Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Protocol X27
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by Protocol X27 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:13 am

I check occasionally, best to just ask and people can try to help once they check in. :)

I'll do my best to answer questions related to this.

koonbozorg
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:20 pm

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by koonbozorg » Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:36 pm

BUMP.


With all 3 Ninja Gaiden games going in-game with RPCS3 emulator and Ninja Gaiden Sigma being fully playable, I am hoping to see an increase and revival in mod activity.

Using Protocol's tools ( thank you Protocol ), I was able to extract from the AFS files and now I was wondering how might I go about doing a simple costume swap replacing the default or maybe sky blue retro outfit with the long sleeve & traditional ninja garb Ryu features in the beginning of the game?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Protocol X27
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by Protocol X27 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:58 pm

@koonbozorg

Wow, thanks for sharing that. I didn't even know about that emulator. Not a problem on the tools, I hope people find them helpful. Unfortunately, I don't know the other KT formats as well as DOA5, but part of the challenge will be keeping file sizes the same until someone knows how to pad or shift addresses around. My best guess would be to start with addresses of the images within any one of the containers. With that you could jump to the image location in hex, and then paste a modified image (if it's the same byte size) over the old one. After doing that it should be possible to past the modified container back into the afs. That's all in theory of course if the game does not run any other kind of byte checks. :-/ I don't have real specifics on that at the moment, because I forget this stuff real easily when I'm away from it for more than a few days.

So does that emulator run DLC as well? NG games are the only reason I'm hanging onto my PS3, I would love to consolidate if I know Sigma 2 DLC works correctly.

koonbozorg
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:20 pm

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by koonbozorg » Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:41 pm

All DLC works just fine in all Ninja Gaiden games via RPCS3. I've completed Sigma 1 on the emulator numerous times including all the missions and survival dlc with no issue.

Sigma 2 and Razor's Edge the same though they have minor kinks that need to get worked out before they become playable.

Still, the graphics render correctly and you can go about in game on both no problem.

Darko
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 120 times

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by Darko » Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:31 am

koonbozorg wrote:All DLC works just fine in all Ninja Gaiden games via RPCS3. I've completed Sigma 1 on the emulator numerous times including all the missions and survival dlc with no issue.

Sigma 2 and Razor's Edge the same though they have minor kinks that need to get worked out before they become playable.

Still, the graphics render correctly and you can go about in game on both no problem.
This forum is for ripping models and content from videogames for modding pupouses, It's not a forum dedicated to emulation.
Image

Protocol X27
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by Protocol X27 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:23 pm

Easy killer, he was just replying to my question which was indirectly related on account of the file format discussion he brought up. Yes, that's what it is for, but I was just curious since I didn't even know that emulation of the stuff was possible. Sometimes it is helpful to ask someone knowledgeable on a subject since Google can't actually answer everything otherwise this forum wouldn't exist either.

@koonbozorg, Thanks for answering. I did figure stuff out, but for some reason NG2 didn't work. I'll leave it at that or PM, so things get back on topic.

HentaiBorg
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 1:46 am

Re: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Model Format

Post by HentaiBorg » Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:32 am

From what I understand after reading and testing a bit with the tools only the model of the Vita version are extractable.

I am not familiar with the vita version but I assume the files are stored in the LNK file of the vita game just like DOA5.
I extracted NG2 Plus Vita version with the DOA5Archivarius tools and got a the GMD and TMGL files as expected.

But when I tried to use the NG2Mesh Helper on them, I got some kind of index error.
I think I messed up and used the wrong tool to open that LNK files.

Can someone tell me what I need to use correctly get the files inside that LNK file?

Post Reply