READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:35 pm

Well now I am trying to import the full map of the Marmota chase map but I have done all the steps and have placed all the right files together but it keeps getting another error saying:
grrrrr.PNG

EDIT: Nevermind I worked out what files were missing!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

SomaCruz10
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:21 pm

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by SomaCruz10 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:41 pm

So Blender importer for valkyria is not export texture? I've tried to export object to .fbx and improt to 3ds max, but it was transperent and no texture. I see there is a different tool to export texture, but they have different names, so it looks like I need to reassign them manually.

Can't blender export models with texture?

gomtuu
beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 7:21 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by gomtuu » Sun Sep 02, 2018 11:45 pm

SomaCruz10 wrote:Can't blender export models with texture?
Which model(s) are you trying to work with? Do they have textures in Blender, before you try to export them for Max?

I don't have 3DS Max, so I haven't tested exporting to it.

gomtuu
beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 7:21 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by gomtuu » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:01 pm

Is anyone planning to buy the Steam version of Valkyria Chronicles 4 at launch? I preordered the Switch version instead.

I'll probably get the PC version eventually, but I was hoping someone could try opening its models with import_valkyria before then, just to see if they're supported.

Thanks!

User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:27 am

gomtuu wrote:Is anyone planning to buy the Steam version of Valkyria Chronicles 4 at launch? I preordered the Switch version instead.

I'll probably get the PC version eventually, but I was hoping someone could try opening its models with import_valkyria before then, just to see if they're supported.

Thanks!
I have pre-ordered the Steam version of VC4, and I was planning on doing exactly what you asked to see if it works, hopefully they still use the same code :D

User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:58 pm

The reason I wanted to in the first place was to get the Hafen ;)

gomtuu
beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 7:21 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by gomtuu » Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:21 pm

Great! Let me know how it goes!

gomtuu
beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 7:21 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by gomtuu » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:08 pm

Here's version 0.7 of import_valkyria.

This adds support for the way the files are organized into folders in the Steam version of Valkyria Chronicles. Models that require other files, like vmap_set_*.mmf, should now open without any extra steps. I'm sorry I waited almost four years to fix this!

I also created an import_valkyria project on github.

Enjoy!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:29 pm

gomtuu wrote:Here's version 0.7 of import_valkyria.

This adds support for the way the files are organized into folders in the Steam version of Valkyria Chronicles. Models that require other files, like vmap_set_*.mmf, should now open without any extra steps. I'm sorry I waited almost four years to fix this!

I also created an import_valkyria project on github.

Enjoy!
I'm glad you are picking this back up, especially with the new release of VC4 ;)

User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:37 pm

Pre-loads are available on steam, this should let me access the files

User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:22 pm

Now the game is released! The moment of truth!

Everything was stored in a large asf CPK file which I had to extract out, they seem to use a new "HMO" file and there are still HMDs but I cannot access them, I do spy MXEs though...

Nothing seems to work though...

Very Cool Dude
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:35 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Very Cool Dude » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:27 pm

Zaczac121 wrote:Now the game is released! The moment of truth!

Everything was stored in a large asf CPK file which I had to extract out, they seem to use a new "HMO" file and there are still HMDs but I cannot access them, I do spy MXEs though...

Nothing seems to work though...
How did you manage to open the BASE.cpk? I'm trying to use quickBMS on it, but it usually crashes before it finishes exporting everything.

User avatar
Zaczac121
beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Zaczac121 » Wed Sep 26, 2018 12:19 am

Very Cool Dude wrote:
Zaczac121 wrote:Now the game is released! The moment of truth!

Everything was stored in a large asf CPK file which I had to extract out, they seem to use a new "HMO" file and there are still HMDs but I cannot access them, I do spy MXEs though...

Nothing seems to work though...
How did you manage to open the BASE.cpk? I'm trying to use quickBMS on it, but it usually crashes before it finishes exporting everything.
I couldn't but it did export a few files (18,200 files at that) that showed me their file type but none of them I could open, majority were not for the importer and only a handful came up on it, but they were all unopenable for the importer (HMDs, MXEs, the like) the extractor I used didn't get the model files such as mlx sorry about the sad news but until I can find a proper exporter (or viewer that lets me see all files and lets me choose which ones I want to export) I cannot do anymore

Very Cool Dude
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:35 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Very Cool Dude » Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:09 am

No bother, I can wait for an importer. It's the same engine as VC1, just with some upgrades and changes, so there should at least be a starting ground there for reverse engineering the formats.

Very Cool Dude
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:35 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Valkyria Chronicles (PS3, PC)

Post by Very Cool Dude » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:15 am

Managed to extract parts of Claude using Intel GPA, but they're unrigged OBJ, have no UV maps, and it didn't get everything. He's missing his hair and a few extra things on his jacket.
Ninjaripper doesn't seem to work, only spits out some squares.
Can post a zip with OBJ Claude if it helps for byte reference or anything.
I've got a small feeling that they ditched VC1's model format for a new one, but don't quote me on that. Like Zaczac said, it seems any current CPK decompressor doesn't get absolutely everything out.
claude.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply