Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Frostbite model tools (Battlefield, Battlefront and others)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2097
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1643 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:16 pm

Python script to convert audio
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by daemon1 on Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2097
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1643 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:55 pm

Face-fixing SMDs for all 32 faces from SWBF2. I didn't check them all, but must be correct.

One strange thing: I checked all of the face animation assets, and they ALL present in VURs, except one! And this one also was in alpha, but no model corresponds to it. Must be some face they didn't put in the game yet.

Image
Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

savinpvtmike
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:07 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by savinpvtmike » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:49 pm

what plugin would i use to port the models into say max or something
plus how do i get textures?

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2097
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1643 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:45 pm

Audio script in the post above updated. Now it must get all sounds, including 9 ones which used more than 128 chunks.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2097
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1643 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:20 pm

Texture Batch converter
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

episoder
veteran
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:05 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by episoder » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:41 pm

daemon1 wrote:Texture Batch converter
bug: it saves duplicates when the 'remove trailing zeroes' is checked. and i'd like to have a choice to output to another folder. build a copy of the folder tree, rather then converting into the extract folder.

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2097
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1643 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:52 pm

episoder wrote:
daemon1 wrote:Texture Batch converter
bug: it saves duplicates when the 'remove trailing zeroes' is checked. and i'd like to have a choice to output to another folder. build a copy of the folder tree, rather then converting into the extract folder.
Its not my tool, I just corrected it to support SWBF. I'm not going to improve it ;)

episoder
veteran
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:05 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by episoder » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:24 pm

okay. thx anyway. :D

savinpvtmike
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:07 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by savinpvtmike » Fri Oct 13, 2017 2:05 am

ok every thing worked out great but the final issue is how do i open the mesh files to 3ds max

episoder
veteran
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:05 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by episoder » Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:40 am

savinpvtmike wrote:ok every thing worked out great but the final issue is how do i open the mesh files to 3ds max
use an smd importer. max got wallworm. blender has sourcetools.

yeh. just refering to your facepunch post. i can't answer there anymore. they got a dumb mod and a stupid cat. /blah

savinpvtmike
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:07 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by savinpvtmike » Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:51 am

episoder wrote:
savinpvtmike wrote:ok every thing worked out great but the final issue is how do i open the mesh files to 3ds max
use an smd importer. max got wallworm. blender has sourcetools.

yeh. just refering to your facepunch post. i can't answer there anymore. they got a dumb mod and a stupid cat. /blah
i usually cant get answers there these days for anything
plus you are talking about the mesh files right or the smd files to fix faces
cus im trying to port some vehicles and other things
these type of files
Image

ik it used to have a mesh file and a chunks file but that dosnt work anymore

episoder
veteran
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:05 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by episoder » Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:19 am

have you read the 1st post howto use the tools? you gotta search the walrus_humanmale file, need the meshset files and find the chunk files. then put them all in the folder with the mesh tool. then use command prompt or a batch file with the command.

Fb_BF1_mesh <mesh> <chunk>

where mesh and chunk obviously gotta be replaced with the proper meshset and chunk file names.

to find the chunks you may have to use a hexeditor and read in the meshset files. there's the sha1 or whatever hash name in it. then copy those to the tool folder. then execute the mesh tool. that should give a sorta working smd.

if you wanna avoid all of this you gotta ask rancor022 on facepunch to give you the frosty version that has working export. nobody is allowed to share it, but he does it. i won't. still all good.

JohnMadden
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:45 am

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by JohnMadden » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:53 am

Did I do something wrong with the converter? Keep getting this at the end:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "Q:\Games\Origin\STAR WARS Battlefront II Multiplayer Beta\fb3decoder.py", line 576, in <module>
main()
File "Q:\Games\Origin\STAR WARS Battlefront II Multiplayer Beta\fb3decoder.py", line 566, in main
dbx=Dbx(f,relPath)
File "Q:\Games\Origin\STAR WARS Battlefront II Multiplayer Beta\fb3decoder.py", line 343, in __init__
inst=self.readComplex(instanceRepeater.complexInde x,f,True)
File "Q:\Games\Origin\STAR WARS Battlefront II Multiplayer Beta\fb3decoder.py", line 369, in readComplex
cmplx.fields.append(self.readField(fieldIndex,f))
File "Q:\Games\Origin\STAR WARS Battlefront II Multiplayer Beta\fb3decoder.py", line 422, in readField
(typ,length)=numDict[fieldDesc.type]
KeyError: 16685

savinpvtmike
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:07 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by savinpvtmike » Fri Oct 13, 2017 12:20 pm

ok so if i would open the mesh set file in hex editor what is the general area where i can find the correct chunk file name

daemon1
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2097
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 1643 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 » Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:11 pm

savinpvtmike wrote:ok so if i would open the mesh set file in hex editor what is the general area where i can find the correct chunk file name
I will make a new version soon, that will automatically get the right chunk from "chunks" folder

Post Reply