READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 769 times

SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by zaramot » Sat Mar 15, 2014 10:14 am

Hi guys! Here's maxscript to import SWTOR models with bones (3ds max 2009-2011)

Instruction:
1. Load SWTOR_BONES.ms
2. Point it to a file like ***_skeleton.gr2
3. Bones will be loaded

4. Load SWTOR.ms
5. Point it to a file like ***.gr2 without word "skeleton"
6. Model will be loaded above bones

Done

ImageImage
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by zaramot on Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Making model-import scripts, PM

TRDaz
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by TRDaz » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:49 am

Thanks so much! :D

TRDaz
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by TRDaz » Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:18 pm

Sorry for posting twice but it works great on Satele, but when I test it on Malgus he doesn't get every weight he should, he has Right Toe, Pelvis, Right Hip, and those bones are even weighted on the correct part (pelvis is weighted to most of the upper body)
Is this a bug in the script? Im glad that the script works great for Satele though :)

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 769 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by zaramot » Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:26 pm

Hi, no it's not a bug in the script. Mine Malgus model I had to fix manually, because base bmsnew_skeleton doesn't have extra bones for cape, which Malgus model needs (those weights which you got importing Malgus model on base bmsnew_skeleton are default 3ds max generated) :) So I guess somewhere should be skeleton for Malgus, that's the skeleton-finding problems I told you. There's a "my way" to fix this, but it's a little crappy lol
Making model-import scripts, PM

TRDaz
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by TRDaz » Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:01 pm

Oh I see lol. That's fine then, maybe Malgus' cape has a skeleton somewhere else lol.

artmancarver
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:00 am
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by artmancarver » Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:54 pm

So this script is for characters and creatures only? I'm getting some errors when i'm trying to load ships.

But anyway, it's wonderful script! I've been looking for something like this literally 2 years!

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 769 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by zaramot » Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:06 pm

Hi! Send me not working models, I'll try to fix my script.
Making model-import scripts, PM

User avatar
CriticalError
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:03 am
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by CriticalError » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:50 am

very cool work man, thanks for that, gratz.

artmancarver
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:00 am
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by artmancarver » Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:39 am

zaramot wrote:Hi! Send me not working models, I'll try to fix my script.
Agent's ship here http://www.mediafire.com/download/vufwu ... nt_ext.rar. Well, none of the player ship are loading.

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 769 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by zaramot » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:10 pm

Hi! Thanks for sample, I fixed script to import Agent's ship. But it would be great, if you send me more ships to test.

ImageImage
Making model-import scripts, PM

artmancarver
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:00 am
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by artmancarver » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:57 pm

Thank you very much! Here some more examples + some interior models of those ships. http://www.mediafire.com/download/xthn9 ... /ships.rar

User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 769 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by zaramot » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:17 pm

I tested all model samples and they imported fine. Check first post for updated scripts.

ImageImage
Making model-import scripts, PM

artmancarver
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:00 am
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by artmancarver » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 pm

Yes, it's all working now! Thank you very much!

vertalius
n00b
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:08 pm
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by vertalius » Wed Apr 02, 2014 9:47 am

Hi! Can you modify your script to import models with Z-axis up? Because it is a pain in a... rotating all the models (100+) I've imported, especially ones with bones.

ribbonowq
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:28 pm

Re: SWTOR .gr2 model import maxscript

Post by ribbonowq » Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:09 pm

hi . I need Satele Shan model。 can you give me

Post Reply