ArtStation files

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
M0fD
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:05 pm
Location: Les Gobelins
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by M0fD » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:04 pm

donofdestroy wrote: Pls if u ripped him give me the link of him
Ow sh*t, I already deleted it.
1. Ninja Ripper doesn't work with Sketchfab

2. Don't distribute the extraction method

3. Three models only

4. No buyable models


ImageImage

jackalmoi
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: ArtStation files

Post by jackalmoi » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:12 am

in artstation if not ahy video can not or if I want to get a model but only has photos
if ahy and some tutorial to follow as in sketchfab I would appreciate it

User avatar
M0fD
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:05 pm
Location: Les Gobelins
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by M0fD » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:23 am

jackalmoi wrote:in artstation if not ahy video can not or if I want to get a model but only has photos
if ahy and some tutorial to follow as in sketchfab I would appreciate it
Didn't understand a lot but for models who only had photos, you had to make it yourself lol, no magic tool here. Even whith a video...
For the tutorials, check in the right thread.
1. Ninja Ripper doesn't work with Sketchfab

2. Don't distribute the extraction method

3. Three models only

4. No buyable models


ImageImage

jackalmoi
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: ArtStation .mview files

Post by jackalmoi » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:32 pm

TaylorMouse wrote:Alright here is how it works, it is NOT automated!!

* Getting the file and extracting its content:
1. Donwload the file in attachment
2. Open the url with the model from ArtStation, do NOT press the play button yet!
3. In Chrome, bring up the Developer tools ( F12)
4. In the dev tools select Network, make sure it is empty ( if not click the next to the record button )
5. Press the Play button to load up the 3D model
6. Lots of stuff will pop up in the dev tool, mostly png files and some Unique identifiers that look like textures, ignore all but the <somefilename>.mview
- it is possible it has a ?<someNumber> behind it, but you can ignore that.
7. double click that file, wait a few seconds, and the file will download.
8. drop the file onto the mviewUnpack.exe, if this does not work, open a command prompt and enter it manually, example: mviewUnpack.exe <filename>.mview
9. this will unpack all the textures and files you need.

* getting the file in max
(since I did all this in the nick of time, I have no automated process for this, but this is how it works)
1. open the json file in a text editor ( if you open this in Visual Studio you can press Control K +D to auto format it )
2. Look for "Meshes"
3. Note the Name, IndexCount, vertexCount and the name of the dat file.

ex:

Code: Select all

"meshes": [
    {
      "name": "Head_L_Head_L_retop",
      "indexCount": 1536,
      "indexTypeSize": 2,
      "wireCount": 2584,
      "vertexCount": 414,
      "cullBackFaces": 1,
      "castShadows": 1,
      "minBound": [ -0.420129, 7.77742, -0.799188 ],
      "maxBound": [ 0.420129, 9.60209, 0.448399 ],
      "subMeshes": [
        {
          "material": "Head",
          "firstIndex": 0,
          "indexCount": 1536,
          "firstWireIndex": 0,
          "wireIndexCount": 2584
        }
      ],
      "file": "mesh0.dat"
    },
4. Open MAX ( any version will do, tested from 2011 )
5. Copy the max script from my previous post into the max Script Editor
6. Change the name of the mesh, indexcount, vertexcount and the name of the dat file
7. Run ( Control + E )
8. do this for all the other meshes in the jSon file
9. DONE

If anyone wants to make this automated, well the second part that is, be my guest :p


Note:
[*] the json file also contains a ref to the material ( in the example it is called "Head" )
[*] search the json file for this material name to know what material is applied to that specific mesh


C&C are welcome

T.
what happens if the model does not have a mview file since a and many models that only have a photo and not a video and some way to be able to rip them

revanr
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: ArtStation files

Post by revanr » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:50 pm

M0fD wrote:
jackalmoi wrote:in artstation if not ahy video can not or if I want to get a model but only has photos
if ahy and some tutorial to follow as in sketchfab I would appreciate it
Didn't understand a lot but for models who only had photos, you had to make it yourself lol, no magic tool here. Even whith a video...
For the tutorials, check in the right thread.
hello M0fD,can you take a look at this model please?
No matter what ripping method I use,the UV/textures are alway messed up.
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/Nnyad

jackalmoi
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: ArtStation files

Post by jackalmoi » Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:41 pm

how textures are added to models to export them in obj
Output extension has set output file type to:
.obj - WaveFront OBJ
Texture name conflict, renaming textures.
that comes to me in noesis when exporting the file

User avatar
M0fD
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:05 pm
Location: Les Gobelins
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by M0fD » Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:46 pm

No problem here. Used Noesis.
1. Ninja Ripper doesn't work with Sketchfab

2. Don't distribute the extraction method

3. Three models only

4. No buyable models


ImageImage

jackalmoi
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: ArtStation files

Post by jackalmoi » Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:07 pm

is the one that comes in the blender pack of this tutorial the figures are exported to me in low poly

rasechdz2
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:14 pm

Re: ArtStation files

Post by rasechdz2 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:46 pm

Does anyone know why when I view the .mview file in noesis, do I get it like that ???
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
M0fD
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:05 pm
Location: Les Gobelins
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by M0fD » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:23 pm

rasechdz2 wrote:Does anyone know why when I view the .mview file in noesis, do I get it like that ???
Well if you give us no link we can't help.
1. Ninja Ripper doesn't work with Sketchfab

2. Don't distribute the extraction method

3. Three models only

4. No buyable models


ImageImage

User avatar
jacky14
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: ArtStation files

Post by jacky14 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:26 pm

Hey, first of all thanks for all the work you have put into helping others, really sick :D

I been trying some stuff without any luck, does someone know how to use the normals(jpg) to convert them into the model itself in order to have a proper model for 3d printing?
Thanks tho :]
Last edited by jacky14 on Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

medwed
advanced
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:45 am
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by medwed » Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:47 pm

M0fD wrote:
rasechdz2 wrote:Does anyone know why when I view the .mview file in noesis, do I get it like that ???
Well if you give us no link we can't help.
The same problem.I have about ten models with this problem ...Link to one model https://www.artstation.com/embed/138886 ... nmousewhee

User avatar
M0fD
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:05 pm
Location: Les Gobelins
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by M0fD » Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:09 pm

jacky14 wrote:Hey, first of all thanks for all the work you have put into helping others, really sick :D

I been trying some stuff without any luck, does someone know how to use the normals(jpg) to convert them into the model itself in order to have a proper model for 3d printing?
Thanks tho :]
In 3Ds Max (not tested) :
1. Select your object.
2. In the Modifier tab - Add a Turbosmooth modifier to the model and increase the iterations to the desired amount.
3. In the Modifier tab - Add a Displace modifier
4. In the Displace Parameters rollout select Bitmap: None.
5. Choose your texture (normal map) - click ok.
Final step -
6. In the Displace modifier - Adjust the Parameters rollout / Displacement: Strength amount till you have the desired look.
medwed wrote:
M0fD wrote:
rasechdz2 wrote:Does anyone know why when I view the .mview file in noesis, do I get it like that ???
Well if you give us no link we can't help.
The same problem.I have about ten models with this problem ...Link to one model https://www.artstation.com/embed/138886 ... nmousewhee
Too much polygons but I can manage to extract it.
Last edited by M0fD on Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
1. Ninja Ripper doesn't work with Sketchfab

2. Don't distribute the extraction method

3. Three models only

4. No buyable models


ImageImage

deschamps12
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: ArtStation files

Post by deschamps12 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:51 pm

Is it possible to rip a model with a rig or to T-pose it if the original comes with a rig?

User avatar
TaylorMouse
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 125 times

Re: ArtStation files

Post by TaylorMouse » Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:31 am

The new version of the Marmoset viewer supports animations, if you download the .mview file and extract it with my tool it only exports the t-pose of the model not the animation.

T.

Post Reply