XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:24 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 121 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:08 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1060
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 424 times














You can make the ads go away by registering

Resident Evil 5 animations (test tool)

Usage: Re5Anims <LMT name> <MOD name>

Or you can just drop LMT file onto the tool. If you do that, or use only 1 parameter, it will search for file named model.mod for a model. Incorrect model will produce broken animations.

To attach animations to model, it must have bones named like bone0, bone1, etc. I used latest NOESIS export to FBX. You must create IK constraints connecting right toe to "atarget1" bone, left toe to "atarget2", with chain length 3, both position and rotation. So IK chain includes: toe, heel, knee. No idea how its done in maya or max, but hopefully the same as in blender.

Consider it a test tool, because not optimized, just interpolates all keys to all frames (which leads to bigger files), also many things are not supported:
- no scale. Some animations use scales, maybe muscle work, some monster fx, etc
- only one type of IK (legs). Some anims have hands IK, these will NOT work correctly, but I've only seen this is static poses
- no tag bones exported. These are for weapons or some other purposes.

I was also thinking about an option to export all motions as separate files. Let me know if will be useful.

Videos: https://youtu.be/EhQ-6RW3sj0 https://youtu.be/X4tXTpJacXk https://youtu.be/J9VyHnQ0crw https://youtu.be/te2Vvbex_hw https://youtu.be/YZio9sT7CTc https://youtu.be/WcU4mTFugKM

Image

Image


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Last edited by daemon1 on Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:20 pm, edited 7 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:19 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1060
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 424 times
Tool for DMC4, made in 2010 (not finished)

viewtopic.php?p=41809#p41809

Anyone who have max check if its working.


Last edited by daemon1 on Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Posts: 1002
Has thanked: 44 times
Have thanks: 465 times
This is on my Noesis todo list, but it's way down there below the Souls games under the "other people already did it" category. It's been on there for years, though, and I don't remember at all what gave me the notion that it was already done, and there are no format specs in my usual storage places. Do post the specs if you find them somewhere. (I don't have a valid Max license anymore myself, so can't test the above tool)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:51 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Posts: 565
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 201 times
MrAdults wrote:
This is on my Noesis todo list, but it's way down there below the Souls games under the "other people already did it" category. It's been on there for years, though, and I don't remember at all what gave me the notion that it was already done, and there are no format specs in my usual storage places. Do post the specs if you find them somewhere. (I don't have a valid Max license anymore myself, so can't test the above tool)

PMed :P

_________________
Click the thanks button if I helped!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:06 am 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1060
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 424 times
Gh0stBlade wrote:
PMed :P


Note that these specs don't exactly corresppond to what I see in RE5 .lmt files. MotionInfo is different, and some types too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:06 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:32 pm
Posts: 87
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 32 times
DMC4Motion works, BUT its not doing bone retarget. Model is exported from Noesis.
Image
I tested it on DMC4 (original one), models with only one bone works fine.
I also tested it on Lost Planet but it seems Lost Planet have some new block types, so its not working, didn't tested it for RE5 yet.

_________________
Image


Last edited by PredatorCZ on Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:57 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:32 pm
Posts: 87
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 32 times
When I use Dmc4Motion on Mod2Max it works.
Dmc4Motion also converts ONLY some blocks from LMT.

Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:30 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:47 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 1 time
o my god, my wishes coming true:D


daemon1 wrote:
I have all the information to start a tool to export animations. Now question is, which game to start from? 5? Or maybe other one will be better? I'm asking because I never know how much time I can spend on this.


please resident evil 5.

well i didnt know the tool of dmc animation to 3dmax already existed and worked...

sorry for the extra work. but can someone confirm the re5 animations are working with it?

i exported teh "SCRIPTS"(ms files) from the re5 model+motion

now how should i run the script, i should import a model first?

ahrgg i forgot the script to import mod files into max is not working for 3dmax2015 gotta try to get the 2013
PredatorCZ wrote:
When I use Dmc4Motion on Mod2Max it works.
Dmc4Motion also converts ONLY some blocks from LMT.


predator, is the script working for 2017 version? i mean the re5 model import script. or havent tried yet?


Last edited by rubening on Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:06 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:32 pm
Posts: 87
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 32 times
I wouldn't count on dmc4motion, program was still in development, but it never got into some usefull stage.
Generated scripts are missing some vital parts, especially positions, global transformations and maybye more.

To successfully do the thing, first you need to import model script (it can take quite long, depends on size of generated ms), and then only ONE animation.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:10 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:47 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 1 time
PredatorCZ wrote:
I wouldn't count on dmc4motion, program was still in development, but it never got into some usefull stage.
Generated scripts are missing some vital parts, especially positions, global transformations and maybye more.

To successfully do the thing, first you need to import model script (it can take quite long, depends on size of generated ms), and then only ONE animation.

i got an error when running the script in 3dmax 2015. the script of one of the animations from re5.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:12 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:32 pm
Posts: 87
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 32 times
You need to use Mod2Max.exe to get propper model for animations to work.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:14 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Posts: 565
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 201 times
daemon1 wrote:
Gh0stBlade wrote:
PMed :P


Note that these specs don't exactly corresppond to what I see in RE5 .lmt files. MotionInfo is different, and some types too.

Hi,

What is different more specifically? That's strange cause those structs were directly obtained from the RE5 debugging symbols and is exactly what Capcom used. I also wrote a tool to read the animations based off this information which is where I quickly pulled them from. I "may" have made some small alterations but I'll get round to dumping the unaltered structs again.

Cheers.

_________________
Click the thanks button if I helped!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:18 pm 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:32 pm
Posts: 87
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 32 times
Gh0stBlade wrote:
RE5 debugging symbols


You mean like .pdb files? Becouse I know only theese files have those informations.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:25 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Posts: 565
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 201 times
PredatorCZ wrote:
Gh0stBlade wrote:
RE5 debugging symbols


You mean like .pdb files? Becouse I know only theese files have those informations.


Correct.

Anyway, it looks like I did alter the structs slightly and/or mixed up the facial anim structs with non-face anim structs. It looks like Capcom have two separate animation formats. One for face.lmt the rest for the remaining animations. I'll re-send out the unaltered structs.

Cheers.

_________________
Click the thanks button if I helped!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resident Evil animations
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:27 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:47 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 1 time
PredatorCZ wrote:
You need to use Mod2Max.exe to get propper model for animations to work.

did as you said, worked to import the model but the motion script.
http://imgur.com/a/rbOWH havent worked


Last edited by rubening on Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:30 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 121 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gledson999 and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group