Offtopic: Into Commodore 64 (6502) coding, pixeling or music?
Xentax is looking for new members for the C64 activities!
Just drop us a message at forum@xentax.com and join the Scene Team!

Forum rules: Click here

The Witcher 2 Models

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
Strelok
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:37 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Strelok » Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:38 am

Hell yeah! Great Work! I have only one question: How to export all of it in 3ds max without quality-loosing (in fact in UDK but it would be good to work with meshes in 3d max before)

junk angel
veteran
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:38 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by junk angel » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:21 pm

To get the models into max, I recommend you use the md5mesh exporter. I have by far the best results with crossimporting between blender and max with that.

After that you should be able to do max>FBX>UDK

Kjun
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:13 am

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Kjun » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:05 am

Hmm, it's kinda interesting, first attemp to extract models i've seen.
But i'm quite annoyed with this, first of all, i used to use 3dsmax and not Blender so i'm quite bad with it.
And i am the only one who haven't that browse interface for importing the models and textures ? (when i open the .blend i've got the script only and a new space for modeling at left)
i can't get that page :

Image

Do u have any clues ? Is there any ways i can get this browser ?

User avatar
zardalu
veteran
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by zardalu » Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:40 pm

Hi Kjun,

I had the same issue seeing as I'm a Blender newb too. All you have to do is hit "Alt"+P, and the browser will open. Several of Szkaradek123 scripts work that way. From there, you export to a few formats that Max supports. Good luck!

Kjun
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:13 am

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Kjun » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:23 pm

First thx for reply,

And second , i have the error "python script error : check console" when i try to Alt+P, and i think this error occured when u do not import the files, am i wrong ?

So i'm trying to imort and i do not find the browser ><". Maybe i didn't understand a part of this manipulation.

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:19 pm

Would help us more to see the console...that DOS window which shows up while you open Blender.

Kjun
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:13 am

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Kjun » Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:01 pm

ImageUploaded with ImageShack.us

Sorry i though it was a small thing to notice ^^' , that's the screenshot of my blender screen after typing Alt+P.

Thx in advance

hqqttjiang
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:27 am

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by hqqttjiang » Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:59 am

could anyone tell me why i can not load those textures?i pressd the show textures button then press load,but nothing happened

Modman69
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:33 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Modman69 » Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:36 am

Can Someone please tell me where and under what name the Letho Model is?

I've searched over an hour and can't find anything.

Modman69
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:33 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Modman69 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:25 am

Okay so, no reply on my previous post.

Hopefully someone can help with this one?

Almost every model I've tried loads fine with usually only minor issues, but one problem I have with all models is the armature loads with the tail end of the bones off to the side and not in alignment with the mesh. I'm not sure how to describe it well so here is a pic.

Image

Can someone please tell me how I can Fix this in blender or possibly obtain an updated script which will correct the problem?

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:28 am

Modman69 wrote:Can Someone please tell me where and under what name the Letho Model is?

I've searched over an hour and can't find anything.

Not knowing how Gibbed tools unpacks the files best I can give you is this.

pack0.dzip\game\npc\riszon.w2ent is where I found the "richon__body1_b1.w2mesh" and other files that hold the model info.

HTH
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

Modman69
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:33 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Modman69 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:46 am

Aha, so there's that big burly bastard, :)

I tried searching every name (Witcher, Letho, Assassin, Kingslayer) and never had a clue about that one.

Thanks a Bunch MichaelDarkAngel.

Modman69
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:33 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Modman69 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 3:06 pm

Hello,

I'm still hoping for a solution to the rig problem from my previous post because I'm trying to create my own armature based on the original bone placement but, this problem makes that almost impossible.

If anybody has even an idea about this issue please tell.


[Edit] I know nothing about Python but, I'll take a wild guess and say maybe the problem lies within this piece of code.

Image


Any Blender Python People around?

Modman69
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:33 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Modman69 » Fri May 17, 2013 8:09 pm

Sorry to bring up an old topic, but I was really Hoping that the blender script could be updated/improved for the Witcher 2 Models.
The reason I mention it is because as many of you may know, CDProjekt has just recently released RedKit for Modding The Witcher 2, but it currently has no functionality for importing/exporting Skeletal Meshes.

The only capabilities ATM are exporting static object meshes from the editor in .3ds, .obj and .fbx formats (You cannot export any Character Models, NPCs or Otherwise).
There is also an included plugin for 3DS Max 2009 and 2013 which only Exports in .re static mesh format.

I have made requests on the RedKit forums for blender I/O but apparently they are quite busy with many other things currently such as Witcher 3, Cyberpunk 2077, not to mention RedKit itself (bugfixes,website, etc...).

Someone with Python skills here shouldn't have much trouble improving on an this nearly complete and very good Importer for blender.

The Features that are mainly needed are bone improvements, and animation support.

Thanks

3dbabe
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:18 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by 3dbabe » Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:58 am

Please make the script. where one can select meshes in a folder.w2mesh to load..no need to open w2ent file.
TK for the import script.

Post Reply