Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Looking for help decoding .AMD model files

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Ryusui
n00b

Looking for help decoding .AMD model files

Post by Ryusui » Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:25 am

I've been trying my hand at ripping models (and hopefully animations as well) from an old Atlus game on GCN called Go! Go! Hypergrind. I've had some experience hacking games and deciphering file formats in the past, and I've made some progress already: I can figure out the file offsets in the main .amd model files, for the most part, and I've written up a little Python program that can read verts, or what look very much like verts - I'll admit I'm not 100% sure I'm looking at the right data.

I've been using sunglass.amd as a test bed for my format-reading capabilities, and while I get something that does look like sunglasses by reading the (big-endian) floats that start at the offset given at 0x30 (unsigned int, big-endian), the outline I'm getting doesn't quite match the model I've seen in screenshots. Reading the other sets of vertices (offset at 0x34) usually gives me these odd geometric patterns, like spheres or ring shapes: I was assuming they were something like collision shapes, or perhaps normals, but given what I thought were verts aren't quite matching up, I have to reexamine my assumptions. Even more confusing, the data starting from the offset given at 0x2C appears to be face data, but the vertex indices go up to 0x1E when my first set of vertices has only 0x10, and even if I use only the indices that are under 0x10 to construct triangles, I get random junk. However, the second set of vertices has 0x1F, and using them to make triangles gives me nice geometric shapes - not at all the ones I'm expecting, but it certainly suggests these are the real model verts...somehow.