XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 3:45 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:50 am 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:29 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
episoder wrote:
okay. raw stuff. did the extraction in bms. it outputs dx10 ddses. was easier to deal with bc3+ files. works with batch folder and reimport, but ofc you need a dx10 dds, the same format and sizes. you need the full texture data chunk with mipmaps. in that case they are needed - like most models will need them - you gotta generate them when saving the modified texture.

now... i'm still waiting for the test here. dunno if the de-archiver can reimport this correct now.

edit: probably luck the compressed chunk fit in there, but we got a skintone bra. :]

Image


Hey, nice work!

I am trying to do the same you did and came pretty far but I fail at using the right settings for saving my .dds because the textures look broken when put in game. I am using Photoshop with the Intel .dds plugin. But it does not have the bc3+ compression you are talking about as a option. Could you tell me what program you used to edited your .dds? Thanks! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:38 am 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:58 am
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
episoder wrote:
okay. raw stuff. did the extraction in bms. it outputs dx10 ddses. was easier to deal with bc3+ files. works with batch folder and reimport, but ofc you need a dx10 dds, the same format and sizes. you need the full texture data chunk with mipmaps. in that case they are needed - like most models will need them - you gotta generate them when saving the modified texture.

now... i'm still waiting for the test here. dunno if the de-archiver can reimport this correct now.

edit: probably luck the compressed chunk fit in there, but we got a skintone bra. :]

Image


Excuse me, how to convert from dds to btex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 5:50 pm 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:44 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 11 times
Just copy pure pixels from one file to another, without headers etc.

If modified file has the same format as the original one, then pixels will fit without any problems.

...or use QuickBMS.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:27 pm 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:43 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Robin wrote:
I have extracted btex file from fntbin file

How you extract it? I want to replace russian font with something since it's awful.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:12 pm 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:44 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 11 times
Open fntbin in hexeditor and search "SEDBbtex" - this is start of the btex file. Except one file, where are stored two BTEX files (I don't remember which one), BTEX content is till the end of fntbin file.

But you have to set correct kerning etc. This info is stored in fntbin, starting from 20205h (font_event.dx11.fntbin) and there are 9 bytes for every character:
1) offset from left of the whole texture, 2 bytes
2) offset from top, 2 bytes
3) texture start, from left, 1 byte (can be negative: 255 means -1) - kerning on the left side of character
4) texture start, from top, 1 byte (vertical placement of character)
5) texture width, 1 byte (how many pixels game have to read starting from 1))
6) texture height, 1 byte
7) whole block of character width (kerning on the right side of character), 1 byte. Example: If you have character with start 2 pixels after beginning of the block - 3) is set to "2", then 7) should be 2 (kerning from left) + texture width + 2 (kerning from right).

Try change something and check how it looks in game. It only looks difficult ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:51 am 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:43 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
I hope i can avoid kerning edits. Will try to make same sized letters just align and smooth them out.
Look at that. I think the person who made it was dead drunk or was a bear.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:36 am 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:43 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
So I made it, but with all the ajustments needed to make letters fit old placements it doesen't look any better.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:46 pm 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:44 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 11 times
What is wrong with these letters? I see problems with kerning in "т", "с" and "у", but don't know cyrillic alphabet too much to see another issues. Also, game is scaling these fonts, on my computer it would be looking even worst ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:58 pm 
Offline
ultra-n00b

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:43 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Inconsistent kerning, some letters looks smaller than others like "д" in одному, asymmetric letters like "т" has longer stroke on the right etc.
I noticed that bytes in XY are reversed for some reason. For example 265 written as 09 01 instead 01 09. Took me an hour to determine where 10th byte coming from. :buck:
Here I photoshoped calibri over original. I want it to be like this.
http://www.framecompare.com/screenshotcomparison/J2C1NNNU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BTEX in FF15 PC
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:34 pm 
Offline
n00b

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:44 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 11 times
Yeah, so kerning has to be modified. SE probably used Pro versions of some CJK fonts and just copied kerning to the game.

As for bytes, they are always reversed, as they are arranged in little-endian format.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group