Offtopic: Into Commodore 64 (6502) coding, pixeling or music?
Xentax is looking for new members for the C64 activities!
Just drop us a message at forum@xentax.com and join the Scene Team!

Forum rules: Click here

The Witcher 2 Models

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Ladoo
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:01 am

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Ladoo » Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:13 pm

ok, so the bones in fact are all there but like CMihai said they need to be parented. The bones are all positioned in the correct spots but they are not connected. After playing around for a while and trying to find a tutorial on how to do it, I just couldnt connect them. In case this information isnt descriptive enough, I attached a picture below to demonstrate what I mean.
Thanks
bones.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Szkaradek123
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Poland Głogów
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 591 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Szkaradek123 » Sat Jun 11, 2011 7:42 pm

1.select armature
2.press TAB - to edit mode for bones
3.select child and parent using shift+RMB
4.press ctrl+P
5.in MENU select KEEP OFFSET
6.get next bones child-parent and repeat 1-5

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:26 pm

The contents of this post was deleted because of possible forum rules violation.

Szkaradek123
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Poland Głogów
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 591 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Szkaradek123 » Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:06 pm

Update for Blender249 importer:
-add 'magic' button ,if script don't import correct w2ent or w2mesh files
-improve names of meshes
-improve import textures
-add import static meshes
-add bones parenting (thanks bm1 for help)
(script is not 100% perfect)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Szkaradek123 on Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:46 pm

The contents of this post was deleted because of possible forum rules violation.

megakoresh
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:14 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by megakoresh » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:26 am

Why not make this script for 2.5x versions? It doesn't look like you need to modify it a lot, just add "=" after "print" and I think there was something else... Can't remember it now though. Anyway script still doesn't work. When I press "Show what w2ent file has" nothing displays.

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:48 am

Make sure you selected the dir's right, works fine for me. Anyway an updated version should follow up soon.

Ladoo
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:01 am

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by Ladoo » Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:01 am

Thanks Szkaradek123, everything is working great so far. Just a question, are you working on anything for the bones? It takes a lot of time to parent all the bones on the models I open and on top of that when I'm done they still need a lot of tweaking that I am not capable of doing (having never done animation before). To be honest, I dont even mind parenting the bones even though its tedious, its just the strange connections they make that I have an issue with. The joints bend in ways they should not (especially roll joints such as the elbows) and there is quite a bit of mesh stretching going on when ever I move them. I really hope that Im not wishing for too much. Either way I want to thank you for want you've done so far. Keep up the great work!

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:16 am

Yea some of the have forearm/elbowroll used, depends, but as a quick note, you can use one bone structure for most of the characters, for Geralt of example I used only one, for like 5-6 models and works fine, I also did Iorweth minutes ago and same, worked fine, so just save the .blend for reuse, the only one that didn't worked so far was Letho, and ofc Zoltan wich both of them have a different scale, but as far I seen, it should work for Letho also, guess I just missed something, should work fine.

About the arms I'm doing this way

->Bicep2
-->Bicep
-->ShoulderRoll
--->Forearm/Elbowroll
----->Forearmroll1
------->Forearmroll2
--------->Handroll
----------->Hand

And from now you shouldn't have any troubles. Same for legs

->Thigh
-->LegRoll1
-->LegRoll2
---->Shin
------>KneeRoll
-------->Foot
---------->Toe

odrin
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 2:43 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by odrin » Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:57 am

did you guys get a cease and desist order or something? how come all progress has stopped?

megakoresh
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:14 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by megakoresh » Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:58 pm

I would really like to ask the same.

archy
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:35 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by archy » Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:14 am

Hi all :)

First of all, nice script. I have a few questions:

1. What is exactly the "UNPACKED GAME DIR"? I have unpacked pack0.dzip with Gibbed's RED Tool to a folder. I set this folder as the "UNPACKED GAME DIR" but i get an error. The other folder is ok: I can see .w3ent files. What should i do?

2. Should i use the "chrrox bms script" for unpacking pack0.dzip. If yes, where can i dowload it?

3. Can i use the script and Blender to export the models? I don't like TW1 Triss model :P, so I would like to use the Witcher 2 Triss model in the Witcher 1 (if it's possible xD).

Thanks in advance!

Cheers!

qwXwp
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by qwXwp » Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:21 am

Hi,

Does anybody know where *.w2mesh files in Witcher 2 are? Aren't they coded in the *.w2ents?

Sorry for my noob question, but I can't find solution myself

Thanks

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by CMihai » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:54 pm

Depends, not all .w2mesh are into w2ent files, but if the w2ent contains w2mesh the importer will open the package and you can select those.

odrin
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 2:43 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: The Witcher 2 Models

Post by odrin » Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:46 pm

hi, are you still working on this? is it possible to import back to w2ent file?

Post Reply