The rules have been updated, read them now: Rules!

The Witcher 2

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
redavatar
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:12 am

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by redavatar » Sat May 21, 2011 6:27 pm

Great this is what I needed! I made my own dice-game graphics in the first game (sensual fantasy theme using Luis Royo images - fit the game theme more) and want to do the same now. If anyone wants the result, let me know and I'll post them!

nyates
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by nyates » Sat May 21, 2011 7:43 pm

Im trying to manually find a way to edit a loot table to insert items into the game. Not necessarily new ones, but existing ones. The loot tables in globals/loot tables dont seem to really correlate to what the mobs are dropping in game. Nor, when edited do they drop what I politely ask them to.

Any thoughts?

I also edited items/def_shops in an attempt to edit the inventory of a shop. See if that route would work. No luck. Ummmm... Any thoughts on that either?

Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: California
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by Rick » Sat May 21, 2011 8:12 pm

Shop inventories are probably saved and regenerated "daily" (game daily), have you waited 24 hours?
http://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.

nyates
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by nyates » Sat May 21, 2011 8:18 pm

Yeah, I waited 24 hours. Meditated or whatever for a bit. 2 days even. Bought the item I replaced, let it respawn. The old item is not even in the def_shops list anymore, but respawns just the same. My file is in the right spot I believe... CookedPC\items\def_shops.xml or whatever. Wonder what I'm doing wrong...

I didn't even fabricate a new line item, I just copied one from one store and added it to another. Should have been ok. Perhaps there's a corresponding file somewhere that needs edited as well in order for this to take. Sigh


EDIT:
I got it. My stupid program was auto "correcting" the format to .csv.

Sigh. Working now. Thanks everyone.
Last edited by nyates on Sat May 21, 2011 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

chalon
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 8:20 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by chalon » Sat May 21, 2011 8:41 pm

oveja wrote:How do *.w2strings the decryption?
The file header("CR2Ws") is different.
They don't have CR2Ws at the beginning, they have 0xc9000000.

It looks like some kind of lookup table with compression and/or encryption. The beginning of the file appears to be sets of 5 bytes (probably an address or index?), followed by the lookup key string in ASCII. So that section wouldn't be too hard to figure out most likely. The problem is after all the lookups, the data is just all mangled.
nyates wrote:Yeah, I waited 24 hours. Meditated or whatever for a bit. 2 days even. Bought the item I replaced, let it respawn. The old item is not even in the def_shops list anymore, but respawns just the same. My file is in the right spot I believe... CookedPC\items\def_shops.xml or whatever. Wonder what I'm doing wrong...
Try leaving the area, move some ways away, and come back. Even without changing the shops XML, if you stay at the vendor and just meditate, the inventory will not be refreshed.

odrin
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 2:43 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by odrin » Mon May 23, 2011 2:57 am

hi, has anyone made any headway in cracking the w2ent files? they look like they're responsible for assigning model parts. could be very useful for a character replacement mod.

Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: California
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by Rick » Mon May 23, 2011 3:06 am

It's a generic resource format that's used to instantiate native C++ classes with data, not specific to w2ent.
http://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.

odrin
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 2:43 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by odrin » Mon May 23, 2011 3:08 am

so you already opened it or do you mean there's already a program that opens it?

Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: California
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by Rick » Mon May 23, 2011 3:12 am

I'm working on it now, it's a big complex beast of a format.
http://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.

odrin
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 2:43 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by odrin » Mon May 23, 2011 3:23 am

alright. thanks

Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: California
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by Rick » Mon May 23, 2011 6:06 am

I've committed my most recent code which has W2RC related stuff -- though note it's not in any shape for saving this data back out, it's still in the research phase.
http://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.

Sanya
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:36 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by Sanya » Mon May 23, 2011 5:47 pm

What about unpacking game models formats?

Any chances that it would be done soon? ^^

User avatar
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2586
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1329 times

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by chrrox » Mon May 23, 2011 6:28 pm

The model format is not hard its the file structure around the model data that is a beast to deal with as rick said.
I will look at his code and if i can understand whats going on I will attemp to make an importer.

inforsir
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by inforsir » Mon May 23, 2011 8:53 pm

nyates wrote:Yeah, I waited 24 hours. Meditated or whatever for a bit. 2 days even. Bought the item I replaced, let it respawn. The old item is not even in the def_shops list anymore, but respawns just the same. My file is in the right spot I believe... CookedPC\items\def_shops.xml or whatever. Wonder what I'm doing wrong...

I didn't even fabricate a new line item, I just copied one from one store and added it to another. Should have been ok. Perhaps there's a corresponding file somewhere that needs edited as well in order for this to take. Sigh


EDIT:
I got it. My stupid program was auto "correcting" the format to .csv.

Sigh. Working now. Thanks everyone.

mind telling me how u did that i kinda need help with it : \



now with the extractor i cant get it to work every time i try it tells me that "the bms script uses more agruments than how much is supported by this tool"

most liky mean im a idoit and dont know how to use c:\quickbms\quickbms.exe -F "*.xbm" c:\xbm.bms c:\xbm_folder c:\extracted assuming that this is use for the directory for a shortcut to it.
would also mean i dont know what script to use

basically my prob is how to extract the dzip : \

User avatar
CMihai
veteran
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: The Witcher 2

Post by CMihai » Mon May 23, 2011 10:19 pm

For .dzip, use the quickbms_64, create a new text document, copy paste chroxx script into it, save it and drop the file over quickbms_64, then select pack0.dzip, after that another window will popup where to extract the files, that's all.

For .xbm textures, do it like this, extract the convertor, copy quickbms.exe in the same folder, drop the xbm2tga over quickbms exe, select the texture (copy it first in the same folder) and same as above select where to save it (in the same folder will be good) now you'll get a .dds file and a .bin one, so to get the .tga file drop the .dds file over nvdecompress.exe and your done, you have your .tga file.

Post Reply