Any graphics artist looking for something different? Why not join us and create 8-bit graphics in the C64 scene! Click here for more info.
Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:24 pm

I'm using a maxscript script to load models from Warhammer into 3DS Max, but none of the weapons I tried worked.... Any new one?

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 795 times

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by zaramot » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:34 pm

Making model-import scripts, PM

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:17 pm

zaramot wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:34 pm
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=21167
Thanks but I have absolutely no ideia how to use Noesis. Using 3DS because I found a tutorial for it

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 795 times

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by zaramot » Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:27 pm

You will figure out it very fast, 3ds max much harder than this tool! You need to copy .py plugin into program's folder and pretty much that's all! I could add support for weapons, but since there's a nice alternative already - why not to try it xD
Making model-import scripts, PM

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:34 pm

zaramot wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:27 pm
You will figure out it very fast, 3ds max much harder than this tool! You need to copy .py plugin into program's folder and pretty much that's all! I could add support for weapons, but since there's a nice alternative already - why not to try it xD
Actually got Noesis plugin working, but the tutorial I found that uses Noesis needs a first step I can't make work.
It uses NinjaRipper to import the information from Warhammer, but I always get an error when trying to use it that's why I learned how to use 3DS. I open NinjaReaper, open the game, go to battle, press the designated key and the game crashes...

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:03 pm

zaramot wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:27 pm
You will figure out it very fast, 3ds max much harder than this tool! You need to copy .py plugin into program's folder and pretty much that's all! I could add support for weapons, but since there's a nice alternative already - why not to try it xD
Is there a way to extract the info and export a workable file from this using Noesis?: tmb_sepulchral_stalkers_halberd_2h_01.rigid_model_v2

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 795 times

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by zaramot » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:05 pm

Sure lol, if you attach this file here - I'll try to help you with it.
Making model-import scripts, PM

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:10 pm

zaramot wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:05 pm
Sure lol, if you attach this file here - I'll try to help you with it.
I found the Export into FBX option, loaded the Anim and then skeleton file,m but it gives an error - WARNING: Weight contains an out of range bone index. Discarding model.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 795 times

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by zaramot » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:15 pm

Well, script - plugin is to trying read it as a rigged model, maybe it's not supported yet, this type of mesh. As I said, you could attach here samples, I can't do anything - I don't have the game.
Making model-import scripts, PM

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:29 pm

zaramot wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:15 pm
Well, script - plugin is to trying read it as a rigged model, maybe it's not supported yet, this type of mesh. As I said, you could attach here samples, I can't do anything - I don't have the game.
This are the files I need (extracted from the .pak). thanks for any help


https://wetransfer.com/downloads/26d3e2 ... 844/da18c8

jayn23
veteran
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by jayn23 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:44 pm

loaded the Anim and then skeleton file,m but it gives an error - WARNING: Weight contains an out of range bone index. Discarding model.
well my script has an order, first load the skeleton, then load the mesh and then animation :)

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:47 pm

jayn23 wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:44 pm
loaded the Anim and then skeleton file,m but it gives an error - WARNING: Weight contains an out of range bone index. Discarding model.
well my script has an order, first load the skeleton, then load the mesh and then animation :)
Sorry. Skeleton is here. I don't have anything more..

https://wetransfer.com/downloads/26484f ... 708/fc7033

tasanhalas
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:13 pm

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by tasanhalas » Mon Feb 10, 2020 2:07 pm

jayn23 wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:44 pm
loaded the Anim and then skeleton file,m but it gives an error - WARNING: Weight contains an out of range bone index. Discarding model.
well my script has an order, first load the skeleton, then load the mesh and then animation :)

Found a script for props and made it work. Thanks for the help!

ephla442
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:37 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by ephla442 » Sun Mar 15, 2020 8:50 am

Hi there, I'm new to modding Total War Warhammer 1 & 2, I'm unsure if it's been covered already so please forgive me if it has! I have 3dsmax 2013 (I bought that version as it was the only one I could use when I created mods for Fallout 4 and Skyrim) I was wondering if there was a script to import the rigid_models_v2 for Warhammer 1 (I tried using this script to import Minotaurs from the beastmen faction but it wasn't able to), I want to convert the RMV2's into OBJ format so I can 3d paint my retextures using Mudbox, then further texture (mainly painting new normals) in Quixel. Many thanks for any help or advice you are able to give with this question!

jayn23
veteran
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Total War: Warhammer II import MaxScript (*.rigid_model_v2)

Post by jayn23 » Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:07 pm

I was wondering if there was a script to import the rigid_models_v2 for Warhammer 1 (I tried using this script to import Minotaurs from the beastmen faction but it wasn't able to), I want to convert the RMV2's into OBJ format so I can 3d paint my retextures using Mudbox, then further texture (mainly painting new normals) in Quixel. Many thanks for any help or advice you are able to give with this question!
Hi, zaramot script for 3ds max should work for what you are trying, post file sample so someone can take a look.

also you can check my noesis script at viewtopic.php?f=16&t=21167&start=30 if this dosent work for some reason

Post Reply