Any graphics artist looking for something different? Why not join us and create 8-bit graphics in the C64 scene! Click here for more info.
Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Post Reply
KorudoDaio
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:03 am

DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by KorudoDaio » Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:12 am

Hi, I'm new here.

I'm looking for a converter to dae or OBJ for DBZ Budokai (first one) for the .AMO/.AMT files in DATA_US.AFS. I've successfully extracted the raw files, but I'm stuck there. There's a few models I want for my Brawl mod usage, mainly King Cold's cutscene model before he gets killed by Trunks.

Anyone willing to point me in the right direction? There are about 40 someodd pages of threads. D:

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 3088
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 813 times
Been thanked: 1639 times

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by shakotay2 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:01 am

which platform?
For .amo I remember a Noesis python script by finale00, fmt_BakemonogatariPSP_amo.py.

He wrote a quickbms script, PSP .amo splitter, here:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=9546&p=77870&hilit=budokai#p77870

In the post from FurryFan, as of Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:24 am

for 'PS2' ext="AMG" there's
"a quick script, that will convert the AMG files, into .3ds files"
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

KorudoDaio
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:03 am

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by KorudoDaio » Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:09 pm

For PS2.

And I tried that script with Noesis. Gives me errors and won't export.

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 3088
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 813 times
Been thanked: 1639 times

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by shakotay2 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:05 pm

if you uploaded the concerning .amo file I could check that
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

KorudoDaio
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:03 am

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by KorudoDaio » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:09 pm

shakotay2 wrote:if you uploaded the concerning .amo file I could check that
All righty, let's see here. I THINK this is the one I want, judging by the file name.

EDIT. Won't allow me to post it here, I'll get mediafire.

https://www.mediafire.com/?o1411zbnoyprd6x

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 3088
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 813 times
Been thanked: 1639 times

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by shakotay2 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:09 pm

thx for the sample! Here's some result:
AMG23ds.JPG
It's the SubAMGs 1, 7 and 13 only and as you can see they're a little bit spoiled, especially no 7.

I used finale00's amo splitter script and the ones from FurryFan (where I had to add
If Type == 445 ;
set VertexType long 48 ;
to his subAMG2_3ds script)

(While mesh000.amg was ok the splitter created an empty mesh001.amg so it's recommended to use FurryFan's amo2amg bms script instead.)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

User avatar
killercracker
advanced
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:31 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by killercracker » Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:12 am

Try this, its incomplete though. Only played with if for a bit, too busy to finish.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/j6069 ... udokai3.ms

KorudoDaio
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:03 am

Re: DBZ Budokai .amo/amt?

Post by KorudoDaio » Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:21 am

Wow, guys! Progress.

But I only wonder why it won't work for me. D: And why the heck he looks like that.

EDIT: I get PARTS of his model with the MaxScript.

Image

Post Reply