? mark after the 1Ah
It seems to hold true on the ones I cross compared but I did not check all the files.
What file has the 0 at 1ah?
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!

JakeGreen
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:14 pm
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by JakeGreen » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:18 am

so any progress on making it easier to find .GR2 models, i have a beta build from back this September and the last beta build, i happen to install 2 beta builds and i didn't buy the game since i don't have the money to keep paying on it and i've tried both build and can only get the weapons and ships and props and skeletons.gr2s out of the files, can you tell me where i can find the characters like this and the droid on the other pages cause they are more use to me thin the props since i'm converting and animating them to another star wars game for a mod
Image

User avatar
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer » Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:59 am

JakeGreen wrote:so any progress on making it easier to find .GR2 models, i have a beta build from back this September and the last beta build, i happen to install 2 beta builds and i didn't buy the game since i don't have the money to keep paying on it and i've tried both build and can only get the weapons and ships and props and skeletons.gr2s out of the files, can you tell me where i can find the characters like this and the droid on the other pages cause they are more use to me thin the props since i'm converting and animating them to another star wars game for a mod
The GR2 files are extracted but many are listed as .txt files as the MYP extraction stuff is not perfect.
Open the .txt files in a hex editor and look at the file header and rename as needed.
I'd like to get the time to finish a program I have started that finds and renames gr2 files.
You drag and drop a folder on it and hit OK. It searches every file in every subfolder and does the dirty work.

Post Reply