Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

Game import MAXScripts & tools

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
TomWin
veteran
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:46 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: My MAXScripts

Post by TomWin » Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:17 pm

great tools thank you very much for publishing them. Which android car games use unity3d? I tried with Real Racing 3 and Asphalt 6 but the plugin didnt find nothing

User avatar
Chipicao
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:18 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 303 times
Contact:

Re: My MAXScripts

Post by Chipicao » Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:19 am

Real Racind 3 and Asphalt 6 are not unity games.

The best way to tell is if you find a folder called Data with level# and sharedassets# files inside.
Please post any requests or issues with my tools in the appropriate topics.
I'm sorry if I don't reply or if I ignore PMs. My time is very limited.

9lXA
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:25 pm

Re: My MAXScripts

Post by 9lXA » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:38 pm

Excellent! But how you rip cars from The Walking Dead Chop Shop? I can import only garage..

User avatar
Chipicao
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:18 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 303 times
Contact:

Re: My MAXScripts

Post by Chipicao » Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:35 pm

idk what to say, all versions worked for me (iOS, Android, Web)

Are you sure you're importing the proper nodes?
Please post any requests or issues with my tools in the appropriate topics.
I'm sorry if I don't reply or if I ignore PMs. My time is very limited.

9lXA
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:25 pm

Re: My MAXScripts

Post by 9lXA » Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:41 pm

Yes i download from PM, and unpack .apk (unpacked size ~900Mb). Script find only one "level1" file (assets/bin/Data folder, 1.8Mb). This is garage, where is cars i don't know((

User avatar
Chipicao
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:18 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 303 times
Contact:

Re: My MAXScripts

Post by Chipicao » Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:53 pm

You can't have level1 without level0, and there should also be a mainData file (I think cars are in the later)
Try to load the whole Data folder instead
Please post any requests or issues with my tools in the appropriate topics.
I'm sorry if I don't reply or if I ignore PMs. My time is very limited.

StewMM
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:09 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by StewMM » Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:00 pm

Have you got any tips for importing from iOS apps. I've managed to import cars from CSR, Kia, Mercedes Valencia, Chop Shop and xDrive Challenge.
The others like Peugeot, Opel and Mazda apps open up the assets but don't load the car models.

Pfreak
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:01 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by Pfreak » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:58 pm

Brillant script! Really helps a lot.
May i ask if there are other car manufactors as well?

User avatar
Chipicao
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:18 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 303 times
Contact:

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by Chipicao » Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:48 am

@StewMM Load the whole Data folder and look for nodes named that contain the words "car" or "image target", or generally nodes with many meshes.
For Opel Adam import the node called "Opel"; for Mazda3 it's called "PointCloud-Tabletop".

@Pfreak see here: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11154
Please post any requests or issues with my tools in the appropriate topics.
I'm sorry if I don't reply or if I ignore PMs. My time is very limited.

Freakydevil
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 5:38 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by Freakydevil » Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:02 pm

Since today im facing this weird problem that the parts arent correctly aligned anymore with the pCars Script.

Image

Does anyone have an idea what setting i messed up in 3ds max?

And another request, would it be possible to load every material into a single slot instead of all into one multimat?

User avatar
Chipicao
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:18 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 303 times
Contact:

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by Chipicao » Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:59 pm

I have no idea what max setting could affect transformations. I can confirm the script is working on my side (max 2014 as well).
Try this and see if it makes any difference: http://www.mediafire.com/download/b8m0w ... er_3.1.zip

Regarding materials, even if I don't make them into one big multimaterial, most objects use more than one so max would require multimaterials anyway. The only difference is you would have many smaller multimaterials and maybe a few standard materials.
Please post any requests or issues with my tools in the appropriate topics.
I'm sorry if I don't reply or if I ignore PMs. My time is very limited.

freakshow
beginner
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:08 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by freakshow » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:15 pm

Any possible date for the animation support feature of unity importer?

StewMM
n00b
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:09 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by StewMM » Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:30 pm

When loading the Seat Mii it says there's 125 meshes but only loads a base square.
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/seat-mi ... 54072?mt=8
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Pfreak
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:01 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by Pfreak » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:48 pm

Ah ok thx for the Link :)
I kinda have the same problem as StewMM when loading an "App" car.
2 more questions: What does the "apply mesh normals" button do exactly in max?
Any chance for bringing up a ".carbin" script for the Forza Models?
Forza cars always had a normal issue and didnt reflect a 100% clean. (Thats why i asked the first question about the "mesh normals")
Greetz

User avatar
Chipicao
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:18 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 303 times
Contact:

Re: Game import MAXScripts

Post by Chipicao » Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:05 am

@StewMM Strange, it works fine here. Restart max and try again. Let me know if it still doesn't work.

@Pfreak Which car app gives you problems?

The "apply mesh normals" does exactly what the name suggests.
Importing vertex normals with maxscript requires quite a lot of CPU resources, because the standard function is broken and I have to use a workaround. So I included that checkbox in case you want to load the mesh faster as a "preview".

No, Forza Studio exports normals properly. The issue you are seeing with normals is caused by the fact that in Forza3 they are heavily compressed. It is a format issue and there's nothing anyone can do about it.
In Forza 4 and Horizon they use a different method to store normals which allows better precision. You probably noticed that models look smoother than FM3.
Please post any requests or issues with my tools in the appropriate topics.
I'm sorry if I don't reply or if I ignore PMs. My time is very limited.

Post Reply