XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:52 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:54 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
trexjones wrote:
Not sure if I've missed something here or elsewhere, but have skeletons been figured into the picture yet? I'm super familiar with volfin's Alien tools and am just getting around to this one and the Deus Ex one, so I figured I'd check...


Generally I don't do skeletons, it adds an order of magnitude of time and complexity. especially when like with DeusEx and Hitman, the skeleton is in a separate file from the model. I'll often import original weights if I figure out the format, but so far, I've been unable to decipher how they are stored for Hitman/DeusEx:MD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:05 pm 
Offline
veteran

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 6:54 am
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 6 times
Ah! Thanks for the heads up! Hopefully someone with the know-how and time feels compelled to look into it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:39 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
Minor Update:
- Ensure Object mode is active before attempting import
- Validated functionality back to Blender version 2.70 (oldest supported)

Edit: newer version below.


Last edited by volfin on Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:19 am 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:51 am
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 5 times
volfin wrote:
Minor Update:
- Ensure Object mode is active before attempting import
- Validated functionality back to Blender version 2.70 (oldest supported)


Hey Volfin, would you be able to update this to include support for these models.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:11 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
Can you tell me more about this model? Which chunk file did it come from, and what was the original directory/filename? It's format is completely different than every other model in the game I've seen. Is it even from Hitman?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:45 am 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:51 am
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 5 times
volfin wrote:
Can you tell me more about this model? Which chunk file did it come from, and what was the original directory/filename? It's format is completely different than every other model in the game I've seen. Is it even from Hitman?


It came from an Alpha Build of the game which came with hashes, thus the filename. Interesting to hear that's completely different.

It might help to include options on the original script to import file extensions .prim & .pc_prim, because I guess that's what the real file format is for .dat files extracted in the PRIM folder is?

I've included another example


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:03 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
Ah that explains it then. Yeah it's not that far off, but several key blocks are missing data and have different sizes. They also stored vertices as integers instead of floats which isn't how any of the models were stored in the release. I think I can make something that will load them, but it may not be that stable, I'd have to basically research the whole format again hehe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:42 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
Ok this version adds support for Alpha version models (at least based on the two I saw.)

Enjoy.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:24 am 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:51 am
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 5 times
volfin wrote:
Ok this version adds support for Alpha version models (at least based on the two I saw.)

Enjoy.


That was way faster than expected.
Adding extension support for .pc_prim would be helpful, saves mass renaming through command line.

EDIT: I have more work for you Volfin, seems like some sort of linked mesh file? Not sure what it contains :P


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:01 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
hhchunter wrote:
That was way faster than expected.
Adding extension support for .pc_prim would be helpful, saves mass renaming through command line.

I did:
Image
it will show those 3 extensions. And anyway if you just click the "Funnel" icon (filter), Blender will show all files. no need to rename anything.


hhchunter wrote:
EDIT: I have more work for you Volfin, seems like some sort of linked mesh file? Not sure what it contains :P

i'll take a look, if it's simple i'll add it, if it's off the wall, I probably don't have time. I mean most of this stuff should be in the release game anyway right?

EDIT: yeah this one is a strange mix of the old and the new, and there's simply no way to tell from the file what version of what to use. I'd have to write a standalone importer just for this 'alpha' and since I doubt many have it, it's a lot of work for one or two people's benefit. Sorry, but I just don't have the time to spend on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:37 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:35 am
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 4 times
is the 2016 agent 47 model out yet?
because i can't find it on any 3d model site.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:07 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:51 am
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 5 times
In lieu of HITMAN 2 being released and using the same texture format, but with a possibly slightly different header.

Quick analysis looks like it's dropped or moved around two bits?
- Height & width looks to be @ 0xC & 0xE.


Some examples of the new texture format can be downloaded from here

I've started rewriting cippyboy's simple texture conversion tool, however I need help / still need to remove it's dependencies on his RE libraries and somehow replicate them using std or something simple. I believe Volfin had done this previously but there wasn't any source I could continue/update or investigate from :( Makes it a bit of a hard task for someone who barely understands how to code.

https://github.com/HHCHunter/HITMAN/tre ... /G2TexConv


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:24 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
hhchunter wrote:
In lieu of HITMAN 2 being released and using the same texture format, but with a possibly slightly different header.

Quick analysis looks like it's dropped or moved around two bits?
- Height & width looks to be @ 0xC & 0xE.


Some examples of the new texture format can be downloaded from here

I've started rewriting cippyboy's simple texture conversion tool, however I need help / still need to remove it's dependencies on his RE libraries and somehow replicate them using std or something simple. I believe Volfin had done this previously but there wasn't any source I could continue/update or investigate from :( Makes it a bit of a hard task for someone who barely understands how to code.

https://github.com/HHCHunter/HITMAN/tre ... /G2TexConv


if you want the source code, all you have to do is ask. I mostly didn't give it out because it's an embarrassingly quick and dirty hack job, code is messy.

But you're welcome to the code if you want. Here's my version of Cippy's converter. The project is for Visual Studio 2017 but the code should work with older compilers.

Note that it's still dependent on the Eigen Math Library: http://eigen.tuxfamily.org/index.php?title=Main_Page (my version was from 2016 so hopefully newer versions still work fine)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1gjODb4 ... sp=sharing

And yeah, looking at the files, I think the data offsets are all changed.


Last edited by volfin on Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:41 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:51 am
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 5 times
Quote:
if you want the source code, all you have to do is ask. I mostly didn't give it out because it's an embarrassingly quick and dirty hack job, code is messy.

But you're welcome to the code if you want. Here's my version of Cippy's converter. The project is for Visual Studio 2017 but the code should work with older compilers.

Note that it's still dependent on the Eigen Math Library: http://eigen.tuxfamily.org/index.php?title=Main_Page (my version was from 2016 so hopefully newer versions still work fine)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1gjODb4 ... sp=sharing


Honestly was not expecting a reply that quick! Amazed you still have the files on hand.

Gonna have a read over this code and see if I can adapt it to detect HITMAN & HITMAN 2 textures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hitman 2016 textures
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:51 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:30 am
Posts: 417
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 260 times
I can tell you two differences I already see. The top header used to have 16 bytes before the width/height, now it only has 12 bytes.

And the header overall used to be 92 bytes, the header_size could be found at byte 88 (stating header was 92 bytes)

But now the header is 144 bytes, with the header_size being found at byte 140 (stating header is 144 bytes)

If you make those two changes it may work. (or not, who knows what else has changed)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group