Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Frostbite model tools (Battlefield, Battlefront and others)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
mono24
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:27 am
Has thanked: 198 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by mono24 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:07 am

ClubOn wrote:Just install my pre-order copy and try to modified the Deamon dump script for the beta
But it fail. If you have any suggestion...
Uninstall your Python software and make sure you do a clean install of it using Python 2.7.3 32-bit
Then check if you have the EXACT location where the game is located, just copy/paste from the window explorer page where the exe is.
double check for the cas.cat location, but from the looks of it you need to do a clean install for Python.

cheers

ClubOn
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by ClubOn » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:28 pm

mono24 wrote:
ClubOn wrote:Just install my pre-order copy and try to modified the Deamon dump script for the beta
But it fail. If you have any suggestion...
Uninstall your Python software and make sure you do a clean install of it using Python 2.7.3 32-bit
Then check if you have the EXACT location where the game is located, just copy/paste from the window explorer page where the exe is.
double check for the cas.cat location, but from the looks of it you need to do a clean install for Python.

cheers
Effectively with Python 32bit it launch but still doesnt extract... I've got the "Chunk file not found" all the time... I will wait Deamon release a new script cause I'm really not an expert in this :?

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2099
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1647 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:32 pm

I've just made a ZSTD wrapper for SWBF2 scrtipt to work with full game. As soon as someone who has the game (and not only few files like I do) will test it, it will be published here.

After that, everyone will be able to use my model/texture/facefixing tools as before.

To fix faces which were not in beta, I need their files.

User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:01 pm

If you don't have someone to test it already, i have the full game and could do it. Either way, can't wait for this!

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2099
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1647 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:23 pm

ok this is the current state of testing

32-bit python 2.7.3 as usual
and you should change directories as usual

probably will dump most, if not all files
Last edited by daemon1 on Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:27 am, edited 4 times in total.

Crageo
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:28 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by Crageo » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:26 pm

I can't get anything working, i just get this
"abilities.toc
Error executing fb_zstd.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\STAR WARS Battlefront II\Data\Win32\installation\initialexperience\cas_02.cas 509851537 40 E:\swbf2full_dump/bundles/res/fx/cinematics/textures/flares/t_cin_flare2x4_02_d f881310af9f6953b 02000000886f08960000000000000000.AtlasTexture"

https://gyazo.com/cfda25e2e9d5dce77db16f81502710a7

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2099
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1647 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:37 pm

maybe its access rights. If not, check folder names.
Last edited by daemon1 on Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:47 pm

I get the same error, even with the new version. I turned anti virus and anything else that could prevent the exe from running off, and also set it to be run as admin. Folder names are these: https://cdn.pbrd.co/images/GU7uYtA.png
Only added one cat directory for now but i doubt that's the problem.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2099
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1647 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:55 pm

I dont think you can set it to run as admin when its called from python. Anyway i still think its about access rights. Thy putting a few files into your normal drive (not origin folder) and run it there.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2099
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1647 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:15 pm

also python sometimes messing up folder names with some special characters. Anyway, one user was able to run it already. So it must be just some naming/access problem. Usual for python scripts.

User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:16 pm

Yeah really seemed to be about being in origin folder. Put it elsewhere and it works now. Thanks a lot!

episoder
veteran
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:05 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by episoder » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:44 am

yeh. a full dump? i'm not interested. frosty editor and mod should be upgraded to allow selective extraction and maybe mod it to make this a good game. you know it's flawed.

and... somebody shoot the moderators or garry himself on facepunch. this numb box is terrible. i don't get why i'm blocked from the modelling forum behind a stupid 'we only do gmail accounts' (which i can't register with a new mobile crap). i'd still like responding to casual support question that i know the answers for, but... i can't.

it all sux. maybe i should just leave.

mono24
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:27 am
Has thanked: 198 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by mono24 » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:34 am

daemon1 wrote:maybe its access rights. Try this version. If not, check folder names.
Tried first version on the updated full game script as you mentioned, for NFS Payback, but I had to delete the .exe and the .dll you made for the SWBF2 game (otherwise the .exe you made would crash instantly, since its made for SWBF obviously) and I used the LZ77.dll and also to enable it in the script, after more than 2h of extraction an error popped out but I could not save it to post it here as python crashed.

There is a newly patched update for the NFSP game and wanted to try the script but no real success any possibility to make a version compatible please?
What files you need so I can upload for testing?

btw the script that extracts but shows error mid way, looks like this with the following modified lines by me:

Code: Select all

bf4Directory    =r"R:\Origin\games\Need for Speed Payback" 
targetDirectory = r"E:\3D Assets Game Geometry\NFSP_dump"
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
tocRoot  = r"patch\win32" #patched and xpack files FIRST
tocRoot = r"data\win32"   #unpatched vanilla files SECOND
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
catPath        = r"Data\Win32\configurations\streaminginstallpackage\cas.cat" 
updateCatPath  = r"Patch\Win32\configurations\streaminginstallpackage\cas.cat"

catPath2       = r"Data\Win32\configurations\superbundleinstallpackage\cas.cat"
updateCatPath2 = r"Patch\Win32\configurations\superbundleinstallpackage\cas.cat"
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LZ77 = cdll.LoadLibrary("LZ77")
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
try: readCat(cat, catPath2)
except: print "Patched cat not found."

if "tocRoot" in locals():  dumpRoot(tocRoot)
if "tocRoot2" in locals(): dumpRoot(tocRoot2)
If I still try the first script made for SWBF2 beta regardless of modification for NFSP it will not read and extract the patched cas/cat from update folder, keeps saying "Patched cat not found."

JohnMadden
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:45 am

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by JohnMadden » Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:55 am

Getting the Chunk not found problem. All directories are set to the correct places.

User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI » Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:23 am

I let it extract until it was done and it resulted in about 15gb extracted files out of ~50 that the game is. Most characters didn't extract (their folders are there but empty). The files that did extract work fine though so i'm not sure what goes wrong.
I get "Chunk not found" on a lot of entries too, while the folders are set properly.

If it helps i could provide more game files.

Post Reply