Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
Ernegien
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:27 am
Location: Illinois, USA
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 158 times
Contact:

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by Ernegien » Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:25 pm

milky007 wrote:great work Ernegien, tks for all that Time and work u spend in Forza Studio :wink:

one question about that bin.zip file in Track folder, seems u can extract they, but when i try to use Quickbms with Script that until now work with cars and Tracks, it won´t work with these new Forza Horizon Track Bin.zip Files, may u have a hint for me ?

i get the that error message
------------------------------
- SCRIPT's MESSAGE:
the file is encrypted, you must set ZIP_PASSWORD in the script

- SCRIPT's MESSAGE:
unsupported compression method 18176
The basic structure of the zip files is outlined very nicely in the link below. For some reason, the Horizon track bin.zip files do not contain local file headers before each chunk of compressed data. The good news, however, is that all of the information needed to extract the files is also located at the end of the file in a similar list of entries called the central directory.

The main difference here is that the local header offset in each central directory entry now points directly to each file's compressed data. For compatibility purposes, my application first checks the data at this offset for the expected local header signature (0x504B0304), and if found, processes things normally. Otherwise, it just jumps right into the data and begins decompression.

I would imagine it be just an extra few lines of code to patch the quickbms zip script to account for these missing local file headers. It's something I have no interest in doing, but if anyone needs any help, I'll be around...

https://users.cs.jmu.edu/buchhofp/foren ... pkzip.html

bigBear
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by bigBear » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:27 pm

bacarlitos wrote:Excellent news Mike!
WOW 14 million polygones, wondering how that could run smoothly in the console. :eek:
Interesting information
Consoles can run these amount of polies without problems by great levels of programming, great levels of optimizations
and special created textures.
Developers are way too lazy when it comes to the PC platform and that is a very very big ashame.

but the other reason why consoles can handle 14 million polies is because of exclusive.
Look at Uncharted: Last of Us an Gran Turismo 5 and now look at Forza4.
Developers who develope games for ONE platform will make them easy to get the maximum out of that platform.
They even can get beyond the limitations of the hardware. Fr an example, look at GTA V.

Ontopic.
Energien, may I ask why there is a support for the maps?
Do you think these big ass maps can be converted to games? lol
But damn, very good job!!! :O

I wonder if you can investigate the files when a Forza game is made for next gen: Xbox720 or some other fancy name lol

milky007
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:13 pm

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by milky007 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Ernegien wrote: The basic structure of the zip files is outlined very nicely in the link below. For some reason, the Horizon track bin.zip files do not contain local file headers before each chunk of compressed data. The good news, however, is that all of the information needed to extract the files is also located at the end of the file in a similar list of entries called the central directory.

The main difference here is that the local header offset in each central directory entry now points directly to each file's compressed data. For compatibility purposes, my application first checks the data at this offset for the expected local header signature (0x504B0304), and if found, processes things normally. Otherwise, it just jumps right into the data and begins decompression.

I would imagine it be just an extra few lines of code to patch the quickbms zip script to account for these missing local file headers. It's something I have no interest in doing, but if anyone needs any help, I'll be around...

https://users.cs.jmu.edu/buchhofp/foren ... pkzip.html
tks alot for your answer, i´m a realy noob in that ways, maybe u can take a look in that script i attached and point me in the right direction?..would be very kind

###########################
get zip_filesize asize
for offset = 0 < zip_filesize
#idstring "PK\x03\x04"
get PK_sign short # so it works also with modified ZIP files!
get sign short
if sign == 0x0403 # Local file header
get ver short
get flag short
get method short
get modtime short
get moddate short
get crc long
get comp_size long
get uncomp_size long
get name_len short
get extra_len short
getdstring name name_len
getdstring extra extra_len
savepos offset

if method == 0
Log name offset uncomp_size
else
if method == 8
ComType deflate
elif method == 1
ComType unshrink
elif method == 6
ComType explode
elif method == 9
ComType deflate64
elif method == 12
ComType bzip2
elif method == 14
ComType lzmaefs
elif method == 21
ComType XMemDecompress
elif method == 64
ComType darksector
elif method == 98
ComType ppmd
else
print "unsupported compression method %method%"
cleanexit
endif
CLog name offset comp_size uncomp_size
endif

math offset += comp_size
goto offset

elif sign == 0x0806 # Archive extra data record
get extra_len long
getdstring extra extra_len

elif sign == 0x0201 # Central directory structure
get ver_made short
get ver_need short
get flag short
get method short
get modtime short
get moddate short
get crc long
get comp_size long
get uncomp_size long
get name_len short
get extra_len short
get comm_len short
get disknum short
get int_attr short
get ext_attr long
get rel_offset long
getdstring name name_len
getdstring extra extra_len
getdstring comment comm_len

elif sign == 0x0505 # Digital Signature
get sign_len long
getdstring sign sign_len

elif sign == 0x0606 # Zip64 end of central directory record

get ver_made short
get ver_need short
get num_disk long
get num_disk2 long

print "Error: zip64 extensible data sector not implemented, contact me"
cleanexit

elif sign == 0x0706 # Zip64 end of central directory locator
get start_central long

get disks long

elif sign == 0x0605 # End of central directory record
get disk_num short
get disk_start short
get central_entries short
get central_entries short
get central_size long
get central_offset long
get comm_len short
getdstring comment comm_len

elif sign == 0x0807 # Data Descriptor
get crc long
get comp_size long
get uncomp_size long

elif sign == 0x3030 # disk spanning
# nothing?

else
print "Error: unknown ZIP signature %sign% at offset %offset%"
cleanexit
endif
savepos offset
next

################################

User avatar
Ernegien
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:27 am
Location: Illinois, USA
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 158 times
Contact:

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by Ernegien » Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:14 am

milky007 wrote:tks alot for your answer, i´m a realy noob in that ways, maybe u can take a look in that script i attached and point me in the right direction?..would be very kind
I can indeed confirm that's the script you'd need to modify :P However, after taking a look at the code, the changes required would be more than a few lines and I'd rather not waste my time with a scripting language relatively foreign to me when I've already developed my own solution. Forza Studio will support extraction of these zips once released in a week or so...

User avatar
Pillsbury
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:17 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by Pillsbury » Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:52 am

Awesome work Ernegien looking forward to the new Forza Studio! :D
I don't know why, but Forza Studio 4.0 stopped working for me :( . It was working fine this morning, but when I came home from work and booted up my PC, went to load Forza Studio and it says "Has stopped working" and does not give me an error report :( . I did not install anything new or change any files, not sure what happened, maybe a windows update? I don't know. :? But looking forward to your new release!! :D

PS: I have another computer that it still works on, just got to get up and sit in other chair.

Oh my PC specs. (The one that Forza Studio stopped working on)

Windows 7 64bit
16 gig of ram
Nvidia geforce 560Ti
Intel Core I7-2600k Processor

EDIT: I found out the problem, I need new glasses :D . Do not switch your Icons/text size to 125 DPI or above, because that cause forza studio to not work!

User avatar
Ernegien
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:27 am
Location: Illinois, USA
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 158 times
Contact:

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by Ernegien » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:55 am

I finally got around to merging my Horizon stuff into the main project and everything appears to be functioning as it should. I haven't done any real regression testing yet so backwards compatibility might suffer in some instances, but it should be good enough for now. Please let me know if you experience any problems...

Forza Studio 4.1 Beta (Horizon Support)

RacingFreak
veteran
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Bulgaria
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by RacingFreak » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:44 am

Thank you!

kana
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by kana » Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:14 am

salut , cette version ne presente aucun probleme
merci Ernegien pour le travail rapide et efficase


hi, this version presents no problem
Ernegien thank you for the quick and efficase :wink:

User avatar
KarinFutoGT
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: SPAIN
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by KarinFutoGT » Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:12 pm

Thank you for your big job. You are the best. :up:

Reventon09
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:15 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by Reventon09 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:55 pm

Hi guys,
When I go in the Hard Disk for extract the files from Forza Horizon I can found only the cars of the DLC like Aventador J etc....
Where can I found all cars of the game?

User avatar
KarinFutoGT
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: SPAIN
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by KarinFutoGT » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:47 am

Forza Studio 4.1 work perfect, thaank you.

My work.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Justdragos
advanced
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:19 am

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by Justdragos » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:29 pm

Man where did you get that garage ? I love it, could you upload it please ?

SandroX
beginner
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Ukraine
Has thanked: 29 times

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by SandroX » Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:40 pm

Justdragos wrote:Man where did you get that garage ? I love it, could you upload it please ?
It's from my rF1 2012 mod. You can get it on my web-site.

white00gt
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 3:04 am

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by white00gt » Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:59 pm

oustanding work thanks alot

viperzerofsx
veteran
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 5:07 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post by viperzerofsx » Sat Nov 10, 2012 4:23 am

so here is a question that I have been wondering about, when they were hyping this and before it GTV they said that it had over a million triangles for the highest detail car models, and before that for GTV they said it had 500000 for the photo mode models, does anyone know the real numbers? are these accurate?

Post Reply