Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Tosyk » Sat Aug 14, 2010 3:59 am

Requesting for Mafia 2 models converter.

I tnink we have same 3d engine as for Mafia 1, but heavenly modified.

I attached file with Vito in Coat. Can anyone convert it in dae/smd/fbx with bones and weight data?
Also i attached file with car called in game Houston.

3d ripped:
Image


p.s.: I believe than we need not just converting car to 3d app, but also converting models back to game.
Last edited by Tosyk on Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

huckleberrypie
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:51 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by huckleberrypie » Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:07 pm

Nice ripping, dude. Mind if you share us the model format and maxscript? Or did you just use the Mafia 1 importer?

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Tosyk » Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:48 pm

huckleberrypie wrote:Nice ripping, dude. Mind if you share us the model format and maxscript? Or did you just use the Mafia 1 importer?
No, I'm just use 3d ripper DX, and then use directX shaders in max to do that picture.

Anyway we need good converter for import/export models from/into game.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

jackpack
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 7:28 pm

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by jackpack » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:18 pm

dont know what i can do but im modding fallout3 & mafia models would fit into f3 like a dream :D.

i ask you this, if you pass me some mafia models, cars or whatnot, i can give you ANY model of ANYTHING you could want.

huckleberrypie
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:51 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by huckleberrypie » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:28 am

Can you rip some more cars from the game? Apparently, my Mafia II doesn't like being with 3D Ripper.

Nobby
veteran
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 12:35 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Nobby » Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:32 pm

You guys are TOTALLY missing the point of this. Tosyk isnt interested in DXripping stuff, he wants to extract the models from the game archives, as they are much cleaner models and any characters will be in there neutral poses not frozen in whatever position they were captured at. The only reason he used Dxripper was to show you what the models look like.

If your copy of dxripper cannot work in a game that someone else can get to work. then try running dx ripper in global mode. That gets around a lot of the problems regarding DXrippr crashing, or the game crashing.

Just wait a little for someone to figure out the extraction process, then you can have proper correctly positioned and correctly textured models.

Nobby
Yes! i know that's what i said... But its not what i meant. ;)

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Tosyk » Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:36 pm

2Nobby:
Thanks for pointing! :wink: I modifying my first post.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

huckleberrypie
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:51 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by huckleberrypie » Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:27 pm

Any new progress on the model formats?

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Tosyk » Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:47 pm

huckleberrypie wrote:Any new progress on the model formats?
Sorry, nothing new. The same happened with the first part. Very long unscrambled format.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

RoadTrain
advanced
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Pskov, Russia
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by RoadTrain » Sun Sep 05, 2010 4:38 am

Oleg (Zanoza Modeler author) wrote
mesh files seems to be very messy on a first glance. Of cause, vertices and index pools are cleary-readable, but the rest is a complete mess...
http://forum.zmodeler2.com/viewtopic.php?t=4778 I check this topic frequently for updates.
I think that the Mafia II filter for ZModeler will be the first working importer/exporter as it was with GTA IV.

Brejlounek
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:33 pm

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Brejlounek » Mon Sep 06, 2010 2:00 pm

Of cause, vertices and index pools are cleary-readable, but the rest is a complete mess...
What? Vertices are clearly readable? We know the data types and their offsets? O_o

And, there is something other than vertex and indices pool we need?

RoadTrain
advanced
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Pskov, Russia
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by RoadTrain » Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:37 pm

Brejlounek wrote:
Of cause, vertices and index pools are cleary-readable, but the rest is a complete mess...
What? Vertices are clearly readable? We know the data types and their offsets? O_o

And, there is something other than vertex and indices pool we need?
Yeah, UV mapping, collision etc. I think we should know everything about the data inside the model files if we want to create mods, not only to grab models from the game.

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Tosyk » Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:33 pm

Zmodeler 2 progress:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

RoadTrain
advanced
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Pskov, Russia
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by RoadTrain » Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:05 am

Tosyk wrote:Zmodeler 2 progress:
Where have you gotten this picture from?

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 936
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Mafia 2 models [pc]

Post by Tosyk » Sun Sep 12, 2010 3:53 am

RoadTrain wrote:
Tosyk wrote:Zmodeler 2 progress:
Where have you gotten this picture from?
From russian site.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

Post Reply