Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:00 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Best Game engines
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:30 pm 
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran

Have thanks: 40 times

which would be a good engine to make a custom rpg, ala skyrim but possibly more optimized and without all that annyoing hardcoded limits?

You can make the ads go away by registering

Post subject: Re: Best Game engines
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:31 pm 
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran

Have thanks: 18 times
Outside of my first question of 'Are you good enough to make something that takes an entire 100+ person company several years to produce?'

Will you be doing the art or only the programming?

As for engines, I'd personally recommend unity, I've been using it myself for 2 years now, I've also used UDK many times, and am currently using it for freelance, but the UDK licensing terms are honestly ridiculous, for a company that wants to attract indies, they're doing more or less everything to counter that.

UDK means you can get more pretty with less work by simply using the default shaders and whatnot, though it means you'd be stuck with the 'Unreal Engine' look, that so many Unreal games suffer from.

Unity wise you'd have to put in a fair bit more effort into the shader creation as unity doesn't come by default with amazing default shaders like UDK does, but due to the asset store and a huge forum, plus plenty of free resources, you'd be able to get up and running gameplay wise a lot faster than UDK, there are actually kits being sold for not very expensive ($30 maybe) to create a skyrim style RPG, you'd still need to put in quite a bit of time into your own scripts and systems however, but the asset store could save you quite a lot of time.