Offtopic: Into Commodore 64 (6502) coding, pixeling or music?
Xentax is looking for new members for the C64 activities!
Just drop us a message at forum@xentax.com and join the Scene Team!

Forum rules: Click here

Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
RandomTBush
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by RandomTBush » Sun May 12, 2019 1:09 pm

Diatribal wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 9:56 am
RandomTBush You're even more awesome than I thought!

In exploring this thread a little deeper, I discovered that you have already solved the PS4 texture issue in a previous post!
Haha, whoops! I completely forgot about that! I'll go add a link to this in the first post.
Maximmum wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 7:16 am
One more question though is how exactly to auto-import textures? I'm guessing you just have to just .dds or .png files in the same folder as .d3dmesh-es you are importing right?
Yep. By default, the textures will be read from DDS files in the same folder as the D3DMesh files, but there are menu options to change that to look for PNGs, or read from a separate "Textures" folder like the original versions of the script.

Annie2
n00b
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:40 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Annie2 » Sun May 12, 2019 2:04 pm

RandomTBush wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 1:27 am
Guess what time it is~

https://mega.nz/#!LkB3iArL!4THSfnCXshsR ... aTxzPboO8M

Changelist:
  • Finally added support for The Walking Dead: The Final Season.
  • Added automatic texture importing for the rest of the games, thanks to daemon1 for pointing me in the right direction!
  • Added a ton of bone names, validated using the method used for the above.
  • Added model version auto-detection so the per-game options are no longer necessary, UI rearranged accordingly.
  • Fixed support for Batman: The Telltale Series in the process of the above change.
Make sure the "TelltaleHashDBs" folder is located in the root of your 3DS Max's "Scripts" folder, or else the script will error. You can also delete the "TelltaleIcons" folder as it's no longer necessary.

Next thing I'll be doing is fixing up the D3DTX scripts (especially considering there's a bunch from Season 4 that don't work), but I think I'm gonna take a little time off due to how much time I've spent on this script in the past few months. As always, please let me know if there are any other issues. (EDIT: And do those optimizations I meant to do earlier, I was more concerned with getting TWD4's support done first and foremost.)
Diatribal wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 12:24 am
Ahhh okay, so I don't think it's anything that I'm doing wrong? That's a relief. Will I need to convert them from GNF files to DDS/png for 3ds Max?

Also, I'm not sure if I need a game number for a separate part of the game files called BTTF_ps4_Shared_txmesh.ttarch2? I used 41 which was the same for Episode 1 and it seemed to extract the models without any problems, although the bones looked very slightly out of alignment? Again, might be more of my inexperience than anything?
Yeah, you'll be able to use Noesis to convert them afterwards no problem.

And as for the game numbers, I think you can just use any number for console games, I don't recall them having any sort of encryption (only the PC versions do, oddly enough).
WOW! THANK YOU SO MUCH I'VE BEEN WAITING SO LONG FOR THIS, THANK YOU A LOT :D

jayko
advanced
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:25 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by jayko » Sun May 12, 2019 2:30 pm

Amazing work, RTB!

Just one question; does the script auto-apply 'sub'textures such as the 'detail', 'ao' and 'brushnormal' textures - and do they work properly? I could never figure out how to get them to do so myself, they never seemed to have an effect.

Annie2
n00b
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:40 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Annie2 » Sun May 12, 2019 2:36 pm

jayko wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 2:30 pm
Amazing work, RTB!

Just one question; does the script auto-apply 'sub'textures such as the 'detail', 'ao' and 'brushnormal' textures - and do they work properly? I could never figure out how to get them to do so myself, they never seemed to have an effect.
Yes it does auto apply textures if you do it like on these pictures:

Put the Textures Folder with all textures for that character you want to import in where the Meshes are:
Image

And select these options on the Script in 3D Max (You need to select DDS if your textures are in .dds format, if its in .png select PNG):
Image


It should auto apply the texture to the 3d model! :)

RandomTBush
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by RandomTBush » Sun May 12, 2019 3:12 pm

jayko wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 2:30 pm
Just one question; does the script auto-apply 'sub'textures such as the 'detail', 'ao' and 'brushnormal' textures - and do they work properly? I could never figure out how to get them to do so myself, they never seemed to have an effect.
Sub-textures? Unfortunately not at this moment, especially since some models use a whole lot. However, you can view all of the textures a specific material uses if you enable the "Print debug" option and look in the listener window after importing a model, which will give you something like this:

Code: Select all

"Material hash: 52a09151 f1c3f2c7, Count = 12, Offset = 904"
"10fb176f b7821ec8: sk62_clementine400_headwrinkleb_mask"
"1e3f6b9f 2550389d: sk62_clementine400_head_nm"
"2aa89260 d8661f89: sk62_clementine400_head_grime"
"36170f97 445b6e2e: sk62_clementine400_headdecal"
"7498a5f1 b80ad419: sk62_clementine400_head_bnm"
"8648fa82 d1dbee1a: sk62_clementine400_head"
"9cf676c6 403c9784: sk62_clementine400_headdecal_nm"
"a13d14fb b436f23b: sk62_clementine400_headwrinkle_nm"
"a1f1257a 331854c4: sk62_clementine400_headdecalmask"
"d5b57775 db361670: sk62_clementine400_head_spec"
"d7ea3553 4dbc457d: sk62_clementine400_headwrinklea_mask"
"ff787a61 eac8a5b5: sk62_clementine400_head_ink"
Yeah. Not exactly something that I'd easily be able to interpret via material settings.

Escope12
veteran
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:42 am
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Escope12 » Sun May 12, 2019 3:31 pm

Did anyone notice that some of the characters’ bones names are something like “0x87c318c2” or “0xbf4a0925” or something like that?

Annie2
n00b
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:40 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Annie2 » Sun May 12, 2019 3:39 pm

Escope12 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:31 pm
Did anyone notice that some of the characters’ bones names are something like “0x87c318c2” or “0xbf4a0925” or something like that?
Yeah

Escope12
veteran
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:42 am
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Escope12 » Sun May 12, 2019 3:40 pm

Annie2 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:39 pm
Escope12 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:31 pm
Did anyone notice that some of the characters’ bones names are something like “0x87c318c2” or “0xbf4a0925” or something like that?
Yeah
I wonder what those mean?

RandomTBush
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by RandomTBush » Sun May 12, 2019 3:49 pm

Escope12 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:40 pm
Annie2 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:39 pm
Escope12 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:31 pm
Did anyone notice that some of the characters’ bones names are something like “0x87c318c2” or “0xbf4a0925” or something like that?
Yeah
I wonder what those mean?
Means I don't have the actual bone names for those set up, so it displays the first four bytes of its hash instead. Basically relates to what I mentioned earlier regarding the old "BoneRename" command, even though I have 6,253 bones named (you can have a look at "BoneNames.txt" in the hashes subfolder to see a full list), there's still around 10,272 that aren't as their names aren't quite as obvious to figure out.

Diatribal
n00b
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:48 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Diatribal » Sun May 12, 2019 3:55 pm

jayko wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 2:30 pm
Amazing work, RTB!

Just one question; does the script auto-apply 'sub'textures such as the 'detail', 'ao' and 'brushnormal' textures - and do they work properly? I could never figure out how to get them to do so myself, they never seemed to have an effect.
That would certainly be a “perfect world” scenario, but I think that’s expecting a little too much to expect the script to be able to decipher, separate and apply the separate maps! You’ve got to do some work manually! LOL I think we’re incredibly lucky to have a script that can save us having to apply all of the diffuse maps alone! You’ll be expecting an auto-render button next?! hahaha

The Polish Army
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by The Polish Army » Sun May 12, 2019 4:53 pm

Importer are working only with 3dsmax 2019 or with other version?

jayko
advanced
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:25 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by jayko » Sun May 12, 2019 5:26 pm

RandomTBush wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 3:12 pm
jayko wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 2:30 pm
Just one question; does the script auto-apply 'sub'textures such as the 'detail', 'ao' and 'brushnormal' textures - and do they work properly? I could never figure out how to get them to do so myself, they never seemed to have an effect.
Sub-textures? Unfortunately not at this moment, especially since some models use a whole lot. However, you can view all of the textures a specific material uses if you enable the "Print debug" option and look in the listener window after importing a model, which will give you something like this:

Code: Select all

"Material hash: 52a09151 f1c3f2c7, Count = 12, Offset = 904"
"10fb176f b7821ec8: sk62_clementine400_headwrinkleb_mask"
"1e3f6b9f 2550389d: sk62_clementine400_head_nm"
"2aa89260 d8661f89: sk62_clementine400_head_grime"
"36170f97 445b6e2e: sk62_clementine400_headdecal"
"7498a5f1 b80ad419: sk62_clementine400_head_bnm"
"8648fa82 d1dbee1a: sk62_clementine400_head"
"9cf676c6 403c9784: sk62_clementine400_headdecal_nm"
"a13d14fb b436f23b: sk62_clementine400_headwrinkle_nm"
"a1f1257a 331854c4: sk62_clementine400_headdecalmask"
"d5b57775 db361670: sk62_clementine400_head_spec"
"d7ea3553 4dbc457d: sk62_clementine400_headwrinklea_mask"
"ff787a61 eac8a5b5: sk62_clementine400_head_ink"
Yeah. Not exactly something that I'd easily be able to interpret via material settings.
Ah, the print debug should be super useful then!

I suppose I just need to figure out how to make the subtextures actually do much of anything as they've always seemes to have precious little effect. Maybe the render settings I'm using don't compliment them very well.

RandomTBush
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by RandomTBush » Sun May 12, 2019 5:31 pm

The Polish Army wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 4:53 pm
Importer are working only with 3dsmax 2019 or with other version?
I used 3DS Max 2010 to write and test the script and added fixes specifically for newer versions, so it should work just fine in 2019.

CartoonCG
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:04 pm

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by CartoonCG » Sun May 12, 2019 6:22 pm

I'm a bit stuck on the auto tx importer here; this is what I get when I use the print debug and when I open MAXscript listener

"Importing sk54_carlos.d3dmesh (Version 14)..."
"Model start = 211L"
"Count = 7"
"Model info start = 263L"
"Model info start = 539L"
"Model info start = 815L"
"Model info start = 1091L"
"Model info start = 1367L"
"Model info start = 1643L"
"Model info start = 1919L"
"Header B start = 2195L"
"Header C (Bone IDs) start = 2203L"
"Count = 2"
"Header D start = 7819L"
"Header E start = 7827L"
"Header F start = 7835L"
"Header G start = 7843L"
"Header H (Material Info) start = 7851L"
"Header I start = 8835L"
"UV Multipliers = 1 (1.0, 1.0), 2 (1.0, 1.0), 3 (1.0, 1.0), 4 (1.0, 1.0)"
"Header J start = 8867L"
"Header K start = 8875L"
"Face info start = 8888L"
"Vertex Buffer start = 42794L"
"Vertex Offset = 0, Count = 3, Format = 1"
"UV Offset = 12, Count = 2, Format = 4"
"Normals Offset = 36, Count = 3, Format = 4"
"Weights Offset = 24, Count = 4, Format = 5"
"Bones Offset = 20, Count = 4, Format = 8"
"Unknown1 Offset = 32, Count = 1, Format = 1"
"Binormals? Offset = 52, Count = 4, Format = 4"
"Tangents? Offset = 44, Count = 3, Format = 4"
"UV3 Offset = 16, Count = 2, Format = 4"
"Vertex start = 42962L"
"End of file = 272462L"
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:1 VertexMax:220 PolygonStart:1 PolygonCount:288 FacePointCount:864 MatNum:5 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:3529 VertexMax:3825 PolygonStart:289 PolygonCount:220 FacePointCount:660 MatNum:6 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:3338 VertexMax:3528 PolygonStart:509 PolygonCount:140 FacePointCount:420 MatNum:3 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:3009 VertexMax:3337 PolygonStart:649 PolygonCount:534 FacePointCount:1602 MatNum:2 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:1982 VertexMax:3008 PolygonStart:1183 PolygonCount:1577 FacePointCount:4731 MatNum:1 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:1065 VertexMax:1981 PolygonStart:2760 PolygonCount:1614 FacePointCount:4842 MatNum:4 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:221 VertexMax:1064 PolygonStart:4374 PolygonCount:1276 FacePointCount:3828 MatNum:4 BoneSetNum:2)
"Importing sk54_carlos203_body.d3dmesh (Version 14)..."
"Model start = 219L"
"Count = 6"
"Model info start = 271L"
"Model info start = 547L"
"Model info start = 823L"
"Model info start = 1099L"
"Model info start = 1375L"
"Model info start = 1651L"
"Header B start = 1927L"
"Header C (Bone IDs) start = 1935L"
"Count = 1"
"Header D start = 5419L"
"Header E start = 5427L"
"Header F start = 5435L"
"Header G start = 5443L"
"Header H (Material Info) start = 5451L"
"Header I start = 6435L"
"UV Multipliers = 1 (1.0, 1.0), 2 (1.0, 1.0), 3 (1.0, 1.0), 4 (1.0, 1.0)"
"Header J start = 6467L"
"Header K start = 6475L"
"Face info start = 6488L"
"Vertex Buffer start = 32558L"
"Vertex Offset = 0, Count = 3, Format = 1"
"UV Offset = 12, Count = 2, Format = 4"
"Normals Offset = 36, Count = 3, Format = 4"
"Weights Offset = 24, Count = 4, Format = 5"
"Bones Offset = 20, Count = 4, Format = 8"
"Unknown1 Offset = 32, Count = 1, Format = 1"
"Binormals? Offset = 52, Count = 4, Format = 4"
"Tangents? Offset = 44, Count = 3, Format = 4"
"UV3 Offset = 16, Count = 2, Format = 4"
"Vertex start = 32726L"
"End of file = 209846L"
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:1 VertexMax:297 PolygonStart:1 PolygonCount:220 FacePointCount:660 MatNum:6 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:2733 VertexMax:2952 PolygonStart:221 PolygonCount:288 FacePointCount:864 MatNum:5 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:2542 VertexMax:2732 PolygonStart:509 PolygonCount:140 FacePointCount:420 MatNum:3 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:2213 VertexMax:2541 PolygonStart:649 PolygonCount:534 FacePointCount:1602 MatNum:2 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:298 VertexMax:1324 PolygonStart:1183 PolygonCount:1577 FacePointCount:4731 MatNum:1 BoneSetNum:1)
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:1325 VertexMax:2212 PolygonStart:2760 PolygonCount:1584 FacePointCount:4752 MatNum:4 BoneSetNum:1)
"Importing sk54_carlos203_hands.d3dmesh (Version 14)..."
"Model start = 220L"
"Count = 1"
"Model info start = 272L"
"Header B start = 548L"
"Header C (Bone IDs) start = 556L"
"Count = 1"
"Header D start = 2584L"
"Header E start = 2592L"
"Header F start = 2600L"
"Header G start = 2608L"
"Header H (Material Info) start = 2616L"
"Header I start = 2880L"
"UV Multipliers = 1 (1.0, 1.0), 2 (1.0, 1.0), 3 (1.0, 1.0), 4 (1.0, 1.0)"
"Header J start = 2912L"
"Header K start = 2920L"
"Face info start = 2933L"
"Vertex Buffer start = 10781L"
"Vertex Offset = 0, Count = 3, Format = 1"
"UV Offset = 12, Count = 2, Format = 4"
"Normals Offset = 36, Count = 3, Format = 4"
"Weights Offset = 24, Count = 4, Format = 5"
"Bones Offset = 20, Count = 4, Format = 8"
"Unknown1 Offset = 32, Count = 1, Format = 1"
"Binormals? Offset = 44, Count = 4, Format = 4"
"UV3 Offset = 16, Count = 2, Format = 4"
"Vertex start = 10949L"
"End of file = 55669L"
(Polygon_Info_Struct VertexMin:1 VertexMax:860 PolygonStart:1 PolygonCount:1306 FacePointCount:3918 MatNum:1 BoneSetNum:1)
"Done! (19.333 Seconds)"

I cant tell where to find the texture and also when I export in obj file format it dosent ask for the right texture name instead its replace with random letters and number.

Im trying to export the adv maps 3d models like carver's camp (the Howe's exterior) and Carlos from S2 TWD.

any clue of what im doing wrong

(EDIT: I did a recheck....what im trying to do is to get it auto apply when I import TWDS2 levels/character but I get nothing....I usally export to obj and usally does it by itself for season 1 TWD but now it ask for a texture that has its name randomize and here is where im stuck at I get a grey model and the debug listener list no texture that has importer and yes I have the model and texture in one folder and I try sub folder....im stupid when stuff like this happened plz help me)

Annie2
n00b
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:40 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer

Post by Annie2 » Sun May 12, 2019 11:29 pm

Hi guys, I just had a question. If I now use like for example Clementines character in a game that I have been privately working on, and release the game but other players wont be able to use Clementines character in the game, only game developer will be able to. Will I still get in trouble for it? Will I get sued for using her character in my game?

Post Reply