READ THE RULES: Click here

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/xentax/ :)

Dying Light PAK

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
Post Reply
michalss
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Dying Light PAK

Post by michalss » Tue Jan 27, 2015 4:24 pm

Hi All,

Having some trouble to repack files(game does not start after that) from DL game just came out. It looks like normal zip, but .....
Or game checking CRC not sure in this case...

Code: Select all

38234344/DL_paks.rar
rest dw link is in my signature....
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

michalss
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by michalss » Tue Jan 27, 2015 4:48 pm

i guess there is some check crc or something... I cannot figure it out.. Ekey is good for this things??? :)
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

Ekey
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1637
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:54 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 821 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by Ekey » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:23 pm


michalss
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by michalss » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:48 pm

well how do you repack mate ? To make sure game still works.. Extract never was a problem...
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

Ekey
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 1637
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:54 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 821 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by Ekey » Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:44 pm

You already know the answer to this question > QuickBMS readme > Section 3 - for reimporting files.

OrangeC
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:58 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by OrangeC » Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:50 pm

Anyone gonna support the CSB files as well?

User avatar
MiRiKan
advanced
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:28 am
Location: Korea
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by MiRiKan » Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:33 am

repacked using QuickBMS, but still show me "The game cannot start because your game data appear to be corrupted!" :(
Team.SM, Make Koren Translations for Games.

rengareng
veteran
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:23 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by rengareng » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:21 am

Yes, game executable checks PAK files. Therefore, either you modify engine.dll to skip executable check, or try that
http://blog.gib.me/2011/09/09/fixzip-mo ... ngine-dll/

michalss
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by michalss » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:58 am

rengareng wrote:Yes, game executable checks PAK files. Therefore, either you modify engine.dll to skip executable check, or try that
http://blog.gib.me/2011/09/09/fixzip-mo ... ngine-dll/
Is there any chance to mod engine.dll ? How also what is that check, is it CRC ? Gona try that zipfix as well :)
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

jbeckman
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 5:13 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by jbeckman » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:02 am

You don't need to repack the .pak archives. :)

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\DyingLight\out\Data\

That's where you can place the files you modified and it'll override the packed version.

Here's a small test I did with the .scr (script?) file that controls the intro movies in order to skip those.
http://www39.zippyshare.com/v/v03RbV8c/file.html
(I'd really like if the debug mode could be re-activated - which would also have a way to skip the intro logos amongst other useful features. - but sadly debugconf.scr seems entirely ignored so I guess it's locked down as it was with Gunslinger and other more recent Chrome Engine games although hopefully as with those games someone can write a program to re-enable it.)

Would be nice to get into engine_PC.rpack as well and/or optimized_dx11.mp since one of those most likely has the chromatic aberration files and then perhaps disabling that effect will finally be possible. :D
(There's nothing I've found in the .pak files - they are just zip containers by the way so I just open them with WinRar - that work with editing out that effect although some files references a "aberration" effect but editing those break the lighting so it has to be done elsewhere and the two above files both contain references to it so it's probably one of them.)

(Rick / Gibbed's unpacker didn't work as it was probably intended for Chrome Engine 5 and this game uses version 6)

michalss
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:42 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by michalss » Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:07 pm

jbeckman wrote:You don't need to repack the .pak archives. :)

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\DyingLight\out\Data\

That's where you can place the files you modified and it'll override the packed version.

Here's a small test I did with the .scr (script?) file that controls the intro movies in order to skip those.
http://www39.zippyshare.com/v/v03RbV8c/file.html
(I'd really like if the debug mode could be re-activated - which would also have a way to skip the intro logos amongst other useful features. - but sadly debugconf.scr seems entirely ignored so I guess it's locked down as it was with Gunslinger and other more recent Chrome Engine games although hopefully as with those games someone can write a program to re-enable it.)

Would be nice to get into engine_PC.rpack as well and/or optimized_dx11.mp since one of those most likely has the chromatic aberration files and then perhaps disabling that effect will finally be possible. :D
(There's nothing I've found in the .pak files - they are just zip containers by the way so I just open them with WinRar - that work with editing out that effect although some files references a "aberration" effect but editing those break the lighting so it has to be done elsewhere and the two above files both contain references to it so it's probably one of them.)

(Rick / Gibbed's unpacker didn't work as it was probably intended for Chrome Engine 5 and this game uses version 6)

I have try this of course :)... It does not work for DataEN.pak files for others it might work but for texts pak it does not .. RPACK i have start do some reseach allready based of Ricks and someone else research :D
Quick BMS Editor GUI - simple easy to use
Goto : viewtopic.php?uid=34229&f=29&t=6797&start=0

Downloads from DropBox : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/

jbeckman
advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 5:13 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by jbeckman » Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:27 pm

Oh I see, how strange that it doesn't work with the language files.

I guess the game also won't load other .pak files so you could build on the existing data with say Data04.pak
(And while Data03.pak is just a placeholder for future patches I guess it also gets checked by the game for validation.)

User avatar
MiRiKan
advanced
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:28 am
Location: Korea
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by MiRiKan » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:58 am

rengareng wrote:Yes, game executable checks PAK files. Therefore, either you modify engine.dll to skip executable check, or try that
http://blog.gib.me/2011/09/09/fixzip-mo ... ngine-dll/
IT WORKED! for DataEn.pak file.
thanks!
Team.SM, Make Koren Translations for Games.

User avatar
InKviZ
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by InKviZ » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:38 am

Hi guys! How to unpack and pack DataEn.pak Tried as written here: http://blog.gib.me/2011/09/09/fixzip-mo ... ngine-dll/ But I can not. Tell me how to do it.
UALT - Ukrainian Localize Team.

qabRieL
veteran
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:58 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dying Light PAK

Post by qabRieL » Mon May 18, 2015 11:09 pm

I need to get my hands on font files. Does anyone know where they are located, and how can I edit them?

Post Reply