Page 1 of 3

Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 1:03 pm
by PredatorCZ
Following plugin will let you import models from all titles under Apex Engine.

The Hunter: RBM
The Hunter - Primal: RBM
The Hunter - Call of Wild: ADF (modelc, meshc)
Just Cause 2: RBM
Just Cause 3: RBM, ADF (vmodc [StuntAreas])
Just Cause 4: ADF (vmodc [StuntAreas], modelc, meshc)
Mad Max: RBN, RBS
Generation Zero: ADF (modelc, meshc)
RAGE 2: ADF (modelc, meshc)

Enjoy.

Image


Master page.

I will also require from you any and every feedback you can think of.
For plugin, you can create issues in repo.
For everything else here, or on blog.
Thank you.

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:59 pm
by PredatorCZ
Texture conversion tool has been added.
https://github.com/PredatorCZ/ApexToolset/releases

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:50 pm
by lolwatt
(Just throwing this here in case you missed this title)
Did you try it with Generation Zero? It also runs on the Apex Engine. :-P

And by the way, awesome release. I'm downloading the games and I'll report any issues.
What do you suggest for extracting the various archives? For example, I cannot find anything for theHunter Primal.

Edit: in fact it's very hard to know what unpacks what. Can you point us to the right direction please?

Thanks!!

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 2:22 pm
by PredatorCZ
The Hunter ARC

Code: Select all

# The Hunter
# script for QuickBMS http://quickbms.aluigi.org

endian little
comtype zlib

get arcfile FULLBASENAME
string arcfile += ".arc"
open FDSE arcfile 1

get TAB_SIZE asize
get PAD_SIZE long   # 0x800

for
    savepos CURR_OFF
    if CURR_OFF >= TAB_SIZE
        cleanexit
    endif
    get NAME_CRC long
    get OFFSET long
    get SIZE long
	get dummy long
    goto OFFSET 1
	get SIGN short 1
	goto OFFSET 1
	get SIGN4 long 1
	
	string cstr P "%NAME_CRC%"
	
	if SIGN == 376
		string cstr + ".blz"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else if SIGN4 == 16778241
		string cstr + ".sc"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else if SIGN4 == 67110145	
		string cstr + ".sc2"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else if SIGN4 == 1094993440
		string cstr + ".adf"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else
		log "" OFFSET SIZE 1
	endif
	
next
The Hunter Primal ARC

Code: Select all

# The Hunter
# script for QuickBMS http://quickbms.aluigi.org

endian little
comtype zlib

get arcfile FULLBASENAME
string arcfile += ".arc"
open FDSE arcfile 1

get TAB_SIZE asize
get PAD_SIZE long   # 0x800

for
    savepos CURR_OFF
    if CURR_OFF >= TAB_SIZE
        cleanexit
    endif
    get NAME_CRC long
    get OFFSET long
    get SIZE long
    goto OFFSET 1
	get SIGN short 1
	goto OFFSET 1
	get SIGN4 long 1
	
	string cstr P "%NAME_CRC%"
	
	if SIGN == 376
		string cstr + ".blz"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else if SIGN4 == 16778241
		string cstr + ".sc"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else if SIGN4 == 67110145	
		string cstr + ".sc2"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else if SIGN4 == 1094993440
		string cstr + ".adf"
		log cstr OFFSET SIZE 1
	else
		log "" OFFSET SIZE 1
	endif
	
next
Not sure who's original author tho, I only modified primal version.

SARC archives from the hunter/primal can be extracted with Gibbed's Just Cause 2 tools.
I expected that Gibbed will release SARC extractor for JC4 and Generation Zero, however there is no such release, so I think I'll just release mine.

ARC archives from the hunter cotw, Generation Zero can be extracted with Gibbed's Just Cause 3 tools. You will need to download mine fork of Just Cause 3 repo, replace bin/project folder with mine and set correct project name in current.txt file, in order to extract correct file names.

You can build dev branch from ApexMax repo, it's fixed for some Generation Zero models to load. Some materials won't load.

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 1:41 pm
by lolwatt
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. Sorry I couldn't get back to you earlier.

With your bms script, theHunter and theHunter Primal works 100%.
I tested with several meshes and got everything to work fine, thank you.


@HunterCOTW, apparently you cannot import .MESHC, just .MODELC and these always result in 3ds Max crashing.

Is this how it's supposed to be? After extracting several ARCs I still have a hard time finding .MODELCs, MESHC is more common and their size makes more sense to be a 3D model... But I could be 100% wrong, I'm just guessing here! :)
Also there are files with .HRMESHC extension, but I don't think they matter much for now. hehe

And... the texture converter doesn't work for me either using COTW hmddsc files. It always say "Invalid File" on the console. Any clues?

@Generation Zero, I don't have the things I need to build here, but I'm re-downloading the game anyway. We'll see. :)

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 10:10 am
by PredatorCZ
meshc, modelc and hrmeshc must be together in order to load.
texture converter only accepts ddsc (or dds) files, again ddsc and hmddsc files mush be together in order to extract all data
modelc and meshc tends to be inside SARC archives.

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 4:44 pm
by lolwatt
PredatorCZ wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 10:10 am
meshc, modelc and hrmeshc must be together in order to load.
texture converter only accepts ddsc (or dds) files, again ddsc and hmddsc files mush be together in order to extract all data
modelc and meshc tends to be inside SARC archives.
I used the JustCause3.Unpack on all COTW .ARCs

I got a lot of files, but just 22 .modelc
In comparission, I got 170 .meshc
Having modelc + meshc in the same folder still crashes 3ds here

Similar thing happens to the textures..
Most of my hmddsc does not have a ddsc companions. :P


Should I pm you instead of spamming here? lol

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 11:48 pm
by PredatorCZ
lolwatt wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 4:44 pm
PredatorCZ wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 10:10 am
meshc, modelc and hrmeshc must be together in order to load.
texture converter only accepts ddsc (or dds) files, again ddsc and hmddsc files mush be together in order to extract all data
modelc and meshc tends to be inside SARC archives.
I used the JustCause3.Unpack on all COTW .ARCs

I got a lot of files, but just 22 .modelc
In comparission, I got 170 .meshc
Having modelc + meshc in the same folder still crashes 3ds here

Similar thing happens to the textures..
Most of my hmddsc does not have a ddsc companions. :P


Should I pm you instead of spamming here? lol
This here.
PredatorCZ wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 10:10 am
modelc and meshc tends to be inside SARC archives.
in addition most of a ddsc files are inside SARC too

Also you should open Maxscript listener (F11 key), plugin will print any error messages, unfortunetly I didn't secure anitcrash when loading incomplete modelc files. I expected, that most of people will know what files they'll need in order to successfully load stuff.
Apparently I was wrong.

I wall say it one last time. modelc, meshc and hrmeshc files must be in the same location in order to load.

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Fri May 10, 2019 12:19 pm
by PredatorCZ
ApexMax V1.4 has been released.

Added material creation for Generation Zero.
Added material creation for The Hunter COtW.
Fixed streamed file linkage for The Hunter COtW.
Fixed crash when loading incomplete stream files for modelc formats.
Fixed crash caused by leftover remap bones, that were not cleaned properly.
Maxscript listener will now show whenever plugin tries to print any information and from now on, user will be always informed properly. User no longer needs to open listener manually.

Image

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 10:38 am
by PredatorCZ
ApexMax V1.5 has been released.

Fixed not loading of RBM, RBN files.

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 3:48 am
by Ciprianno
How do i import with texture , please help?????????

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 4:18 am
by lolwatt
I'm returning to the same subject.. I don't think the .filelists are complete.
Are you sure the file dumper is dumping everything we need?

For Generation Zero for example, the characters/robots are complete and everything works.

But if I go to folder -> models\weapons\
All the weapons do not have .meshc and the textures do not have .ddsc, making them impossible to open.

Another instance of this happening, for example, is on \models\manmade\buildings\civilian
All those folders only have .hrmeshc, no .meshc


I could go on with this, but I think you got my point by now..

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 4:58 am
by Ciprianno
lolwatt wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 4:18 am
I'm returning to the same subject.. I don't think the .filelists are complete.
Are you sure the file dumper is dumping everything we need?

For Generation Zero for example, the characters/robots are complete and everything works.

But if I go to folder -> models\weapons\
All the weapons do not have .meshc and the textures do not have .ddsc, making them impossible to open.

Another instance of this happening, for example, is on \models\manmade\buildings\civilian
All those folders only have .hrmeshc, no .meshc


I could go on with this, but I think you got my point by now..
Use this for extract https://github.com/kk49/deca/releases an you will find all .hrmeshc, and .meshc Image

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 2:04 pm
by PredatorCZ
lolwatt wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 4:18 am
I'm returning to the same subject.. I don't think the .filelists are complete.
Are you sure the file dumper is dumping everything we need?

For Generation Zero for example, the characters/robots are complete and everything works.

But if I go to folder -> models\weapons\
All the weapons do not have .meshc and the textures do not have .ddsc, making them impossible to open.

Another instance of this happening, for example, is on \models\manmade\buildings\civilian
All those folders only have .hrmeshc, no .meshc


I could go on with this, but I think you got my point by now..
I have all of them.
Are you sure, you're using this? https://github.com/PredatorCZ/Gibbed.Ju ... Zero/files
Are you sure, you have Generation Zero set in current.txt?
Do you have this game installed via steam? It works only for them.
I could post .xml where you can set your own custom game path.
Are you sure, that you extracted ALL SARC files?

Re: Apex Engine 3ds max plugin

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 7:05 am
by ventuhr
Can anyone confirm if RAGE 2 file structures are that of apex engine instead of Id Tech? if it's true, I wonder if existing apex engine tools works with it.