Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Lost Planet 2 textures

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:07 am

First post here, sorry if wrong section.
Now, I am currently trying to extract LP2 models, but I cannot find a way to convert the textures. Does anyone here know how to convert the LP2 tex format?

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 3181
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 869 times
Been thanked: 1747 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by shakotay2 » Wed Oct 14, 2015 12:55 pm

Welcome to the forum!
Use its search function - in this thread
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11425&p=94062&hili ... tex#p94062
read the post from luxox18 as of Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:38 pm for example.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:36 pm

Yes, I saw that thread. That is why I posted here. I have no idea how to actually do it.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 812 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by zaramot » Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:46 am

You can try Sectus's arc-tool, maybe it will convert textures into .dds on the fly. If not, post here some .tex files, I can make Noesis plugin for them.
Making model-import scripts, PM

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Thu Oct 15, 2015 11:18 am

Thanks for the suggestion on the arc-tool, but it does not seem to be working.
Heres one of the textures:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/jq3jp ... _BM-04.tex

Sorry for the external link, but the board would not let me post the original file.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 812 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by zaramot » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:10 pm

Okay, I have beta plugin for Noesis now, but you should send me more textures (normal maps, specular) at least 10-20, one isn't enough. In Capcom games they usually *_bm,*_nm,*_sm you will figure them out by name

EDIT: Can anyone send me few .tex files as a sample? I don't want to download entire game lol Then, I'll attach Noesis plugin for textures here
Making model-import scripts, PM

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:28 pm

Sorry, I was busy, and could not answer in the last few days.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/rpc5n ... k/vscb.rar

Here. Hopefully, this is enough. If you need more, just say.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 812 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by zaramot » Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:42 pm

Here's plugin, all textures you provided loaded fine. Test it on other textures you have and those which wouldn't work send to me!

Image
Last edited by zaramot on Sat Oct 24, 2015 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Making model-import scripts, PM

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Tue Oct 20, 2015 7:13 pm

Thank you for this, I will test it now. Should any problem arise, I will let you know, although, hopefully no major complications will occur.

There does not seem to be any major problems, found this so far:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/f5r8z ... u/wp01.rar

There are others but hopefully they can be solved via proxy.

Now all we need is for noesis to properly extract the .MOD files too, but I will not ask you to do this, you already have done a lot!

TehDave
advanced
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:24 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by TehDave » Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:53 am

He actually wrote a script for that, still haven't tried it myself so I can't say how well it works. I'll have to take a look at it sometime.

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Wed Oct 21, 2015 10:18 am

Yes, I am currently using the maxscript, however there are some issues: All models are about the same size, meaning every one of them needs individual resizing with unique values. And all models are exported textureless. This is all probably the game engine's fault though.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 812 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by zaramot » Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:35 am

Here's an update

EDIT: Small fix, thanks to Portugalotaku for files.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by zaramot on Sat Oct 24, 2015 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Making model-import scripts, PM

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:43 am

Hi there,
http://www.mediafire.com/download/c63j6 ... omc017.rar
This ones seem to give an error.

Portugalotaku
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by Portugalotaku » Sat Oct 24, 2015 7:02 pm

I have been using the MAXscript to check out the LP2 models, but I have ran into several models that fail to open. Many other models are improperly loaded, and large amounts of those models are reduced into square rubbish in the origin point. Some of the sections I have trying to load failed completely.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 812 times

Re: Lost Planet 2 textures

Post by zaramot » Sat Oct 24, 2015 7:56 pm

zaramot wrote: P.S. Report bugs, I tested a lot of models, but because of lack of HDD space, deleted the game. It's possible, that some models could cause troubles - but if you report them, I'll fix script ASAP.
As I said here I didn't test this game well, but since there was no other reports I was sure it's fine. Are you using PC version?
Making model-import scripts, PM

Post Reply