READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam PC?

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Highflex
beginner
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by Highflex » Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:45 pm

Hey joqqy,

Your toolset looks very promising! I tried it out and noticed that skin weights are not working correctly yet?

Also do you have any ETA on when you can load animation tracks :)? Awesome work, keep it up!

joqqy
advanced
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy » Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:23 pm

Highflex wrote:Hey joqqy,

Your toolset looks very promising! I tried it out and noticed that skin weights are not working correctly yet?

Also do you have any ETA on when you can load animation tracks :)? Awesome work, keep it up!
Hi,

Unfortunately, I do not have an ETA on the anim tracks.
I have already implemented the animation, but it is too buggy to release yet.
I actually didn't intend this to be a toolset, but just wrote it for my limited needs - but I might expand on it as I devote my free time to it.

The skin weights work well for me. Some skin meshes are hi res proxy meshes, that do not have any weight info, controlled by lower res proxies instead.
Not all the skin features of the CryFile format are imported back to max - just the basic weights and bones. Advanced features such as spherical skinning and dual quaternions etc are yet to be implemented - if ever.

Here is an update:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by joqqy on Thu Jul 21, 2016 7:09 pm, edited 4 times in total.

SgtDirtDiver
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:48 am

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by SgtDirtDiver » Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:17 am

Hey Joqqy, I managed to get the file extracted and now I am trying to use your script to open in 3ds max but when I try to extract the file I get the message that the archive is corrupt. Any idea what I can do?

joqqy
advanced
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy » Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:46 am

Here is a major update (see video link)
Much improvement to the skinning and characters.

https://youtu.be/BFHym-ZbTxM
SgtDirtDiver wrote:Hey Joqqy, I managed to get the file extracted and now I am trying to use your script to open in 3ds max but when I try to extract the file I get the message that the archive is corrupt. Any idea what I can do?
Have you extracted the .pak archives correctly to begin with?
TheMask85 wrote:impressive work! script works wonderful for Ryse models. thank you!
have you had a look at the sample files from Homefront 2?
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14630
(first post)
i don't want unnecessary crossposts but since your script is called "CryEngine Importer"
and you mentioned you'd like to support more games, here's the most recent one (apart from "Wolcen").

some files load, some don't (well most don't) -if they do, then without skeleton though. (already set up the path to skeletonlist.xml file)
so, if you feel like supporting that one aswell, i'd like you to reply at the Homefront thread, to keep this
thread specified on the topic: Ryse.
I will definitely take a look at the games you mentioned if time allows me.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Ipsum87
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:04 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by Ipsum87 » Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:05 pm

Sadly the DDSUnsplit doesn't work on Windows10, it gives me compatibility errors.
Anyone willing to share the textures?

EDIT: I've tried on Windows7 as well, doesn't seem to work. UnsplitDDS won't do anything.
How did you guys manage to recover the textures?

joqqy
advanced
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy » Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:25 am

Ipsum87 wrote:Sadly the DDSUnsplit doesn't work on Windows10, it gives me compatibility errors.
Anyone willing to share the textures?

EDIT: I've tried on Windows7 as well, doesn't seem to work. UnsplitDDS won't do anything.
How did you guys manage to recover the textures?
download dds unsplit
https://www.cryengine.com/community/vie ... 1&t=130270

rename the header .dds to .dds.0 (if it isn't already)
Then try again.

You should also grab the updated importer
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

joqqy
advanced
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:26 pm

Quite a big update.

Vertex Colors supported
Vertex Normals supported
Tangent Bases supported
Dual Quaternions are supported
Better and Faster Database handling
Better character/skin support
Improved Material Support
CGA/CGAM now supported
Lots of Bug Fixes
and more...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Ipsum87
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:04 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by Ipsum87 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:34 pm

joqqy wrote:
Ipsum87 wrote:Sadly the DDSUnsplit doesn't work on Windows10, it gives me compatibility errors.
Anyone willing to share the textures?

EDIT: I've tried on Windows7 as well, doesn't seem to work. UnsplitDDS won't do anything.
How did you guys manage to recover the textures?
download dds unsplit
https://www.cryengine.com/community/vie ... 1&t=130270

rename the header .dds to .dds.0 (if it isn't already)
Then try again.

You should also grab the updated importer

Thanks for all the updates, I really love that.
I somehow managed to get the textures working (I forgot to unpack the dds0.pack, my bad), however I can't really have them showing up on 3dsmax. I'll keep trying to understand what could be the issue.

Ruddy88
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by Ruddy88 » Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:09 pm

Hey folks, first off, thanks a bunch for all the tools and resources here.
Took me awhile to figure some things out but got the max script working.
The main problem I am having is extracting all the PAK files.
Some of them dont seem to want to unzip, like I have the zip files there but they return errors when unzipping with winrar, and thats even with copying them to c: first so file name isnt too long.
Some of them extract fine, but others just dont.
So my question is, for this to all work do we need to actually unzip every folder after weve run the pak extractor? none of the ones gameryse/levels will unzip, and neither will the scripts.pak.zip.

cheers in advance, hopefully someones still keeping an eye in here

Ruddy88
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by Ruddy88 » Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:17 am

UPDATE: Ive extracted all that I could, and got it working to some extent, but it wont load up anything when I try to load character files, I can only use the cryfile function for statics. I really wanted this to get the full meshes and bones of characters but not having any luck, and going down the old way of using Noesis only seems to export polygons without bones unless its a head.
Any help is appreciated.
Using MAX2017 and the most recent set of scripts by joqqy, I had to copy the contents of the include folder into the root folder where ui.ms is kept, only way I could get it to work otherwise I just got the same script errors that people had mentioned above.

leozin1313
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by leozin1313 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:42 pm

joqqy, you are a hero!
Thank you very much for this excellent tool!
You deserve a gold medal from Xentax!
Please continue this great job you are doing!
Like! +1
:)

nykez
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:56 am

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by nykez » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:32 am

I get a error can't include header file, any idea why?

nykez
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:56 am

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by nykez » Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:29 am

& the RyseSDK folder in the video, is that just all the pak files unpacked?

CelerySticks
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:30 am

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by CelerySticks » Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:38 am

How would I attach the heads to the body?

User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 225 times
Been thanked: 110 times
Contact:

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by Tosyk » Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:00 am

hello, does anyone know how to get maxscript from joqqy to work?
I have a constant error on load ui_.ms:

Code: Select all

-- Error occurred in anonymous codeblock; filename: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2017\scripts\ui_.ms; position: 10538; line: 271
-- Compile error: Can't find include file:  HEADER_.ms
--  In line: 						include "HEADER_.ms"
but I extracted all the include scripts next to the main one!
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum

Post Reply