READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
afxwinter
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:29 am

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by afxwinter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:55 am

I can't seem to get the textures to load automatically in Blender or 3DS Max.
I'm importing the island Drake SMD in blender.
All DDS textures with the name Drake have been converted to TGA and are in the same folder as the SMD file.
Whenever imported into Blender/3DS there is no texture associated with the model.
Any advice?

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by Tosyk » Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:27 am

afxwinter wrote:I can't seem to get the textures to load automatically in Blender or 3DS Max.
I'm importing the island Drake SMD in blender.
All DDS textures with the name Drake have been converted to TGA and are in the same folder as the SMD file.
Whenever imported into Blender/3DS there is no texture associated with the model.
Any advice?
since the material/shader was never parsed you can't auto apply textures.
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

afxwinter
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:29 am

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by afxwinter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:09 pm

Tosyk wrote:
afxwinter wrote:I can't seem to get the textures to load automatically in Blender or 3DS Max.
I'm importing the island Drake SMD in blender.
All DDS textures with the name Drake have been converted to TGA and are in the same folder as the SMD file.
Whenever imported into Blender/3DS there is no texture associated with the model.
Any advice?
since the material/shader was never parsed you can't auto apply textures.
Thanks for the reply! At least I know to stop messing with trying to get that to work.
I'm having a hell of a time finding the trans-masks for the hair cards for Drake and the other main characters. Any idea which archive those are located in? I'm going through each one by one right now.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1881
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 1410 times

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by daemon1 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:50 pm

afxwinter wrote:I can't seem to get the textures to load automatically in Blender or 3DS Max.
I'm importing the island Drake SMD in blender.
All DDS textures with the name Drake have been converted to TGA and are in the same folder as the SMD file.
Whenever imported into Blender/3DS there is no texture associated with the model.
Any advice?
textures auto-applied only for levels

User avatar
Ezekiel
beginner
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 37 times

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by Ezekiel » Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:55 pm

Currently Listening Uncharted Full Album OST on You Tube,while watching my PSARC Files extracted

What a great time to be alive

daemon1 = Legend

Theking13
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by Theking13 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:27 pm

So I've managed to extract models out of the game thanks to you're tools, but when I import the models into Blender there are no vertex groups so the rigging doesn't work. I'm not sure if I've messed up a step or something.
I can successfully import a using SMD with Blender, but I cannot import the ASCII files with Blender.

Heres a screenshot of the files I got from this model.

Image

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1881
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 1410 times

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:20 pm

Theking13 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:27 pm
when I import the models into Blender there are no vertex groups so the rigging doesn't work
as its said in title post:
Skeletons are usually in separate packages. You need to copy-paste skeleton to the model file as it was done before in my Uncharted 1-2-3 tools.
unfortunately ascii plugin erases all weights if skeleton isnt present. So you have to add it to model before loading

Theking13
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by Theking13 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:04 am

Using SMD importer, the skeleton and weights for the model are not present. Which is the issue, and if I import the skeleton separately there are bones in the imported skeleton. So I'm getting the mesh and uv data but no rigging data at all. I can upload files if it's an issue on my end.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1881
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 1410 times

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by daemon1 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:13 am

Theking13 wrote:
Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:04 am
Using SMD importer, the skeleton and weights for the model are not present.
this is impossible
check again
SMD must have weights
ASCII also has them, but to load them, manually append the skeleton before loading the file
i dont have time to do it for you
i hope someone else can explain details, or you can find it yourself, it was explained somewhere here

meganmi
beginner
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by meganmi » Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:05 pm

Theking13 wrote:
Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:04 am
Using SMD importer, the skeleton and weights for the model are not present. Which is the issue, and if I import the skeleton separately there are bones in the imported skeleton. So I'm getting the mesh and uv data but no rigging data at all. I can upload files if it's an issue on my end.
With Notepad++, open the .smd that has the skeleton and copy-paste everything into the model .smd
This has been explained in the first post.

Theking13
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Uncharted 4 (PS4)

Post by Theking13 » Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:23 pm

Well I fixed the armature issue already, but it's pointless because the bones in the rig don't move any of the model. None of the models have any bone weights assigned to them. Even opening the files in Noesis and exporting to FBX still has no bone weights when I open them in Blender. So I think the generated smd files have no weights at all but I'm not sure.

Post Reply