how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:53 pm

hello all :D

I found one of the posts in the forum.
- viewtopic.php?f=16&t=7230

However, the post is too old....
i can't get the file and I can not get the information want.

I found one a way.
How is this.
(ex game : sudden attack)
ak47.ltb to ak47.lta - > lta open into modeledit -> Remove all attributes(Animations, Socket, Pieces .... any) - > compile to ltb -> ltb to x -> import 3ds max

but this method is very LowPolygon and the UV does not apply.

i need your help :cry:

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:20 pm

did you have a closer look at the *.ltb?

Here's bruno.ltb in hex2obj:
bruno_ltb_.JPG
Should not be too hard to make an ltb maxscript importer with some basic ms knowledge.
But bruno.ltb is from 2006.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:49 am

shakotay2 wrote:did you have a closer look at the *.ltb?

Here's bruno.ltb in hex2obj:
bruno_ltb_.JPG
Should not be too hard to make an ltb maxscript importer with some basic ms knowledge.
But bruno.ltb is from 2006.
i dont know how to use 'hex2obj' :(

i find your post viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11819

you can tell me how to use that?

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:36 pm

knifelemon wrote:i find your post viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11819

you can tell me how to use that?
please be more specific.
(Do you have basic knowledges in maxscripting?)

First of all we would need the model format of your ltb. Should not be too hard to find that out.

Maybe it's the same as with bruno: Vertex block size:44,
vertices: floats
(little endian)
bruno_vertex_block_44_bytes.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:43 am

shakotay2 wrote:
knifelemon wrote:i find your post viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11819

you can tell me how to use that?
please be more specific.
(Do you have basic knowledges in maxscripting?)

First of all we would need the model format of your ltb. Should not be too hard to find that out.

Maybe it's the same as with bruno: Vertex block size:44,
vertices: floats
(little endian)
bruno_vertex_block_44_bytes.JPG
i find that

and what should I do?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:34 pm

knifelemon wrote:i find that

and what should I do?
first of all use another adjustment for your hexeditor.
Display data from offsets 00 to 0F (16 bytes per row).

(Your choice is not very useful.)

in hex2obj with the 000.ltb loaded:

- toggle the noPtC button to PtCld
- enter a VBsize of 44 (step 2).
- under 'step 3' enter 0x21879 as a vertex start address

Then try to get a decent point cloud by pressing 'mesh' and changing
the (vertex) count from 500 to greater (or less) sizes.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Mon Feb 09, 2015 4:32 pm

shakotay2 wrote:
knifelemon wrote:i find that

and what should I do?
first of all use another adjustment for your hexeditor.
Display data from offsets 00 to 0F (16 bytes per row).

(Your choice is not very useful.)

in hex2obj with the 000.ltb loaded:

- toggle the noPtC button to PtCld
- enter a VBsize of 44 (step 2).
- under 'step 3' enter 0x21879 as a vertex start address

Then try to get a decent point cloud by pressing 'mesh' and changing
the (vertex) count from 500 to greater (or less) sizes.
thx but obj is seen only vertex..

why does this phenomenon appear?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:45 pm

knifelemon wrote:thx but obj is seen only vertex..

why does this phenomenon appear?
because it's a point cloud.
As the name tells: a "cloud" of points without faces.

The next step would be to search for the face indices which determine how the vertices to be connected to faces
(triangles in most cases).

Press the tut(orial) button, do the contained example to understand
"how to find face indices".

(Usually this is the first step but sometimes it makes sense to search for point clouds first.)
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:59 am

shakotay2 wrote:
knifelemon wrote:thx but obj is seen only vertex..

why does this phenomenon appear?
because it's a point cloud.
As the name tells: a "cloud" of points without faces.

The next step would be to search for the face indices which determine how the vertices to be connected to faces
(triangles in most cases).

Press the tut(orial) button, do the contained example to understand
"how to find face indices".

(Usually this is the first step but sometimes it makes sense to search for point clouds first.)
um...

i did not understand any more.

it's so hard! :(

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:41 am

if you sent me 000.ltb I could have a look at.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:03 am

shakotay2 wrote:if you sent me 000.ltb I could have a look at.
ok.. :D
thank you shakotay2 !

https://www.dropbox.com/s/chv8t8nqcl1rr0c/000.ltb?dl=0 here

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:46 am

000_ltb.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."

knifelemon
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:08 am

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by knifelemon » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:44 am

shakotay2 wrote:
000_ltb.JPG
lol

it's have only the body?

head , leg ... other Everything not have?

User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: how to convert LithTech model into 3ds max?

Post by shakotay2 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:01 pm

learn, search, try
000_ltb_pants.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bigchillghost, Reverse Engineering a Game Model: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
extracting simple models: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
Make_H2O-ForzaHor3-jm9.zip
"You quoted the whole thing, what a mess."


Post Reply