XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:16 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 119 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:35 am 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:07 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Yes but didn't you say the materials were .mat files? Anyway I'll try looking deeper in the files when I have more time.

You can make the ads go away by registering



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:30 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 364
Has thanked: 13 times
Have thanks: 122 times
Yes, but I mean that the Mat file, that is referenced in the App file, probably indicates which texture to use on the model. That texture is just an image stored as .tex file, an that .tex file can be converted to dds file by this tool

Hope I make any sence?

T.

_________________
My Game Dev Blog
My Starcraft II Mod files and scripts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:28 am 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:20 am
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
i've been playing around with the program and i cannot figure out how to get it to work :?

i put the -d [directory] in but it keeps saying that the place its in cannot be found?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:29 pm 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm
Posts: 45
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Greetings,

I've downloaded the D3Appconverter of TaylorMouse, and downloaded the client of the Beta.

How can I get models with textures (which I can load to a 3d Framework like Away3D or Alternativa3D)?

Thanks for your help!

BR,
Monguron

_________________
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:31 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 364
Has thanked: 13 times
Have thanks: 122 times
1. Download the MPQ extractor
2. Extract all app files from the archive into a folder, exaple in the c:\temp\extracted\, just make sure the files are all put into this folder
3. Download my app and put it in the c:\temp\extracted\ folder
4. Open a cmd window and browse to the c:\temp\extracted\ folder
5. Run the following command : ( this can take up to 40 minutes )
Code:
D3Appconverter.exe -d "c:\temp\extracted\"


6. Download the D3TexConv.exe
7. Extract the tex files with the MPQ extractor
8. COnvert the tex files with the D3TexConv.exe to dds
9. Open up Max
10.Import the obj file that you want, open the material editor and find the matching texture

T.

_________________
My Game Dev Blog
My Starcraft II Mod files and scripts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:23 pm 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm
Posts: 45
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Hey!

Thanks for the details.

_________________
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:32 am 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:20 am
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
i tried that but it comes up saying
Code:
C:\Users\Afrokid>D3AppConvert2Obj.exe -d "C:\Users\Afrokid\Desktop\Appearance"
'D3AppConvert2Obj.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.


Edit: after i posted this i realised it should of been
Code:
C:\Users\Afrokid\Desktop\Appearance\D3AppConvert2Obj.exe -d "C:\Users\Afrokid\Desktop\Appearance"


working beautifully, thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm
Posts: 45
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Hi,

It's not working for me.

I've performed these steps:
Quote:
1) I've made a folde C:\temp\extracted
2) I copied Adria.app and D3AppConvert2Obj.exe into this folder
3) I've run C:\temp\extracted\D3AppConvert2Obj.exe -d "C:\temp\extracted\"


No failure message, but nothing happens.
What did I do wrong?

_________________
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:33 am 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm
Posts: 45
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Hmm now it's working, that I've put an Appearance folder into the extracted folder, and copied all the files there

_________________
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:41 pm 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:21 pm
Posts: 12
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
TaylorMouse wrote:
T.

Doesn't works for straight .obj > .max conversion :)
Atleast for 12' Design.
Requires some heavy conversion trixx :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:22 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 364
Has thanked: 13 times
Have thanks: 122 times
What do you mean, "..requires some serious conversion trix..." ?

T.

_________________
My Game Dev Blog
My Starcraft II Mod files and scripts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:21 pm
Posts: 12
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
TaylorMouse wrote:
What do you mean, "..requires some serious conversion trix..." ?

T.

If you import an .obj from your app straight into Studio or even DE, verticles are calculated incorrectly, well atleast for me.
For me it worked with Blender > Studio combo, so i had to import model into Blender first and than export it to Autodesk FBX so all verticles are calculated correctly and all UVMapping are correct (.obj > blender > .obj > studio does work)
The only working combo i found for myself is .obj > Blender > .fbx > Studio > .obj > My Render Engine :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:34 pm 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:03 pm
Posts: 45
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Insane,

[url]join us on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=7337&start=45[/url]

Just discussing model topics ... as I also had (I'm still having) problems with opening the 3D models.

_________________
Diablo3 dataminers!
Keep up the good work guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 1:38 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:13 pm
Posts: 93
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 12 times
I didn't know if I should start a new thread, or resurrect this old one, but anyways; The retail version of Diablo 3 .tex files cannot seem to be opened by D3TexConv_v0.9:

I get "Invalid Texture or Surface (SNO Header Mismatch)"

Is anyone working on a new Diablo 3 .tex texture converter? PM me as required, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures of Beta Diablo 3, ".tex" files converter needed
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 4:02 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 7:54 am
Posts: 23
Has thanked: 15 times
Have thanks: 2 times
Actually, it still works.

Just open the .tex file using a Hex Editor, you should see (ï¾.Þ-) just change it to (ï¾.Þ+).
Their values in Hex are (EF BE AD DE 2D) to (EF BE AD DE 2B).



Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 119 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group