The rules have been updated, read them now: Rules!

[HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

[HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:23 pm

Hello everyone :)

Today i was editing some game files with the QuickBMS and I was wandering how to get it to "re-inject" back into the .pak file...
So that i can actually run the damn thing :D

I know there are instructions but - atleast to me- they are unclear and as i am a big noob to this i do not understand how to do it :s

Any help would be much appriciated!

for now i will QQ

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:19 pm

just bumping it up a wee bit so someone replies...

maybe ill add more info...

I have extracted the file called Editor.pak

it extracted to give 3 folders containing more stuff...

I edited one file in one of the folders - now i would like to know how would i go about putting the whole thing back into a .pak so i can run it with the game.

merlinsvk
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:11 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by merlinsvk » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:09 am

If am I right, delete those unmodified files, then
1. open QuickBMS with -r -w parameters (e.g. make a shortcut to quickbms.exe with -r -w in Target field),
2. select .bms script used for extracting
3. select original .pak file (rather choose its copy, if something will go bad)
4. select directory with modified files that you want to reimport back

You are done.

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:16 am

merlinsvk wrote:If am I right, delete those unmodified files, then
1. open QuickBMS with -r -w parameters (e.g. make a shortcut to quickbms.exe with -r -w in Target field),
2. select .bms script used for extracting
3. select original .pak file (rather choose its copy, if something will go bad)
4. select directory with modified files that you want to reimport back

You are done.

Thanks very very much!
Does it matter if the script is a .txt file? It worked for extracting so im assuming it will work just as well


-----------------------------------------
Edit
-----------------------------------------

It says zero files injected even though i followed the steps :s
Any tips?

had a couple of files to inject so i used the "file name" to add the entire file is that correct? (file name is just an example what i mean is i used the "" to mark the folder)


Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

^^^ my error

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 648 times
Contact:

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by aluigi » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:40 am

depends by the script because some scripts don't support reinjection (like mk9.bms)

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:53 am

aluigi wrote:depends by the script because some scripts don't support reinjection (like mk9.bms)






this is where the script is found - http://aluigi.org/papers/bms/crysis2.bms

can anyone confirm if i can re-inject?
Last edited by badMan on Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 648 times
Contact:

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by aluigi » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:55 am

crysis2.bms works perfectly in reinjection mode, indeed it's used for creating mods and cheats

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:11 pm

aluigi wrote:crysis2.bms works perfectly in reinjection mode, indeed it's used for creating mods and cheats
thanks for the confirmation - i must be doing something wrong then :)

would it bother you if i made a video of what im doing so you can tell me when i am doing wrong?

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:29 pm

Alright this is what im doing:
WATCH IN 1080P OR YOU WON'T SEE THE LETTERS!
:roll:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awd6UBoEilk



im going to get the shopping done now - it would be amazing if someone replied by the time i get back :D :ninja:

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:10 pm

ughhh just figured it out -_-

the modded texture was over twice the size of the original! :eek:

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 648 times
Contact:

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by aluigi » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:27 pm

the problem is simple: you MUST select the folder where you extracted the files and NOT the one where is located the file you want to import.

I have explained and repeated this thing various times and that's why I say that the reimport feature is exactly identical to the extraction except that instead of clicking on quickbms.exe you must click on the link.

while for the size of the file, yes it must be minor/equal than the original one.
in case of size problems quickbms will interrupt the reimport and will show you the exact error.

badMan
n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by badMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:13 pm

aluigi wrote:the problem is simple: you MUST select the folder where you extracted the files and NOT the one where is located the file you want to import.

I have explained and repeated this thing various times and that's why I say that the reimport feature is exactly identical to the extraction except that instead of clicking on quickbms.exe you must click on the link.

while for the size of the file, yes it must be minor/equal than the original one.
in case of size problems quickbms will interrupt the reimport and will show you the exact error.

thanks again :)

you're the best !


now... to find a program that dosent create images twice the size of the original >.>

michalss
Moderator
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 139 times

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by michalss » Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:39 am

badMan wrote:
aluigi wrote:the problem is simple: you MUST select the folder where you extracted the files and NOT the one where is located the file you want to import.

I have explained and repeated this thing various times and that's why I say that the reimport feature is exactly identical to the extraction except that instead of clicking on quickbms.exe you must click on the link.

while for the size of the file, yes it must be minor/equal than the original one.
in case of size problems quickbms will interrupt the reimport and will show you the exact error.

thanks again :)

you're the best !


now... to find a program that dosent create images twice the size of the original >.>
Here you go mate:

Code: Select all

http://loadfiles.in/21p7ghao0554/Change_File_Size.rar
I wrote it for exactly this kind of things :)
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

User avatar
aluigi
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:26 pm
Location: www.ZENHAX.com
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 648 times
Contact:

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by aluigi » Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:09 pm

@michalss
he intends something completely different.

in short you can't increase the size of a file to reimport without touching all the rest of the file format because this is exactly like having a puzzle and you can replace a piece with a smaller one but you can't replace it with a bigger one without changing all the rest.
and sometimes changing all the rest is really a pain :)

michalss
Moderator
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 139 times

Re: [HELP] QuickBMS - Reinjection

Post by michalss » Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:23 pm

michalss wrote:
badMan wrote:
aluigi wrote:the problem is simple: you MUST select the folder where you extracted the files and NOT the one where is located the file you want to import.

I have explained and repeated this thing various times and that's why I say that the reimport feature is exactly identical to the extraction except that instead of clicking on quickbms.exe you must click on the link.

while for the size of the file, yes it must be minor/equal than the original one.
in case of size problems quickbms will interrupt the reimport and will show you the exact error.

thanks again :)

you're the best !


now... to find a program that dosent create images twice the size of the original >.>
Here you go mate:

Code: Select all

http://loadfiles.in/21p7ghao0554/Change_File_Size.rar
I wrote it for exactly this kind of things :)

Ahh ok. But anyway if file is smaller and you want to be sure that reimport will be ok than use it :)
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

Post Reply