XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:19 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Creating plugin to enable animation with Crisis Core models?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:58 am 
Offline
veteran

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:50 pm
Posts: 86
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time

While I presently don't have the skill, or know-how to do so, does anyone here want to work on creating a plugin that would allow Noesis to understand the animation data in Crisis Core, so that models (and perhaps any map/level animations, unless that's handled by the game exclusively) could go through their various animations like the Dissidia models can?

viewtopic.php?p=50780#p50780
MrAdults wrote:
Well, most likely that data is in the mot files that Noesis extracts from the game's package. I haven't even looked at them myself yet, so I have no idea how hard it would be to get at the data. But if you are not familiar with the process of reverse-engineering animation data, you probably aren't going to have any luck with it. If you are, well, you can get a copy of Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Express Edition, load up a Noesis plugin (solutions and projects are included with Noesis in pluginsource.zip) and modify it to do what you want. The IQM plugin demonstrates how to get animation data to Noesis, although it does it in a somewhat unusual manner. If you wanted to feed pure animation data back from your plugin instead of model+animation data, you would use rapi->Noesis_AllocModelContainer(NULL, animData, 1); instead of the typical rpgConstructModel interface.


You can make the ads go away by registering



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Creating plugin to enable animation with Crisis Core mod
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:18 am 
Offline
veteran

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:50 pm
Posts: 86
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time
So with the trailer for FFVII G-Bike (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3KKH9zB59Y) clearly using a bunch of Crisis Core assets, I figure now is a good time to bump this topic in hopes someone might be interested?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Creating plugin to enable animation with Crisis Core mod
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:29 pm 
Offline
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:55 pm
Posts: 267
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 5 times
Since the original filenames are lost, it's hard to tell what goes with what, which is probably why nobody has ever looked into it.

The animations appear to be in the .mot files that noesis outputs, but they aren't specifically for animation. There's sound effects in there as well, in the SCD format. If you have a look at file8623.mot, that's one for Zack. Contained in there is sound effects (probably footsteps) lang (subtitles?) and what looks like 2 animations. Even then they are inside ATEL files.

I don't see anything in there for cutscene models though, everything just seems to be playable only, so Zack, monsters, bosses and magic are the only things there.

Actually, looking at a memory dump, the original names may be able to be dumped. I'm seeing lines of text like:

host0://crisis/proj/chr/bin/motion/zack ... eal1_a.mot
host0://crisis/proj/chr/bin/motion/zack ... ian1_a.mot
(These are not links, don't click them)

They could easily just be hashed in a similar way to dissidia's filenames.



Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group