Join also our Discord channel! Click here.

ARchive_neXt

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
Greenplumbbob
n00b
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:07 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by Greenplumbbob » Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:03 pm

MichaelDarkAngel wrote:
It makes no difference what approach you take to open the mesh. If the model viewer is working you should not get an error. If you go straight to the mesh and open it you should see a white, texture-less model. You can then attempt to find and open the datafiles that contain the textures, go back to the mesh, and upon opening it you should now see a textured model. Or, you could open the texture datafiles first, then open the mesh and it will be textured. Either way, does not matter.

--MDA
I know from exporting and importing my own meshes, it creates a 'none' texture (if I have an option selected, but I guess with other 3D programs it would work the same). But I suppose that can't be the issue here, since Paul44's archive_next suddenly worked the way it should. It could hardly be the problem of me, replacing the program ever time there is a new update. But I've had programs who had stranger ways of fixing. Although I guess it's just the fact that I (and a lot of other people) seem to select it wrong.

With 'datafile' I take it you mean this branch where you have everything together instead of seperated? Like this: Image

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:09 pm

Greenplumbbob wrote:Although I guess it's just the fact that I (and a lot of other people) seem to select it wrong.
There is no "wrong" way to select.

Maybe this video will help.
Greenplumbbob wrote:With 'datafile' I take it you mean this branch where you have everything together instead of seperated?
Image
Click for larger image
A datafile is a compressed chunk of data within the forge file. Datafiles may contain a single file or multiple files. In order to determine what file(s) are contained within a given datafile, that datafile must be decompressed first.
Greenplumbbob wrote:Image
What you have in that image are all required files in the same datafile named AC3_Boston_Fakes.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

Greenplumbbob
n00b
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:07 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by Greenplumbbob » Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:45 pm

When following you video, and did exactly the same thing, I noticed when you select the mesh (with or without textures expanded), you'll have this black screen (Which I take it is the command prompt of the program that it's going to be using.) I've seen that 'window' a lot of times when opening whatever normal map with the program, but it doesn't with when I select a mesh the same way you did. I just simply get the error and no second window. I've no idea if it's correct that I have 2 .exe files. One to open the program and the second is Texconv.exe. Do I need to open Archive_next through Command prompt? I guess it doesn't matter if I open it up through Command Prompt or with the actual .exe file.

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:11 pm

Greenplumbbob wrote:When following you video, and did exactly the same thing, I noticed when you select the mesh (with or without textures expanded), you'll have this black screen (Which I take it is the command prompt of the program that it's going to be using.) I've seen that 'window' a lot of times when opening whatever normal map with the program, but it doesn't with when I select a mesh the same way you did. I just simply get the error and no second window. I've no idea if it's correct that I have 2 .exe files. One to open the program and the second is Texconv.exe.
The black screen you see flashing is texconv.exe running to convert any DX10 dds textures into a useable DXT dds texture. You don't see it happen when you attempt to view a model because the model viewer crashes before it gets to the point where it needs to convert those textures.
Greenplumbbob wrote:Do I need to open Archive_next through Command prompt? I guess it doesn't matter if I open it up through Command Prompt or with the actual .exe file.
No. You can start ARchive_neXt from the desktop shortcut, from the start menu, or from the ARchive_neXt.exe. You do not need to do anything special.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:40 am

Version 3.02.07.0 Now Available! (Link is in my sig)

Fixes an issue where some exported MTL files were referencing textures improperly.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:36 am

I should also mention in regards to the latest release, there is a new mesh type (Softbody Mesh). I haven't finished working out all the details of this type yet. For the games I have gotten the farthest, you will see a screen much like the image below:

Image
Click for larger image

See that button that says "3D View". Save your self some time and don't press it. Nothing happens if you do press it, however, when trying to move on to something else after pressing it will throw an unhandled exception. It's trying to dispose of a 3D view that was never created. Not a big problem, just an annoying one.

When I was fixing the OBJ MTL export issue, I had forgotten that I wasn't finished with this mesh type yet.

Sorry for the annoyance.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

Paul44
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:06 pm
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by Paul44 » Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:44 pm

@Greenplumbbob: following is a 'sum up' of things I had done recently (in January). The problem is I can not determine what actually solved the crashing. If you plan to try this out, then do this step per step, reboot, rename/delete your [prefs.arx] and then run the program. and so on...
Before installing the latest vs, uninstall your current vs (just to be sure).

Summary (sofar):

Windows 7 x64 fully updated (something I do monthly normally)
-------------
I noticed I still had a prev vs of arch_next (v2.xx?); downloaded Dec last year. (forgot to note down exact vs).
Anyways: decided to reinstall/test that vs, and indeed I got errors again. Updated to current 3.1.x vs and everything is fine...
-------------
ASUS GPU TweakII (nvidia tweak tool):
installed pretty recently?! (jan). can't imagine, but maybe it added/updated some specific dll.
(did some minor testing with it, but had everything reset to default at the end)
-------------
- MS VC++ 2005-2008-2010-2012-2013 (x86 & x64)
- MS .NET fw 4.6
(all updated ~ but that was already the case as far as I can remember)
-------------
It does not seem to be the nvidia driver.
Uninstalled it completely (nvidia uninstaller guru3d), ran program with default vga giving crash, then installed nVidea v355.82_x64 (vs that definitely gave crash issues), and arch_next just works nicely..
-------------
[ http://www.sereby.org/site/AiO ]: ie update all vc/directx/.net (if needed)
(I believe that i tried this as well with arch_next already, but not sure - only those 3 options; ignored the rest. Fe: i do not have Java installed... at all)
-------------
I also recollect "forcing" to reinstall DirectX9: you need to edit the registry, but I do not remember the exact details...


Good luck.

Greenplumbbob
n00b
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:07 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by Greenplumbbob » Wed Feb 10, 2016 7:31 pm

Paul44 wrote:
Summary (sofar):

Windows 7 x64 fully updated (something I do monthly normally)
-------------
I noticed I still had a prev vs of arch_next (v2.xx?); downloaded Dec last year. (forgot to note down exact vs).
Anyways: decided to reinstall/test that vs, and indeed I got errors again. Updated to current 3.1.x vs and everything is fine...
-------------
ASUS GPU TweakII (nvidia tweak tool):
installed pretty recently?! (jan). can't imagine, but maybe it added/updated some specific dll.
(did some minor testing with it, but had everything reset to default at the end)
-------------
- MS VC++ 2005-2008-2010-2012-2013 (x86 & x64)
- MS .NET fw 4.6
(all updated ~ but that was already the case as far as I can remember)
-------------
It does not seem to be the nvidia driver.
Uninstalled it completely (nvidia uninstaller guru3d), ran program with default vga giving crash, then installed nVidea v355.82_x64 (vs that definitely gave crash issues), and arch_next just works nicely..
-------------
[ http://www.sereby.org/site/AiO ]: ie update all vc/directx/.net (if needed)
(I believe that i tried this as well with arch_next already, but not sure - only those 3 options; ignored the rest. Fe: i do not have Java installed... at all)
-------------
I also recollect "forcing" to reinstall DirectX9: you need to edit the registry, but I do not remember the exact details...


Good luck.
Thanks for the post! I tried it out as fast as I saw the post. Here is what I did:

- I, also update Windows 7 every month so this wouldn't be the issue

- I keep re-installing every new version of the program, and I even reinstalled it again, I also uninstalled it with the program and then reinstalled it.

- I don't own a Nvidia card or anything Nvidia (I'll have one in my new computer, but that's going to take a while). So I wasn't being able to test out the tweak tool... it looked interesting though! Kind of reminded me of Cortex Razer, but they both are really different.

-I noticed the link you gave me had already these updates in them, so what I did was installed the necessary things, as MS VC++ (All of them, although it seemed that I didn't had 2015 at first, but that one didn't seem to be the case). I installed MS .NET fw 4.6.1. I've no idea if the '1' is a problem, but I thought it's better to have it up-to-date. But everything except for the MS VC++ 2015 seemed to be up-to-date.

- I literally re-installed my Drivers again (worst decision ever, as my screen was all messed up and had to restart in order to fix that so I could install it again.) But this time I installed a somewhat older update. My computer is basically all Intel, due the fact that I bootcamped it. So it's orignally a mac. Anyway, I updated it to a earlier version, because when I used Archive_next with the latest driver update and I wanted to see if that could have been the case.

- Same here! Don't have Java installed as well. But I guess Java isn't really needed when it comes to programs like Archive_next. I was also lucky that I can read a little bit of German, else I wouldn't have figured out what to do.

- I went searching for the Directx 9 reinstalling, and they mentioned I had to restore my system to when I didn't had Directx 9 on my computer. I wasn't going to take that risk because the Directx versions were the first thing I installed when I just bootcamped my computer to windows. But I found a site that told me to delete the folder in the registry (which wasn't the first time doing so, since I had to do the similar thing with other installed programs before.) So I did that correctly as well.

And with all that done, I restarted my computer after every update or installed program that was needed. Also with programs that didn't ask to restart my computer, like Directx. Now the error that it always gives me (which was first a driver error because I didn't had my drivers installed to see if it mattered, but it did.):

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at ARchive_neXt.arxForm.arxDrawMesh()
at ARchive_neXt.arxForm.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
ARchive_neXt
Assembly Version: 3.2.7.0
Win32 Version: 3.02.07.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/TBotR/ARchive_neXt/ARchive_neXt.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.DirectX
Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.DirectX.Direct3D
Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
Win32 Version: 9.05.132.0000
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX.Direct3D/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.Direct3D.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.DirectX.Direct3DX
Assembly Version: 1.0.2911.0
Win32 Version: 9.12.589.0000
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX.Direct3DX/1.0.2911.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.Direct3DX.dll
----------------------------------------
Accessibility
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Accessibility/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Accessibility.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.6.1067.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
ArchiveX
Assembly Version: 2.9.7.0
Win32 Version: 2.09.07.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/TBotR/ARchive_neXt/ArchiveX.DLL
----------------------------------------
FreeImageNET
Assembly Version: 3.11.0.0
Win32 Version: 3.11.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/TBotR/ARchive_neXt/FreeImageNET.DLL
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualC
Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 12.00.52512.0 built by: VSWINSERVICING
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualC/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualC.dll
----------------------------------------

Now I know this error appears because it can't load the textures, as someone ever mentioned before. But maybe it's a bit helpful.

mustafasahinfb
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 2:22 pm

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by mustafasahinfb » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:08 pm

Last version fantastic :D "search button" please :)

Kjasi
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:50 am
Location: Earth, Sol System
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by Kjasi » Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:53 am

Actually, I have a (I think) simple suggestion. On any parent item in the tree list, right-click->Load Children.

It opens up every tree item under the selected item. Load children on a .forge file? It loads all the files from that forge file. Load Children from a skeleton parent? It loads all the skeletons in that folder.

That will make a number of people happy, without forcing everyone to load an entire forge file if they don't want to.
-end of line

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:29 pm

mustafasahinfb wrote:Last version fantastic :D "search button" please :)
With the way ARchive_neXt works, a "Search Button" is extremely limited.
Kjasi wrote:Actually, I have a (I think) simple suggestion. On any parent item in the tree list, right-click->Load Children.

It opens up every tree item under the selected item. Load children on a .forge file? It loads all the files from that forge file. Load Children from a skeleton parent? It loads all the skeletons in that folder.

That will make a number of people happy, without forcing everyone to load an entire forge file if they don't want to.
The only benefit to this would be on the forge file branch. Once you open any branch within a forge file branch that expands the datafile and indexes all files within. And that benefit can be extremely time consuming.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

ostrov88
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:25 pm

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by ostrov88 » Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:40 am

Hello
Win 7
3d view don't work
Image

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:40 pm

ostrov88 wrote:Hello
Win 7
3d view don't work
It is a known issue that has yet to be solved. You can still export the model without a problem.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

Gh0stBlade
Moderator
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by Gh0stBlade » Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:32 am

Do you plan to support Rainbow Six Siege?

Cheers.
Click the thanks button if I helped!

User avatar
MichaelDarkAngel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Somewhere, out there... But, not quite here...
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 165 times
Contact:

Re: ARchive_neXt

Post by MichaelDarkAngel » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:49 am

Gh0stBlade wrote:Do you plan to support Rainbow Six Siege?
Still working on it.

--MDA
Image
MDA

Like TBotR on Facebook
ARchive_neXt v4.03.27.0 Now Available!

"I intend to leave a memory of myself in the minds of others."
Leonardo da Vinci,
disciple of experience

Post Reply