READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Diablo III .app

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
BoyC
beginner
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:24 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by BoyC » Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:24 pm

Due to the complexity and uniqueness of the file format a standalone viewer program is the best bet for this. I've worked on things like that before and will look into it when I have the time however I'm quite swamped with real life stuff atm :)

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:07 pm

What I will try to make in the next days is a simple item loader program, which runs in flash, and can be easily inserted to a site.

To make a complex model viewer, that loads a character, and puts all the armors and weapons on them ... hmm that's a different story.
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

BoyC
beginner
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:24 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by BoyC » Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:28 pm

Not to mention the huge number of animations, different death looks etc...

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:24 pm

Correct ...

and the enchants on the weapons (e.g. ice, lightning, etc...)
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sat Oct 08, 2011 2:08 pm

This is the action script code under Flex SDK and Away 3D Framework. After I compile it, it opens a 400 x 300 pc flash frame in a html file, and loads an .obj model.

package
{
import away3d.containers.View3D;
import away3d.events.LoaderEvent;
import away3d.loaders.Loader3D;
import away3d.loaders.parsers.Parsers;

import flash.display.Sprite;
import flash.events.Event;
import flash.net.URLRequest;

[SWF(width="400", height="300")]
public class GettingStartedWithAway3D extends Sprite
{
private var _view : View3D;
private var _loader : Loader3D;

public function GettingStartedWithAway3D()
{
_view = new View3D();
_view.backgroundColor = 0xd7d7d7;
_view.antiAlias = 4;

this.addChild(_view);
this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, onEnterFrame);

Parsers.enableAllBundled();

_loader = new Loader3D();
_loader.addEventListener(LoaderEvent.RESOURCE_COMPLETE, onResourceComplete);
_loader.addEventListener(LoaderEvent.LOAD_ERROR, onLoadError);
_loader.load( new URLRequest('Adria.obj') );
}


private function onResourceComplete(ev : LoaderEvent) : void
{
_loader.removeEventListener(LoaderEvent.RESOURCE_COMPLETE, onResourceComplete);
_loader.removeEventListener(LoaderEvent.LOAD_ERROR, onLoadError);
_view.scene.addChild(_loader);
}


private function onLoadError(ev : LoaderEvent) : void
{
trace('Could not find', ev.url);
_loader.removeEventListener(LoaderEvent.RESOURCE_COMPLETE, onResourceComplete);
_loader.removeEventListener(LoaderEvent.LOAD_ERROR, onLoadError);
_loader = null;
}


private function onEnterFrame(ev : Event) : void
{
_loader.rotationY = stage.mouseX - stage.stageWidth/2;
_view.camera.y = 3 * (stage.mouseY - stage.stageHeight/2);
_view.camera.lookAt(_loader.position);

_view.render();
}
}
}


The problem is the following:

it loads the some obj files, but when I try it with the Diablo 3 models (Adria.obj or Cain.obj) you cannot see anything.
Is there anyone who is expert in Away 3D and / or modelling?
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

npd2006
beginner
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:15 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by npd2006 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 2:44 pm

Don't know about Away 3D but I imported Adria model to Maya without any problems.

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sat Oct 08, 2011 3:21 pm

GLC player also opened Adria.obj properly...

Beside that how can I convert the .tex files with the D3TexConv.exe?
The wiki page writes drag and drop, but how?
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

npd2006
beginner
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:15 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by npd2006 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 4:33 pm

Drag the .tex file and drop it to D3TexConv.exe

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:11 pm

But how?

I run the .exe file and I get this:
"We need a file(s) to work with!"
so where to drag and drop the .tex? :)
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:17 pm

lol, the problem was: Total commander.

Now I have the dds file.
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:48 pm

npd2006 wrote:Don't know about Away 3D but I imported Adria model to Maya without any problems.
3DS Max 2012 cannot open the ardia.obj.

These are the files I have in one folder:

adria.obj
adria_diff_atlas.txt
adria_spec_atlas.tct
adria_A_diff.dds
adria_A_spec.dds

When I try to import the .obj in +DS Max, I have an error meassage: an mtl file is missing, and two others as well. What else is needed to load the complete model?
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

npd2006
beginner
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:15 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by npd2006 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 5:18 am

3DS Max 2012 cannot open the ardia.obj.
I have same tissue.
You can open it in Maya or Deep Exploration, then export to obj and you can import it to Max (but why don't use maya ?)
File .mtl looks like a header of .obj . It has no .mtl because of the template. I think it's not hard to create one. But it is not important.

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:02 am

Arghhh ... so 3DS Max cannot open an .obj file, which Maya can. I thought .obj is a standard o_O

Question:

- so which files do I need to see a complete model? (so the dds and the obj is needed, and that's all?)
- I would be glad, if I could find a format, which contains the model and the texture as well in one file.
- do you know a crack for Maya? :)
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

User avatar
TaylorMouse
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by TaylorMouse » Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:39 am

In the standard obj file format you require 3 files, the .obj file, a material file that links the textures with the obj file and the texture file
but
in this case all you need is the obj file and the texture file(s) since we didn't figure out the material file yet.
So the adria.obj file requires the Adria_A_diff.dss and the Adria_A_spec.dds file. both files cannot be linked to the obj file when converting from the original .app file (yet) so you need to do this manually

T.

Monguron
advanced
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Diablo III .app

Post by Monguron » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:11 pm

Ok, it's getting clear then.

For ex.: GLC Player can open the adria.obj, and I see the model without textures.

But both 3DS Max and Maya are not capable to open it, or are they? Perhaps I fucked up something during the importing process.
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!

Post Reply