XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:37 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Modding Results
PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 3:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
Code:

This thread was formerly known as "PAINKiller - 1st experiences





Let me be the first to post some small modding experience here then.

Game: Painkiller

- Using the DDS plugin for Adobe Photoshop
(available here: ttp://developer.nvidia.com/object/nv_texture_tools.html )
- Using Painfull
(extractor/importer for Painkiller PAK files availabe here : viewtopic.php?p=3626#3626 )

I was able to alter some sounds for creatures (took some from C&C Generals) in sounds.pak, and textures in textures.pak. See below 8)


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.


_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Last edited by Mr.Mouse on Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:54 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 10:01 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
You can toggle different view modes from within the editor (simply select another and return to the game):


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.


_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 12:26 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 31
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times
Ok really, no teasing here - how are you doing that ?
The only way I have been able to get the box outlines to show is in the no clip mode, but they are only displayed while clipping is turned off.
Cmon dude, share the beans. 8D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 12:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
(get the new version of Painfull first)
-Start Painfull
-Start the game (start a level)
-Press escape to view options menu, then switch to Windows and Painfull
-In Painfull, select Game->View PainEditor
-From within Pain Editor (the mouse is invisible, but you just have to do some target practice) select the view mode (see screenshot from Killerpain)
-Return to the game (don't worry, Pain Editor will stay visible) and resume the level, voila

Look for this in Pain Editor:
You can select different views at one, here Wireframe is highlighted. I have to work on a way to get the mouse visible.

Image

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 2:34 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 31
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times
Alright, this is where ya lost me :
-In Painfull, select Game->View PainEditor
What do you mean " select game" ?
I'm using v 1.1, and I dont see anything for "select Game "


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 3:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
Mr.Mouse wrote:
(get the new version of Painfull first)-Start Painfull
-Start the game (start a level)
-Press escape to view options menu, then switch to Windows and Painfull
-In Painfull, select Game->View PainEditor
-From within Pain Editor (the mouse is invisible, but you just have to do some target practice) select the view mode (see screenshot from Killerpain)
-Return to the game (don't worry, Pain Editor will stay visible) and resume the level, voila


So, get the new version already ! (1.3)
http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?t=732

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 4:25 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 31
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times
OK, got it.

And thank you, this rocks !![/img]


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Last edited by Wizzy on Fri May 21, 2004 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 4:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
Hehe, yeah, i'd seen that mode too ;)
Still need to figure out a way to make that damn mouse come back in the Editor window, they turned it off, but Killerpain made a screenshot and HIS mouse was visible. I'm just too stupid to know how to get it back, apparently. :oops:

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 5:02 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 31
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times
Use the force, luke.

Ha ha ha ha.

Cursors ? we dont need no stinking cursors !!!

Actually, yeah - a cursor would be great.
But since I haven't a clue where you went to get all this working, I wouldn't know where to start looking for the instructions for capturing the mouse.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 7:18 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 31
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times
Wait - here's a thought...
Have you tried exporting the cursors as .res files out of paingame.exe and into painfull.exe ?
Since it is Painfull.exe that enables the viewing of the editor, perhaps it will use the cursors if you put them in there ?
Or, place all of the .cur files in a new .pak file named cursors.pak and have loader.lua load it ?
Just a thought.

EDIT :
Well crap, I created cursors.pak and nothing.
but since loader.lua loads scripts and not .pak files, this isn't much of a surprise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
I just thought this would make a subject for the Holy Cow! forum. There's a lot of questions asked about this or that file type, people figuring out archive formats and the like. The general idea behind this all is of course modding a favourite game.

But what happens after the analyses are complete?

Are people effectively changing the way a game looks, plays or sounds?

Personally, I'd like to hear about it, because then we know why we do it .

So, if you have any mods to share - even though small, like changing a model or even texture - then share it here!

You might just make us shed a tear from happiness. It would bring so much joy to our grey and hexeditor-bound lives!

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding Results
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
As you can see, no-one shares the final results of their modding efforts. :x :(

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding Results
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 5:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:55 am
Posts: 703
Location: The wiki.
Has thanked: 107 times
Have thanks: 122 times
That kind of sucks... But then, no one responded to my thread on the new Wiki BBCode, and I posted that as a global announcement two months ago... :cry:

_________________
Welcome to Xentax!

Rules | Requests | Wiki

If you run across a post that breaks the rules, please PM Craptain, Mr.Mouse, or myself - we will handle it from there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding Results
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:26 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:46 pm
Posts: 119
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 9 times
I once changed the intro of a Yu-Gi-Oh! game for the PS2 to an episode of Yu-Gi-Oh! The Abridged Series
d4mn fun I say...btw if you're wondering what that has to do with the topic...well you asked for modding results right?...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding Results
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 544 times
:D Yes, I did. Perhaps we should have a MOD your favourite game contest, no big professional stuff, but the stuff ordinary people could do using the right tools...:)

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group