World of Warships

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:44 am

ARGH!

Setting the material shinniness in the FBX does not give linear glossiness results in 3DS.

Code: Select all

FBX   3DS
100 = 66
50  = 56
25  = 46
I have spent the last hour looking for help with this online.
Any idea what's going on here?? Anyone??
Last edited by Coffee on Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Andrakann
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 711 times
Been thanked: 186 times
Contact:

Re: World of Warships

Post by Andrakann » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:11 am

Coffee wrote:Ok.. using the Material names in the visual isn't a good idea.
So many models have the same material name.
Materials with same name has different textures?
And it looks like shader names. Not names of mfm-file.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:21 pm

Yes. the same name with a bunch of different attached models. It is the shader name but I assumed MAT meant material.

Using the MFM name seems to work.
Either way, the Tirpiz creates 64 materials and 125 textures on export.

I uploaded version 0.30.1.6 http://209.159.152.184:8080/WoW/
I added the P short cut key and a setting to the graphic settings... it turns on and off the MG_ textures in the shader. I didn't like shutting it off with the AO texture.
I also added code that shows the state of most of the settings when you press a key at the bottom of the screen.
This should also fix the path being restored for the FBX folder. It wasn't working.
I added 2 settings to the FBX export window for Specular and Glossiness. Glossiness does not export what the setting is... I have NO F'ing idea why and can't find any help on this issue anywhere.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:19 pm

I was looking around to see if I could find anything on the new primitives_processed format and found this:
https://github.com/SkaceKamen/wot-model ... imitive.py

What that is, is a python script converted from my .NET code.
The names of the variables is the same.. the logic is identical.. with some minor changes.
I am not bitching about this.. I think its cool some one wrote a python version.
Looking at the code, it should run fine but it wont work with the new format World of Tanks is in.

I have figured out about 99% of the new format.
If anyone wants to work on that script... I can help you with the new format.

What I have found so far is there is some extra data in one of the vertex types.
I'm hacking my way thru this to figure out where it is in the data.. The normals are fubar in this format.. Im looking in to this.
Anyway... We are going to need to start a new thread for the work on the WoTs side of this.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

wen98
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:15 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: World of Warships

Post by wen98 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi, Coffee.
Opened in the editor v 30.16, some small parts are missing in many ships. For example, the anchors of CV essex are absent. For Midway, the 20mm guns are pointing backwards. Some secondary guns of a us destroyer are in the wrong position. I don't know why.

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

wen98
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:15 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: World of Warships

Post by wen98 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:27 pm

Here is the midway. AA guns are pointing backwards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:47 pm

wen98 wrote:Here is the midway. AA guns are pointing backwards.
You probably forgot to update the master XMLS... I do it all the time LOL!
Go to File and than Force MASTER XML Update

This only needs to be done once after each update of the app.
It forces the old masters to be overwritten with the new Master XML zip.
If the game is updated, I will update the zip and the editor.


The Zip is created using the XML Creator but you don't need that tool.
The new zip is built in to the the latest release of the editor.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

sefirott
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:44 pm

Re: World of Warships

Post by sefirott » Thu Jan 07, 2016 2:17 pm

Hello Coffee I am surprised with his great work, the edited models already operating within the game ?

wen98
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:15 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: World of Warships

Post by wen98 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 2:17 pm

I tried. Then I go to file>view master xml. The date of the folders still shows 2016/1/2, which is the time I installed the editor. And the date of the file folders. xml is 2015/12/25.
When I re-open the ship, problems remain.
Coffee wrote:
wen98 wrote:Here is the midway. AA guns are pointing backwards.
You probably forgot to update the master XMLS... I do it all the time LOL!
Go to File and than Force MASTER XML Update

This only needs to be done once after each update of the app.
It forces the old masters to be overwritten with the new Master XML zip.
If the game is updated, I will update the zip and the editor.


The Zip is created using the XML Creator but you don't need that tool.
The new zip is built in to the the latest release of the editor.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 2:37 pm

try this...
Open the midways bow and center mouse button click on one of the rafts/boats under the backwards AA guns.

If it selects only one raft, the game data is out of data.
Last edited by Coffee on Thu Jan 07, 2016 2:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 2:39 pm

also, you should see names for the midway's children like this:

MP_ATAxxxx

EDIT:
Maybe it has something to do with your location?
No one else has reported a problem with the last version...

We'll figure it out :)
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 3:12 pm

Im going to post some info on the UI in case some one doesnt understand how this works.

Once a model is loaded, you can select anything in the window by center mouse clicking on it.
The path to the selected model will be shown in the bottom of the window.
While something is selected, you will see the 4 textures assigned to it under the TreeView to the right.
Mousing over one of the textures lets you view it in the main window. The size of this is depended on the size of the window.
Double clicking on one of the textures under the TreeView will open the Texture Viewer.
The full path of the texture will be in the top of the window in the Title area.
The Texture Viewer will allow you to see the UV map for all but the AO map.. (I will fix this in the next release)
You can export the UV map WITH or WITHOUT the texture to use it as a layer to paint new maps. PNG is best because it supports the Alpha channel.
From the Texture Viewer you can load the Swizzler program. This is a tool for reassigning the channels RGBA to other channels.
The Swizzler is use to convert the blue style tangent bump maps to compressed GA maps and back.

F1 will display a onscreen list of short cut keys and other information.

About the lighting...
The bottom right has controls for the lights.
Must of the names are easy to understand.
The Specular should be set at 50% or lower unless you want everything to look like plastic.
I set the Light around 60-70% The Contrast to about 90% and Specular around 30%
The other 3 controls are for the lights Position.
Y is the up/down position
R is the Radius of the light... or distance to the point you are looking at.
S is the SPIN angle of the light.
F2 will spin the Light and F3 will spin the camera view.

Only Models that are visible will ever be exported to FBX.
Dummy place holders will NEVER be exported regardless of their visibility Settings.

Binary FBX is much more compact than ASCII and should be used unless there is a reason to export in ASCII.
Some apps may only read ASCII.
A good tool and one you should have is AutoDesk's FBX Converter. Get it HERE.
With the converter you can change the format from 2009 to 2013. Some apps.. like Blender wont load 2009 FBX.
You can convert FBX to OBJ and other formats using that tool.
It has a built n viewer and works with the FBX my app exports with no problems.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:10 pm

Well...
The normals in the new World of Tanks primitives_processed files are different
Digging in the shaders.pkg I found this:
<type>UBYTE4_NORMAL_8_8_8</type>

Looks like they are stored as 3 unsigned bytes.

Hmmm... a light bulb just lit up in my head.. LOL <-- did not work!

OK.. Here are some of the values for the bytes.

Code: Select all

5a 06 7f
5a 06 7f
7f 7f 00
7f 7f 00
7f 7f fe
There are 2 values that are the same in some of the lines.
This looks wrong.
It would translate to a normal of (1.0 ,1.0 ,0.0)
thats not right.
Last edited by Coffee on Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:18 pm

Of course the above is assuming that the bytes are converted to +- values.
So in the range of +127 to - 128 range.

Normals need to be in "unit length" or... Normalized as it's called.
As you can see in the samples above.. they are NOT correct.

And this is what I get when viewing the normals:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

User avatar
Coffee
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: World of Warships

Post by Coffee » Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:22 pm

I could really use some help with this if anyone wants to give it a shot.

Here is the entire xml for this vertex type.

Code: Select all

<xyznuviiiwwtbpc.xml>
 <elements>
  <POSITION>
  </POSITION>
  <NORMAL>
   <type>UBYTE4_NORMAL_8_8_8</type>
  </NORMAL>
  <TEXCOORD>
   <type>FLOAT2</type>
  </TEXCOORD>
  <BLENDINDICES>
   <type>SC_REVERSE_PADDED_III_</type>
  </BLENDINDICES>
  <BLENDWEIGHT>
   <type>SC_REVERSE_PADDED__WW_</type>
  </BLENDWEIGHT>
  <TANGENT>
   <type>UBYTE4_NORMAL_8_8_8</type>
  </TANGENT>
  <BINORMAL>
   <type>UBYTE4_NORMAL_8_8_8</type>
  </BINORMAL>
 </elements>
</xyznuviiiwwtbpc.xml>
Here is how they are in the .primitives_processed file. This is for the chassis of the IS-7
I deleted everything up to the start of the vertices so it would align.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.

Post Reply