XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:23 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:10 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times














You can make the ads go away by registering

daemon1 wrote:
They made them. I see them. I can extract them. They are proper normals.

Can you give me a gun or car model with those non-working normals?

Ripped normals are broken (upper model):
Image

(Трое русских упражняются в английском, вместо того чтобы на форуме Тосика все быстро обсудить :D)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:12 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
Highflex wrote:
Nobody so far has really managed to read out meshes directly from the .ff, not sure why but i never bothered to check them myself

Maybe it's because nobody's extract those FF to big DAT file with unpacked data iside?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:03 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1228
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 598 times
Andrakann wrote:
Can you give me a gun or car model with those non-working normals?

here you go:

http://www3.zippyshare.com/v/piiQcaXP/file.html

Andrakann wrote:
Maybe it's because nobody's extract those FF to big DAT file with unpacked data iside?

No its because proper parsing unpacked FF file is almost impossible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:17 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
Ok, I did another test, 3dsmax scripts can't resave Bond model, because of errors, but Blender scripts do the job:
Image
As you can see, normals data loaded and saved back, but model looks as before:
Image
So, I think normals in game models is averaged/autogenerated and controlled by shader - that a reason of strange normals in ripped gun.

PS: XNALara XPS can't load this mesh.ascii, even after resaving in Blender. Maybe my version is too old.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:40 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:41 pm
Posts: 25
Has thanked: 13 times
Have thanks: 7 times
Andrakann wrote:
Ok, I did another test, 3dsmax scripts can't resave Bond model, because of errors, but Blender scripts do the job:
Image
As you can see, normals data loaded and saved back, but model looks as before:
Image
So, I think normals in game models is averaged/autogenerated and controlled by shader - that a reason of strange normals in ripped gun.

PS: XNALara XPS can't load this mesh.ascii, even after resaving in Blender. Maybe my version is too old.


I don't think normals are auto generated or controlled by shaders, don't forget this is running on IWEngine 3 if i remember correctly, same build as WAW/COD4, so normals are done the same way, i remember Tom BMX also had some trouble aquiring normal data from memory but he solved it, so normal data should be fine once parsed correctly, maybe just the end format has some issues (. ascii)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:56 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
Highflex wrote:
I don't think normals are auto generated or controlled by shaders

Shading looks the same, if you import mesh.ascii without normal data (0.0 0.0 0.0) and with those data.
If normal data is wrong and autoaveraged in 3d software, then, after export, normal data must differs, but it is the same (my last test).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:36 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1228
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 598 times
Actually it work on a trigger of a pistol. But for other submeshes blender just ignore it all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:47 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
I tried to extract texture, without big success, textures are in chunks, but adding a header helps not much, I think my header miss some mip-levels data:
Image
Some research:
Image

Normal Map textures in this game have one channel in RGB and another in alpha.
For making it standard, we need to convert RGB to gray and put it to Green channel of normal map, alpha goes to Red, Blue is white.

Attached semi-converted texture.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:13 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1228
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 598 times
Andrakann wrote:
I think my header miss some mip-levels data


No. Normal DDS first have biggest mip, then all small. Here its otherwise. So the best way is to cut off all small mips and save it as 1-mip DDS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:19 am 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1228
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 598 times
World at War research complete. I'll think if I create a new thread for it, or put them all here.

Image

So for now, latest versions for 007 Quantum of solace and for WaW


Last edited by daemon1 on Thu Jul 28, 2016 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:39 am 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 830
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 156 times
Have thanks: 89 times
daemon1 wrote:
World at War research complete. I'll think if I create a new thread for it, or put them all here.

Image

So for now, latest versions for 007 Quantum of solace and for WaW
great! Does it work for modern warfare? :)
You could rename thread to "IWEngine 3 engine meshes" or something like that.

_________________
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:44 am 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1228
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 598 times
Tosyk wrote:
Does it work for modern warfare? :)


Dont know. But I'd bet its different again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:55 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
daemon1 wrote:
So for now, latest versions for 007 Quantum of solace and for WaW

Thank you :)
A lot more meshes extracted from 007 with this version (346 instead of 59 for airport map).

Btw, do you rotate meshes before screening? Because my scripts import things laying on they sides and rotated by 90d:
Image

Of course I can select skeleton's origin and rotate it twice by 90d, but if I then delete a skeleton part, corresponding mesh drops to unrotated position.

So, can you, please, swap XYZ before saving to ascii?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:19 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:41 pm
Posts: 25
Has thanked: 13 times
Have thanks: 7 times
I tried the waw tool with COD4 .ffs it extracts a few meshes then crashes so i don't think there is too much changes between the mesh format from WAW :) great work so far!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:23 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 830
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 156 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Andrakann wrote:
Btw, do you rotate meshes before screening? Because my scripts import things laying on they sides and rotated by 90d:
Image

Of course I can select skeleton's origin and rotate it twice by 90d, but if I then delete a skeleton part, corresponding mesh drops to unrotated position.

So, can you, please, swap XYZ before saving to ascii?
you can just select all and rotate and if you delete skeleton afterwards anyway - you can just delete skeleton BEFORE rotation and rotate model itself.

_________________
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheArk and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group